We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special gem in Puyalllup”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tacoma Puyallup
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Puyallup
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
162 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Special gem in Puyalllup”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Fairfield Inn & Suites in Puyallup. This hotel is bright, clean, and well-managed.

Our room was a suite with 2 queen beds. Linens and towels were superb. There was plenty of room! There was a partial wall between the larger sleeping area with beds and a flat screen TV and a sitting area with a couch (pull out bed we did not use), a desk, another flat screen TV, and a convenient table. There was a microwave and small fridge, and a very nice, well-lit bathroom with an excellent shower/tub combo.

The room was very quiet (no neighbor noise), plenty of outlets for electronics, WiFi was ridiculously fast, and beds were extra comfortable.

The staff really goes all out creating a welcoming environment. We used their recommendation for a take-out pizza delivery (Trackside Pizza - fabulous) and watched movies from their free DVD library in the evenings. We also made use of the work out room, which has good equipment, towels, and fresh cold water provided.

A broad variety of hot and cold breakfast items were served in the morning. The staff managing the breakfast area were also uniformly friendly and attentive to the guests.

The hotel is close to the Puyallup Fairgrounds - probably a 15 minute walk from the hotel to the south end of the grounds.

The only difficulty we had was initially finding the hotel. We first used our GPS with the hotel address but ended up at an incorrect residential location about 2 miles from the hotel! But we found the hotel easily with a map. So, take a look at where the hotel is located before heading there.

We were exceptionally impressed with this hotel and will stay here again!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TouristeSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    47
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
93
35
13
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

What appears to be a VERY recent remodel makes this hotel crisp and clean. The lobby, rooms, hallways - everything - is tidy! Very comfortable beds, roomy bathrooms, big TV and complimentary movies at the front desk!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D_Schreib1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed here two nights, and found this to be a very well ran hotel. Rooms were clean, staff was helpful, breakfast was fresh and well stocked. The pool was clean. I stay about 70 nights per year in different hotels, and this is a great choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We recently stayed here with friends on a trip to near by Mt Ranier. It wasn't planned since we had not heard of the fair in California but we ended up staying here during the end of the fair. We agree with the other reviewers that this is a nice hotel with a very well trained staff. Everything you see and use in this hotel is nice and new.
We found it was within walking distance to the fair which we enjoyed too. We also discovered a nearby restaurant called Joshua's which we have also reviewed. The employees we had contact with during our stay were all very helpful and courteous. For example when the breakfast was ending a staff member came to our table and warned us she would be closing it down in 10 minutes. She also brought Orange Juice to our table without being asked.
The before mentioned breakfast was above average in that it had a wider variety of items than most. We agree with other reviewers the scrambled eggs were above average. The staff did a great job keeping every thing stocked even on a very busy Sunday morning.
The cookies and coffee/tea in the lobby mentioned by others was well appreciated and we noticed used by many guests. The rooms were nicely furnished and very clean. We discovered they had more than the usual channels including several HBO channels.
The only reason we do not not give them a 5 rating is the noise from the freeway. Other reviewers mentioned it being very close but they could not hear the traffic. Perhaps they were on the other side of the hotel because the noise was very noticeable in rooms 310 and 308 especially during the early morning hours (3-5am). Our suggestion would be to ask for a room with an odd number.

Room Tip: Freeway noise can be heard in the even numbered rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this Fairfield Inn on a Sunday night in mid-September 2012, between a Sunday hike at Rainier and a Monday visit to the Puyallup Fair, two blocks away. I was extremely impressed with all aspects of this hotel and would recommend it without hesitation. If you’d like further detail, please read on, though everything below is extremely consistent with most of the other reviews (a good sign)!

The hotel is almost brand new, and looks it. All décor is tasteful, fresh and modern, from the carpets to the paint to the furnishings to the bedding. If you’ve stayed in as many tired, shabby, dated hotels as I have (a lot), you will appreciate this “air of newness” as much as I did. I couldn’t possibly rate this hotel higher for appearance, cleanliness and atmosphere.

I was also blown away by the incredible friendliness of the front desk staff. Rather than being aloof, stuffy or chilly, as I’ve unfortunately found many front desk staff to be, the two young men we encountered upon check-in were amiable, down to earth and more than willing to share their knowledge of the local area and the Fair, in addition to all of the hotel details. We felt welcomed and comfortable from the moment we arrived. I also appreciated that the requests I had made when booking online (for a quiet king room on an upper floor) were noted and granted.

We enjoyed the coffee and delicious cookies available in the lobby at all times. If only ALL hotels provided this!

Our room was modern, comfortable and spotless. The bed was actually comfortable (not hard as a board, as seems to be the new trend in hotel beds) with soft linens and fantastic feather pillows. We enjoyed the large flat screen TV and made full use of the DVD player and the hotel’s extensive selection of very recent movies. The shower was hot with great water pressure, which is always one of my top criteria for a pleasant hotel stay! Sleep quality was good, between the comfortable bed, shades that actually darkened the room(!), a quiet night, and A/C that actually worked.

As with everything else at the hotel, the pool, hot tub and fitness area are in fantastic condition, being brand new. We found both the pool and hot tub to be ideal temperatures, and especially appreciated that this area was open until 11:00 pm (in many hotels it’s 10:00 or even 9:00, which is quite limiting). The large windows look out into a nice wooded area, and the leaf-green ceiling and tasteful wall tiles make for a nice relaxing atmosphere. The fitness area, as at most hotels, is quite small and limited, but is open 24 hours, and served my needs quite well the next morning with its treadmills, ellipticals and free weights.

The complimentary hotel breakfast quality was average, as is always the case, though the variety was quite good. The scrambled eggs were actually a little above average, and there were many options such as bacon, waffles, cereal, yogurt, fruit, muffins, pastries etc. If pressed to come up with a single criticism of this property, it would be that 9:00 am feels a bit early to end breakfast, and when a staff person appeared at EXACTLY 9:00 and physically locked the cooler containing milk, juice, yogurt, etc., it felt a little strict and abrupt. This end time would seem to cater mainly to business travelers, but it’s important to consider that some of us are on vacation, and may appreciate a slightly more leisurely morning with a breakfast period ending at 9:30 or 10:00 am.

Overall, I was extremely pleased with this hotel. I have never had any problems with any of the Marriott-brand hotels, and this was certainly no exception. It’s easy to see why the Fairfield Inn Puyallup is the number one-rated hotel for this area on Trip Advisor (which was the main reason I chose it in the first place). For all of the reasons mentioned, I would stop searching and just book this hotel NOW. I certainly will again, should I ever find myself back in Puyallup.

Room Tip: I recommend a top floor room at the end of the hall, as these are always quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YVR19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren778, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Tacoma Puyallup, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing! We are so please that you were able to enjoy so much of what our hotel has to offer. Thank you for all your compliments and areas we could improve on. Your comments do not go unnoticed and will be brought up in our next meeting. We are so happy you enjoyed our hotel as much as we do. If there is anything that we can do please do not hesitate to ask. We truly appreciate all of what you said. Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We travelled in August for the GoodGuys Car Show, upon arriving from a day's drivel the front desk employee's informed us there was a cleaning station out back to wash up our cars, well, a very impressive cleaning station it was, including Meguiar’s cleaning products, This hotel is brand new, so you really can’t go wrong, it was top notch for sure. the front desk staff were amazing, the breakfast was excellent, the hot tub was just right and although we did not use the gym, we did go in and look around, it had everything for a nice light workout. While we were having a hot tub we saw an employee go in and wiped down the equipment, never seen that before.. The Hotel is near the Freeway, we were on far side, so we didn’t hear any traffic noise, not sure about other rooms. I highly recommend and will stay again..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitesands13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren778, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Tacoma Puyallup, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback on our hotel here in Puyallup. This years car show was our first time being able to experience Good Guys and wow was it fun! Being able to have a car wash station for all our guests was a blast and seeing your stunning cars in our parking lot was a dream! We truly value our guests and like to make there time here visiting the fair the best it can be! Thank you so much for letting us know how we are doing and can't wait to see you next year!

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We booked two nights here to visit the Puyallup Fair. Everything about it was excellent, with rates comparable to other hotels in the area. All of the staff are super friendly and helpful. The breakfast (included) is very good and has most anything you could want to eat with lots of seating. The hotel is less than a year old, and is very clean with modern decor and colors. There are 3 computers available 24/7 for guest use, coffee, tea and yummy cookies are available 24/7, and free newspapers. We didn't use the fitness center, pool or laundry room but they all looked very clean and new. We loved our king room; super comfy bed with duvet, large flatscreen TV, microwave and fridge, and a large bathroom. It was an easy short walk to the fairgrounds which saved the hassle and expense of fair parking. I would absolutely stay here again and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilleysummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren778, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Tacoma Puyallup, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for giving us this fabulous review! We truly appreciate you and are so happy you enjoyed our hotel. We work hard each day to have all of our guests be able to have such a fantastic experience as you had! We really hope to see you again and wish you the best of travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puyallup
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Puyallup
1.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Plaza Hotel & Conference Center
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sumner
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Crossland Economy Studios - Tacoma - Puyallup
0.1 mi away
Motel Puyallup
Motel Puyallup
#5 of 7 in Puyallup
3.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#3 of 28 in Tacoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Tacoma Puyallup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Tacoma Puyallup

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Tacoma Puyallup
Address: 202 15th Ave SW, Puyallup, WA 98371-7487
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Puyallup
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Puyallup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Tacoma Puyallup 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newest hotel in Puyallup! We have everything you need and you can skip what you don’t. We have complimentary deluxe hot breakfast, free parking and complimentary high speed wireless Internet. All our rooms have a microwave, refrigerator and DVD player will help make you feel at home. Plus flat screen TV’s and the most HD Channels will make you feel at home. Or venture down to the lobby for some hot coffee and freshly baked cookies 24 hours a day. Enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Marriott, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Tacoma Puyallup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing