We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is one of the most beautiful places to visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake Quinault Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Quinault
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 28, 2009

The Quinault Lodge is in a simply magnifcent lakeside setting with easy access to several interesting, and quite easy, self-guided walks in the rain forest. The hotel itself dates from the mid 20th centuary, so lacks a few modern amenities. We stayed in one of the Lodge View Rooms, which was comfortable and indeed had lovely views of the lake. The only downside was the noise made by the cranky old central heating system, which was difficult to ignore when it fired up in the early hours. This is obviously a common problem, as I received a $30 discount as soon as I made a complaint the next day. The food in the restaurant and the restaurant staff were both excellent. The front desk staff seemed a bit unenthusiastic but, all in all, the lake and the forest more than made up for a few niggles.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seagullsfanl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,830)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,601 - 1,607 of 1,830 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2009

It doesn't get much prettier than sitting on the lawn at the lodge looking at the lake. This lodge is all about location. With that being said, the rooms are very cheap looking and there are NO phones! In a place where you can't get cell reception, a phone would have been nice especially since we were traveling with a child (who happened to get pretty sick while there). We had questions about some of the accommodations while there, and it would have been nice to ring the front desk for answers instead of having to walk to another building.
The next HUGE problem is the restaurant! We had dinner the first night and paid WAY too much for a mediocre meal. After talking with some other visitors, we found the rest of our meals elsewhere. On the last last morning, we decided to give the restaurant one more try...I means really, how bad can someone screw up breakfast??!! Apparently, really bad! First, I'd like to mention that the service was incredibly slow. It took almost TEN minutes before we were approached and asked for a drink order! Anyway, that can almost be forgiven if the food is good, but that was not the case. I ordered the Eggs Bennie and it was almost inedible. The eggs were super runny, the English muffin tasted stale and lets not even talk about the hollandaise sauce. It was accompanied with breakfast potatoes that were also inedible. It was all around a terrible meal that we spent way too much money on.
I don't typically write reviews, but thought it was important for future guest to know. If you want a decent meal (I said decent because it was good for the price), go to the Salmon House about a mile up the road.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mperque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

We were there for two nights for a wedding of a close friend, in an aggregate party that was over 40 people from across the nation.
For the good news:
1. The employees. They are ever responsive, helpful and creative.
2. The food while not extravagant, was very good. The salmon was superb.
3, The location was stunning.
The bad:
Our room was horrible. Small and poorly maintained about the size of two cubes at any office. There was rack that hangs off the wall for hanging clothes (as there is no room for an actual closet) that was half pulled off the wall and hanging at an oblique angle. The room itself had been recently painted, but they had not filled in the holes from prior fittings or removed the wallpaper. The room was located just off the back deck at ground level. Just inches away from our window on the deck was a table where we were able to converse with anyone sitting there from a reclined position on the bed. The sink which was in the room had the steam heater placed in front of it?. And the amenities? No A/C No Phone No TV just a noisy fan and *zero* privacy. All for the privilege $225+ per night. We asked if alternate accommodations were available and were politely informed that for an additional $75 there was availability but at our current rate they were full.

We've traveled a great deal, and would place the room accommodations we had in the bottom 5% of where we have stayed in the last 40 years.

The general upkeep of the main interior space was sloppy and incomplete. Flies and insects that had flown into the lodge and gotten trapped in a window had been there since Roosevelt was there in the 30's. The window panes needed to be cleaned. Under our bed I discovered half a Hersheys candy bar from who known how long ago?

All in all it was a stunning location too bad it hasn't been kept up. We're glad we went and will go again...we just won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobinRamsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2009

We spent $210 before taxes on one of their larger rooms with a fireplace. For that much I expected more stylish decor and amenities. The materials and furniture were very cheap and the room was not easy on the eyes. Cheap furniture, cheap fireplace, cheap mattress, no tissues in the room, small cramped bathroom are some examples. The price of this room should have been closer to $100.

The location is magnificent and the national park has a monopoly so other hotels cannot compete. Aramark, a private company, runs this place (along with Kalaloch and Solduc lodgings). In other words, the federal government has outsourced running their monopoly. Hence you have a pretty bad combination. Private business with profit motive (nothing wrong with profits, of course), but yet no competition. So you end up with a mediocre product. Perhaps if the national park service kicked out Aramark, they would do a better job on their own.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Queen_Anne_Drizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

I booked just one night in a main lodge room. Since I have a 9 month old baby I would have preferred a room in one of the other buildings but ours was the only thing available at the last minute. The room was small, and the sink was in the main room (outside the bathroom) but it was very clean and the art deco decor was charming.

The highlight of this lodge is the view from the deck outside the lobby--which overlooks a green lawn that stretches down to the lake. My sister and I enjoyed stiff drinks from the bar under umbrellas on the deck on a lazy afternoon then meandered over to the restaurant where we had an outstanding meal. In the evening, we sunk into the big leather couches in front of the grand fireplace in the main lobby. The next morning the whole family took a fascinating boat tour around Lake Quinalt, cuddled up in the blankets provided by the captain.

In addition to being a charming destination in and of itself, this lodge provides great access to lots of trails and wildlife viewing in the rainforest. We hiked a few of the shorter trails around the lake and the views are stunning.

My husband and I plan on returning to Lake Quinalt Lodge and I'd recommend the place to anyone who enjoys a classic Park Lodge atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paincakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2009

Great hotel, room was in the main building (older room) and was really lovely. Well decorated, spacious, clean and in style of many other of the good national park lodges. Restaurant had good food and nice views but a lacked a little atmosphere. Staff / service was a little mixed (very good and pretty poor). Lovely grounds, canoeing was fun and easy to hire, nice lawn to relax on. Would go again & recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ols_Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

Spent one night here while touring the Olympic Pennisula. This lodge is in a beautiful setting -a destination in itself, but the rooms are a bit tired and worn. Nevertheless, its a good location for a short time and the dining room serves delicious and well-prepared food, even though it is a bit costly. There is a large, well-tended lawn, nearby hiking paths, lawn games and a short evening program. With the rain forest nearby--it is a great spot for enjoying the outdoors. It is certainly not a Hilton, but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it for people with families seeking a casual, laid-back getaway.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chinana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quinault
23.3 mi away
Moonstone Beach Motel
Moonstone Beach Motel
#1 of 3 in Moclips
179 reviews
23.2 mi away
Hi-Tide Ocean Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Rain Forest Resort Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Ocean Crest Resort
Ocean Crest Resort
#2 of 3 in Moclips
266 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Lake Quinault Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Quinault Lodge

Address: 345 S Shore Rd, P.O. Box 7, Quinault, WA 98575-9700
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Quinault
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Quinault
Price Range: $115 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Quinault Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are some places so blissfully disconnected from the modern world that they seem to stand suspended in time. Lake Quinault Lodge is one such place - a grand and rustic lodge built in 1926 that welcomes guests with warmth, hospitality and a sincere feeling of home-away-from-home comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Lake Quinault Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Quinault Hotel Quinault
Lake Lodge Quinault

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing