We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Doughnuts! They have doughnuts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Julie's Gluten-Free Bakery - CLOSED

Julie's Gluten-Free Bakery
Price range: $1 - $10
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
92 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Doughnuts! They have doughnuts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Just when we were thinking we had to give up one more wheat-treat at our house, we found doughnuts at Julie's! And not only doughnuts - but a delicious array of them from chocolate to lemon to raspberry, glazed or sprinkled with jimmies - but BAKED not fried as well! If you have any issues with your innards that keep you from both fried and wheat treats, I encourage you to take a drive out to South Hill and make the pilgrimage to this cozy little bakery with the friendly bakers. Don't miss the cupcakes either (especially the coconut ones, ooh la la!). We were happy to see the ice cream counter, though we couldn't indulge but, we'll go back and you should too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    3
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New to gluten free and they make it easier!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Went to check it out, and found a great place to get a treat! New to gluten free for daughters eczema. Looking for a birthday cake for next month. No need to look any further.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wjefry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pricey bit AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Yummmm yummy yummmm!!!! The banana foster and pure velvet cupcakes are to die for. If I was sitting on death row a banana foster cupcake would be my final request. It is a little pricey but all GF things are. If you've never been you're missing out! Staff extremely helpful and kind

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Sweet Stuff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

The cupcakes are very different from each other so get the kind you like. My personal favorite was the tres leche cupcake due to the texture and amazing flavor. Being gluten free and some both gluten and vegen free, it puts a few limits on flavor and texture, but Julie does an excellent job achieving high satisfaction for both. Some of the frosting has very mild hints of sweetness so for those who might want just a little sweetness to your cupcake they work well, or you can get an extremely rich cupcake like the Bavarian cream or an eclair.
It is on the expensive side for desserts, but being gluten-free, it is to be expected. They make some very ornate cakes and beautiful baked goods. Keep in mind they do cookies, bread, trail mix as well, much more than just cupcakes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
92 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Something for my Valentine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

When my cancer-survivor Better Half discovered he was "gluten sensitive" it put the brakes on my baking of the annual St. Valentine's Day chocolate treats. Julie to the rescue! I saw her sign when we stopped at the Original Pancake House on Meridian (a place which will make you g-f pancakes on request!) so I came back one day and found a small, cozy bakery with a wide and varied selection of breads, cakes, cookies and decadent cupcakes all accessible to those who have forsaken wheat (or had it forsake them). I picked up a round loaf of French Bread (chewy and perfect as garlic toast), crispy oatmeal raisin cookies and the Valentine offering, a Chocolate Cream Cupcake for my Sweetheart. The friendly and knowledgeable staff were more than willing to answer questions about ingredients and the special needs of g-f baked goods (like refrigerating and shorter shelf life) and some were sitting at one of the tables working with a Bride-to-Be on her wedding cake, so don't be shy and check it out. My Darling, by the way, loved the Cupcake, pronouncing it moist, cakey and decidedly chocolaty. Mission accomplished!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Julie's Gluten-Free Bakery also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing