We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Family Vacation in Olympic Peninsula”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Quinault Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Quinault
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Carlsbad, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Family Vacation in Olympic Peninsula”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Great place for families. We chose a Lakeside room and still enjoyed spending time by the fireplace in the lodge. Our boys were able to play on the huge lawn, in the game room and in the pool. We canoed on the lake and watched an Osprey swoop down to catch a fish. The Kestner Homestead trail was a favorite of the many hikes we did in the area.
The market across the street has a deli.
Crescent Lake Lodge was also a wonderful place to stay for the same reasons.

Room Tip: If you want a TV choose a Lakeside Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baabsara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    574
    173
    110
    55
See reviews for
443
948
54
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (645)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apex, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This was our first stay at Lake Quinault Lodge. We stayed only one night but wish we had arranged to stay longer. The lodge is wonderful. The beds were comfortable and the room was very clean. I stayed with my 12 and 15 year old boys and they absolutely loved playing the lawn games and if time had allowed would have paddle boarded. When we return to Olympic, we will definitely plan to stay at the lodge again. I am very picky about where I stay and I loved staying here. I like the charm of older buildings and this is a very well run and well kept establishment. A must stay, as far as I am concerned.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3sunflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, Usa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Quinault Lodge, and will most definitely visit again. This time around, my wife and 14 year old daughter visited on a general tour of the Olympic peninsula. The staff here went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The rustic main lodge room looks as though it has not changed since Roosevelt was at the hotel in the 30s. The ambiance of sitting in front of the fire place talking with some of the other guests gave me the impression of what it must have been like to visit before TV or Internet times.

Rooms were tidy, clean and large. The fireplace room was very cosy. We had a downstairs room, and had evening wine on the patio before going to bed - the patio is also perfect for coffee in the morning. The common grounds were great, and there are plenty of activities for adults and kids alike. There was a mini bonfire at 9pm, and the Lodge sells "smore" kits for the kids to roast marshmallows.

The views from the back deck and lawn towards the lake spectacular. Sitting with a cold beer or glass of wine and admiring the views can't be beat. Breakfast and dinner were great, we recommend making sure you reserve your place well ahead of time, and ask specifically for a table in the enclosed patio room which makes for great evening views across the lake at dinner.

The hiking trails nearby are reasonable, even for inexperienced or "lazy" hikers like me. There are some walk up camp sites adjacent to the hotel, but the campers were quiet and there was no "riff-raff" that we came across.

I recommend the Quinault Lodge as "base-zero" for exploring the Olympic National Park and Peninsula. Ruby Beach and Lake Crescent are near enough that they can be great day trips, with the bonus of being able to return to Quinault to enjoy the views and comforts of this lodge.

Room Tip: Fireplace rooms on ground floor (109/108) are great - 109 has a private garden, perfect for some win...
See more room tips
Green Features: Like everything in the Pacific Northwest, Green is the word here too but nothing the Lodge does, will inconvenience anyone at all.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Terrace, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
377 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed in a lakeview room at the Lodge and the trees were so thick outside our room that we started calling our room "the tree house". What a beautiful, calm setting! I loved reading on the small balcony and listening to the sounds of the lake. I spent time in the Catskill Mountains of New York as a girl and this lodge brought back wonderful memories of those summers: families playing together, evening campfires, kids flying kites. The staff was friendly and helpful. The food in the dining room was generally very good (the breakfast pancakes are the best ever!), but the service the first evening was a bit rushed. That did not happen again. We enjoyed the guided boat trip on the lake and walking the trails. It was the perfect ending to a wonderful Washington trip.

Room Tip: The lakeview rooms are much newer than those in the main lodge and may be more comfortable to most g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonthecellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Wow. The scenery of this place is incredible. Picturesque is an understatement. Family atmosphere so no tvs or phones. There is wifi though. The restaurant is good but very pricey. The rooms in the lodge are quaint. The indoor pool was so warm and fun. Nice game room with ping pong and board games. Roaring fire in the lodge adds to the rustic experience. Take a picnic and a bottle of wine and have a picnic on the lawn. Take the time to do the rainforest hike. It is incredible and only a mile or less away.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tras99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We spent two nights at the lodge and had a wonderful time. We stayed in a lakeside room, not in the lodge, which was lovely. All rooms have a view of the lake and have a small balcony. There is no elevator, but a ramp to push the luggage cart with your stuff, and of course stairs.

Every night there is a campfire and different groups would sit around talking while the kids roasted marshmallows and threw rocks in the water or tossed the frisbee around on the lawn. We made friends with some other traveling families with kids and they were always happy to see each other when out and about.

If you don't bring your own S'mores makings, they will sell you a kit for $4 near the registration desk. The skewers are on the back of the he boathouse.

You can rent standup paddle boards, kayaks, canoes, etc. my kids really wanted to go on the SUPs, but they can't let them out to kids under 16.

The game room has ping pong and foozeball all (free), pool 50 cents) and a few video games. The pool is adjacent and is toasty warm, with towels located in huge changing area. If you plan on going into the sauna turn it on before you go into the pool, as it takes a while to warm up.

We would stay again in a heartbeat. No one wanted to leave.

Room Tip: Room 224 is the furthest in the lakeside rooms, with no one on the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjdm922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

The nostalgic quality to the Lodge makes it a memorable place to visit. We love old lodges, so this was an ideal spot for our vacation and we can't wait to return. The lawn and lake views are spectacular and give Quinault a spa/solarium feel, perfect for deep relaxation. We stayed in a king bed fireplace room and found it exceptionally comfortable. The gas fireplace added to our comfort every morning and evening, and we loved sitting on our room's private balcony in the evenings. We did need a few more than the five hangers provided, and the overhead bathroom light was a bit dreary, but these were very minor detractions from an otherwise highly satisfying room experience. We found the lobby of the main lodge an ideal place to work quietly (sadly, we had work to finish, despite being on vacation). We were able to write while looking out at the lake, sipping drinks from the bar, and enjoying a roaring fire and charming atmosphere. The bartender was terrific, and went out of his way to make sure that our slightly unusual drink orders were prepared exactly as we had hoped. Other highlights of the trip included our nature walk with Mary, swimming in the lake and heated pool, watching various kinds of activity in the bird feeders located around the perimeter of the lawn, and learning about the history of the lodge and the area. Be sure to check out the rain gauge on the deck of the Lodge (on which the painted word "Guage" is misspelled -- it's very charming). The only aspect of our stay that was less than exemplary was the dining experience. The service was slow, often sloppy (forgetting items we ordered, not bringing bread, not refilling water, etc.), and sometimes a bit awkward. Additionally, the quality of the food left a great deal to be desired considering the high prices. Although, the restaurant has it's charms -- we laughed each dinner when the "Quinault buns" were brought out and wondered if they were an inside joke. As we were a couple, we received a pair of buns each night and they literally looked like human "buns". A silver-lining to the dining experience was that it was hard to over eat. And the lake views from the dining room and kindness of the dining staff almost made the prices palatable. Overall, we were sad to leave Quinault -- we were not ready to go after three days, despite the slightly disappointing food situation. The setting and comfort are simply exceptional. We will definitely return and highly recommend this Lodge to anyone looking for a memorable vacation with scenic views, plenty of great hikes, and a historic lodge experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeaAndCookies8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quinault
23.2 mi away
Hi-Tide Ocean Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
0.9 mi away
Rain Forest Resort Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Ocean Crest Resort
Ocean Crest Resort
#3 of 3 in Moclips
242 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Lake Quinault Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Quinault Lodge

Property: Lake Quinault Lodge
Address: 345 S Shore Rd, P.O. Box 7, Quinault, WA 98575-9700
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Quinault
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Quinault
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Quinault Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are some places so blissfully disconnected from the modern world that they seem to stand suspended in time. Lake Quinault Lodge is one such place - a grand and rustic lodge built in 1926 that welcomes guests with warmth, hospitality and a sincere feeling of home-away-from-home comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Quinault Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Quinault Hotel Quinault
Lake Lodge Quinault

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing