We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, no frills”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crossland Economy Studios - Tacoma - Puyallup
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Puyallup
Chehalis
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Basic, no frills”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel a bunch of times. It's basic, no frills, but usually o.k. This time my air conditioning unit wasn't working. When I asked if I could be moved to another room I was told that they were all full. The hotel is o.k. The beds are hard. The carpets in most of the rooms I've been in are stained. I have a service dog and I've always felt safe walking him--even after dark. I am undecided if I will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    28
    19
    24
    31
See reviews for
23
15
28
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham,WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

It's nothing fancy or overly comfortable but for $60, it's clean and I felt safe. It was close to where we were headed and close to Hwy 167. Stayed there twice in the last two months. If I ever have to go back to Puyallup again, I will definitely stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilTiby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshalltown, Iowa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Very low price, no-frills residential style motel. Room smelled like smoke when exhaust fan wasn't running, so someone near our room was smoking and Crossland staff didn't do anything to stop them. No daily housekeeping and you have to go to the desk for TP and clean towels. Laundry room floor was sticky. It met our needs to stay and cook in the room but don't expect a mint on your pillow!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImaLadyBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Tacoma - Puyallup, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for the feedback about your stay at our hotel. I sincerely apologize that you experienced the odor of smoke in your room. I am meeting with the staff to ensure that calls like this get addressed and this does not happen again in the future. I will also be speaking with the Hotel Manager about the cleanliness issues in the Guest Laundry.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at puy@extendedstay.com. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deming, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

A couple of weeks ago almost all of the hotels were sold out in the Seattle area so I booked a stay at the Crossland in Puyallup. Monique went out of her way to check all of the properties around the area to find me an alternative when she received my reservation that was booked online. I had a great stay. The room was great and the AC helped with the heat of that weekend. It was conveniently located off of highway 167 so I had no problem on the work commute to and from Kirkland. Great stay and an extremely helpful Guest Service Team Leader!

Room Tip: Definitely a great alternative hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djbmello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The room has fully equipped kitchen which included a coffee maker, microwave, and toaster.The bathroom is large enough to accommodate plus size & handicapped people. The bathtub has a removable shower head & seating area. The room has a large comfortable queen size bed. All rooms are non smoking & no one is allowed to smoke within 25 feet any building. This is the best place to stay in Washington! There's a bus stop in front of the building that will take you anywhere in the city and surrounding towns like Seattle, Tacoma, Olympia... The rates are very low compared to other extended stay hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffery R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood Pierce County, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The room was clean and spotless and air worked great which was important on the 4th of July weekend . I would stay there again and the staff is friendly and great as well. Its not perfect but what motel or hotel is .I travel for work and as a woman I feel safe here with the key carded entrances and stairwells and room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
284 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I am a gentleman in my 50s who travels a lot for work. I have no problem staying at a budget hotel. Despite the advertisements and the website, the actual experience you receive at this property is well BELOW a standard budge level hotel.

There are also a series of "Issues' with this property which you should be aware of before making a reservation.

Note: If you book through the Hotel's own website, you will be quoted a "total",( and they do refer to it as a "total"). It appears to be very reasonable. Yet when you check in, you are told that the ACTUAL cost will be about twenty percent more. If you happen to have a printed copy of the page from their own website which clearly shows the word "total", they will then tell you that it "does not include TAXES and other fees".

The website promotes "Free HIGH Speed internet". When you input the code to initially log into the free HIGH speed internet, you will be asked if you want to "upgrade" for an additional fee. T
This fee is several additional dollars per day. Or you can upgrade to an even higher "High Speed internet, for a few additional dollars. I can tell you that, at least in this particular property, their "HIGH speed internet" is on par with 1995 dial up service.

Additionally, do not plan to use your computer for work related purposes. The internet service in my room only worked within three feet of the front door. The tiny table, the only work space in the room, was stuck back in the rear of the unit -- the internet would not work at all back there

My cell phone would not work at all inside the room. I had to go outside to get a cell signal. In the course of my stay, I noticed a number of other guests who also had to go outside to make calls. Many of them just go far enough to get a signal. Be prepared to be awakened at all hours of the night and forced to listed to irate girlfriends complain LOUDLY to boy friends. Very personal issues, at embarrassingly high volumes.

I am not a light sleeper. I rarely have problems sleeping through the night. While this property is located off a major highway, it is immediately adjacent to a major trail line. I stayed three nights. I was routinely awakened at 3:15am to 3:30am by a LOUD and very king train. There are at least three more trains that come through at about 40 minute intervals from 3:45am to 5:00am.

If you are a larger person or a person with mobility issues you will find it very difficult to get around in these teeny rooms. Beds are 1950s "full or double" sized. They are NOT Queen sized. There is barely enough space to stand up on either side of the bed. The room ceilings appear to be six to eight inches lower than most other hotel room,.
to compensate, the surface of the bed is eight to ten inches lower than the standard hotel bed. It is VERY difficult to stand up after resting on one of these beds.

Noise buffering between the rooms is also an issue. At night not only can you hear a toilet flush, you can also clearly hear a toilet seat being flipped down. You can clearly hear your neighbors talking in a normal voice tone.

Other reviewers will no doubt comment that the hotel is "clean" - as if that is the only consideration making for a satisfactory experience. MY room appeared to be clean, but the room was stuffy, as if someone had been smoking in my non smoking room, or as if it had hidden "sanitation issues".

To call this a "no frills' property is an insult to the other hotels which are no frills. There is no pool. There is no hot tub. There is no exercise room. There is no "business center". There is no ice machine. There is a small coffee machine in the room, but you have to go to the front desk and ASK for the coffee. There are no toiletries in the bathroom. There was one small bar of facial quality soap and NOTHING else. no tissue, no shampoo, nothing, The hand towels are of such poor thin quality you can literally see through them when they are wet.

I do not know if this hotel is located in an "Iffy area". I will tell you that for three nights in a row there were cars and motorcycles coming onto the property between 3am and 4am, and they stayed for short periods of time.

There are no restaurants or shops within walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the EAST side of the property... the adjacent train line runs on the WEST side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puyallup
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Puyallup
8.3 mi away
Crossland Economy Studios - Tacoma - Hosmer
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Plaza Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Motel Puyallup
Motel Puyallup
#5 of 7 in Puyallup
3.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sumner Motor Inn
Sumner Motor Inn
#2 of 2 in Sumner
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tacoma Puyallup
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crossland Economy Studios - Tacoma - Puyallup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossland Economy Studios - Tacoma - Puyallup

Property: Crossland Economy Studios - Tacoma - Puyallup
Address: 2101 N Meridian, Puyallup, WA 98371-3311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Puyallup
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Puyallup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Crossland Economy Studios - Tacoma - Puyallup 2*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crossland Studios - Tacoma - Puyallup. We are 9 miles away from the Greater Tacoma Convention Center and down the street from the intersection of Washington 512 and 167. Our property is just 6 miles from the Greater Tacoma Convention Center. Our hotel is designed especially for longer stays with studios featuring kitchens or kitchenettes and plenty of work space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Crossland Economy Studios - Tacoma - Puyallup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crossland Economy Studios Tacoma - Puyallup Hotel Puyallup
Extended Stay America Puyallup
Crossland Hotel Puyallup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing