We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL LODGE WITH GORGEOUS GROUNDS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Quinault Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Quinault
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
arizona
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL LODGE WITH GORGEOUS GROUNDS”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We booked a newly renovated lakeside/view room for 7 nights. The rooms have a small balcony, blow dryer, and coffee maker. They come with the bath/shower combo and a nice size TV with enough channels to pick from. As your in a very remote area to get to any food selections it's unfortunate the rooms don't come with a small fridge and microwave. Especially since the Roosevelt dining room is not open and serving food all day. They have limited hours. When we first arrived on Saturday afternoon the coffee bar was open serving beautiful coffee drinks, wine etc, but, after Saturday it only mirrored the restaurant hours. If you have Celiac disease or other serious food allergy's eating in this area will not be easy. Even in the Roosevelt dining room you have very limited options.

The doors on the rooms are very hollow (you can hear any one's conversation outside the door) other then that the room is overall very quiet (solid walls). We were on the 3rd floor and never experienced any noise issues. The room came with a sofa, chair, table, and shelfs for your clothes not drawers. Because the trees on the property are so large (and beautiful) most views from the room are definitely partially obstructed. The bathrooms come with the annoying wall dispensers for soap under the bogus guise of going "green". For the price you pay for the rooms I think they could provide actual soap bars so if you wanted to take a bath you wouldn't have to keep standing up to get to the soap dispenser.

The so called WIFI was a huge issue even if you sat in the lodge as suggested. Ironically you could drive one mile to the Salmon House or about 3 miles to the Internet Cafe restaurant and it would work fine---reallly? Maybe the Quinault lodge could get some direction/assistance from these places.

They have a game room with table tennis and a small pool table. A pool and his and hers dry saunas. Because the grounds are so relaxing and beautifully manicured I would recommend this place. If you need more options (like something resembling a kitchen) I would recommend checking out some of the other establishments in the area that do provide more options and also are on the lake.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    821
    574
    174
    111
    55
See reviews for
446
948
54
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (645)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here this weekend and had a beautiful time. The lodge is stunning and antique.

We stayed in a standard lodge room and enjoyed it greatly. The only drawback was the placement of our room. We were in 207. This happens to be directly across from the manager's office. Keeping in mind that this is a very antique building, with traveling sound and a door that you can literally look under, having a room across from the office where there was someone sitting with the door open who you know can hear every word spoken in normal volume from inside your room, can create an awkward feeling.

The Roosevelt Room was quite charming with great food. But also at a high price. Our server was Barb, and she really went the extra mile for us and was so wonderful.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tuesdaysgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Springs, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

On my first trip to the Pacific Northwest, my partner and I decided to visit the Olympic National Park, including the Quinault Rain Forrest. Having decided to stay at the historic Lake Quinault Lodge, we opted for one of the King Rooms, recently renovated and situated beside the original lodge. This option gave us the best of both worlds: a large modern room with access to the historic lodge's cozy lobby with comfy sofas and a warm fire. Visitors need to understand that this lodge is quite old, and they've made a point to keep it as original as possible. Do not expect ultra-modern accommodations. Do expect good service, a friendly staff and access to one of the more unique and beautiful areas of our country.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the recently renovated King Rooms down by the lake. While not as historic as the original...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesinAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2014

My husband and I spent part of our honeymoon here, in 1996, and have been coming back ever since. We try to go at least once a year, even though we live about a 6-hour drive away. We love how the place has been managed to maintain the classic beauty and character of the lodge and grounds.
The location is stunning, with an amazing rainforest right out back and a beautiful lake front. Most families stay in the fireplace rooms or apartments down along the lake, which makes the lodge even quieter. We always enjoy our meals in the restaurant, play some ping pong and chess, and just sit by the fire to relax in the winter. Summertime finds us doing more extensive hiking in the magical forest. This last trip we visited the world's largest Western Red Cedar and the world's largest Douglas Fir, both rainy lovely walks on different sides of the lake. Our only suggestion is the fireplace: it still uses wood, but the flames are mostly the gas "starters"; the wood often just smokes. Would be better if the starters were used as such and turned down once the fire takes. We will keep coming back; we love this place!

Room Tip: We like the upper rooms facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viajante48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Our family has visited the lodge many times. Always a good time with kids with the warm swimming pool and game room. Renovated lakeside rooms are best with family. Fireplace rooms are best for a couple. In summer the little beach and swim platform are wonderful. Some issues with the restaurant. Don't bother for breakfast there if you can help it. Dinner is quite tasty but overpriced. Worth it but go have breakfast in Amanda park at the internet cafe instead. Or go to the salmon house down the road. If you have a truck it is a great trip all the way around the lake. Look for elk! Poured rain the whole time and we still had a fun visit.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ravensfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Like others have noted, the location is first rate; scenic lake setting, lovely forested trails nearby. This historic lodge is gorgeous on the exterior and offers some great views.

However, step over the rotten threshold and things quickly go downhill. Maintenance and upkeep is suffering, and the harried employees gave a vibe of being overworked -- one might be led to believe that the concessionaire operating the facilities is plundering this national treasure for their own profit. The public areas are dirty and dingy, the floors and walls are scratched, and the carpeting leading up to and into the lodge rooms is soiled and worn. The bed was very uncomfortable and the room was dank with a serious level of moisture (not really worth springing for a view of the lake when you can’t see through the fog of condensation on the window panes). Being in a rainforest one expects some damp, but it didn't help matters that the shower curtain around the tub only served to funnel water onto the floor, and the bathroom fan, despite its noise, did not seem to be circulating out any air. The lack of care and cleanliness is pervasive -- from the unpainted 2x4 holding the shower curtain to the wall to the towel rod coming out of the wall, from the public toilet in the pool room being backed up to the game room being filled with broken equipment - you get the picture.

Most disappointing was the fact that management does not keep the fireplace in the main public room stoked during prime hours. One would think this is a lodge no-brainer, especially when it's pouring outside and chilly inside from people coming and going through the lobby. Yet starting late Saturday afternoon until we checked out on Sunday morning the "fire" was down to an anemic row of gas flames that gave off no heat. When an employee came to check on it (45 minutes after being asked) she poked it halfheartedly and claimed the wood was "too wet" to catch properly (but contrast this with the roaring wood fire on Friday that greeted visitors coming for the overpriced Valentines dinner - clearly it's possible to produce a roaring fire, but perhaps only when it helps the profit motive).

The Kalaloch Lodge facilities down the road used to managed by the same corporation that runs Lake Quinault Lodge and the results were similarly appalling. Fortunately, the National Park Service recently awarded that concessions contract to a new operator. I look forward to the day when they wise up and do the same with Lake Quinault Lodge.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JenC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FowlesB, Manager at Lake Quinault Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hello JenC28,

We sincerely apologize that you did not have the experience you expected during your recent stay at Lake Quinault Lodge. Our General Manager, Hiedi Olson, would like the opportunity to discuss your concerns further. Please feel free to contact her directly at: olson-hiedi@aramark.com.
We hope you will consider visiting us again.
-Bri Fowles- Sales Manager, Aramark Parks & Destinations, Olympic Peninsula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed in the fireplace room at the lodge and it was fabulous.Our private deck with a view of the lake was wonderful. The food was outstanding and our stay was perfect. I would recommend this lodge to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onmyway2worldtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quinault
23.2 mi away
Hi-Tide Ocean Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Rain Forest Resort Village
23.8 mi away
Ocean Crest Resort
Ocean Crest Resort
#3 of 3 in Moclips
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Quinault Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Quinault Lodge

Property: Lake Quinault Lodge
Address: 345 S Shore Rd, P.O. Box 7, Quinault, WA 98575-9700
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Quinault
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Quinault
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Quinault Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are some places so blissfully disconnected from the modern world that they seem to stand suspended in time. Lake Quinault Lodge is one such place - a grand and rustic lodge built in 1926 that welcomes guests with warmth, hospitality and a sincere feeling of home-away-from-home comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Quinault Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Quinault Hotel Quinault
Lake Lodge Quinault

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing