We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above "above and beyond!"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Puyallup (Tacoma Area)
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Puyallup
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Puyallup, Washington
1 review
“Above "above and beyond!"”
Reviewed April 20, 2010

I have had the opportunity to stay at this Holiday Inn Express each week for the past 12 weeks and will be here into the summer. I arrive on Sundays and leave on Thursdays. The facility is very nice. It is undergoing a remodel and is very comfortable. Extraordinarily clean! However, the thing that is so amazing is the staff. They go so far to make you feel comfortable it is unbelievable. I have had a few trying moments during my stays and every single employee is helpful, accomodating, very professional in appearance and mannerism. I don't believe there are enough words to describe how wonderful they are. I have observed the staff being verbally abused by other customers and they remain calm, professional and accomodating beyond reasonable. I would recommend a stay at this facility to EVERYONE! It would be especially wonderful as a teaching facility. Thank you so much! You make my home away from home a place that I look forward to returning to each week.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cowgirltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    51
    17
    2
    0
See reviews for
91
16
9
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winlock, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2009

I love Holiday Inn Express. :-)
Free HOT breakfast, nice sized rooms, free internet, free cookies and coffee in the lobby....
It saves me at least $40 on breakfast the next morning (for a family of four) when we stay at a Holiday Inn Express.
We stayed here to watch the horse races at Emerald Downs about 15 miles away in Auburn, WA.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drmorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallet6
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2009

We stayed at this hotel this past weekend. It went way beyond my expectations. Check in was friendly and quick. We had the double queen suite and it was huge! Much bigger than other hotels who claim their rooms are suites. There were 2 tvs and each had a dvd player. You could get free rentals at the desk. The kids loved the free cookies and lemonade they always had available. Coffee and hot chocolate were also always available. We ordered in one night and ate in the dining area (which is very spacious). They had no trouble giving us plates and silverware to eat with. The kids enjoyed the pool which was clean and heated. The breakfast was very nice too with hot choices and delicious cinnamon rolls. The best thing about the place undoubtedly though was the service. They were more than willing to help with anything you needed!
They even have a computer in EVERY room for you to use!

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank dallet6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2009

Stayed here one night. Very friendly check-in, particularly as a Priority Club member. Great rooms and lots of add-ons - free bottled water, DVDs, access to Health Club and a great breakfast. It was clean, secure and comfortable. I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MfW31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2009

We stayed at this hotel only for one night with our 2 kids, and had a great time during our short stay. The ladies at the front desk were super friendly and had no problems with us checking in a few hours earlier than their given check-in time. We booked the Queen Suite which has 2 queen sized beds, 2 TVs with DVD players, a small dining table, a sleeper couch and complimentary internet access(computer in the room!). There is a small kitchenette with fridge, microwave, dishes for 4 people, free bottled water and microwave popcorn. Our beds were really comfortable and had 4 pillows on each, so no shortage on comfort.

The hotel has an indoor pool and hot tub, which we took full advantage of. There were always fresh baked cookies for guests in the lobby, which were scrumptious, and a nice snack after a few hours in the pool. We came prepared and brought DVDs for our kids to watch, but the hotel does offer a small library of movies for you to borrow from, which I thought was a great idea! The bathroom is fairly small, as hotel bathrooms are, but it was well stocked with toiletries and towels, but my favorite part of our room was the tub. The queen suite has a nice large jetted tub, which for me, was heaven after chasing my rowdy kids through the pool for hours!

The only complaint I have with this hotel was the god awful stomping of the folks in the room above ours at 2 a.m. At one point, I thought there was cattle doing aerobics above me! But a quick call to the front desk solved that problem in no time.

To sum it up, I would definitely recommend this hotel to people needing a place to stay in or around the Puyallup area. The traffic noise was barely noticeable to us, and we were on the bottom floor. The continental breakfast offers plenty of variety and has something for almost everyone from fruit, yogurt, bacon and eggs. It is pretty pricey considering the area it is located in, but for me, paying $20 more for the suite was well worth it!

  • Liked — Clean room, friendly service
  • Disliked — High cost, noisy guests
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ILoveGreatHotels!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, Ca
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2008

This is a nice place. No workout room, but a pass to go to the Bally Gym next door.

Food was good and it was in good condition.

It is next to a busy road, in a shopping center area, next to a freeway. Even though it has double pane windows, the noise was constant; day and night.

The only other comment is that the room has a below the window heater/AC unit.

Even on the low setting it's loud. It does drowned out the freeway noise though.

  • Liked — easy to find
  • Disliked — freeway noise
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrSanRamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2008

My sister and I were in Puyallup for a family gathering this weekend, and we stayed at the Holiday Inn Express. To be honest, I wasn't expecting much, but the reviews I read here were encouraging, so I made a reservation.

I was definitely most pleasantly surprised. The staff members we talked with were very helpful and efficient. The hotel is clean and well kept, if not fancy (but who needs fancy?). The bathroom was spotless and bed was very comfortable with nice linens and great pillows. I don't usually sleep well the first night away from home, and I had no trouble this time. Our room was very quiet, which was also a surprise, since the hotel is near the freeway. There are restaurants and gas stations within walking distance. And it's one left turn from the on-ramp to WA-512, so for our purposes, it's ideally located.

We're planning to visit our parents again in the fall and we still definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Comfort; location
  • Disliked — McDonald's in the parking lot (no noise, etc., but a bit odd to find it there)
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Milazzolane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puyallup
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Plaza Hotel & Conference Center
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Puyallup
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tacoma Puyallup
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sumner
3.5 mi away
Crossland Economy Studios - Tacoma - Puyallup
1.4 mi away
Motel Puyallup
Motel Puyallup
#5 of 7 in Puyallup
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Puyallup (Tacoma Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Puyallup (Tacoma Area)

Property: Holiday Inn Express Puyallup (Tacoma Area)
Address: 812 S Hill Park Dr, Puyallup, WA 98373-1407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Puyallup
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Puyallup
#3 Family Hotel in Puyallup
#4 Business Hotel in Puyallup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Puyallup (Tacoma Area) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart in Puyallup! Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express hotel and suites in historic Puyallup, WA, home of the Puyallup Fair and Events Center. The hotel is located just 15 minutes from Tacoma and 30 minutes from Seattle Tacoma International Airport. Our unbeatable location places you minutes from the Western Washington Fairgrounds and close to many local destinations like Northwest Trek Wildlife Park, the Tacoma Dome, Tacoma s Glass Museum, Pacific Lutheran University, Pierce College, Sparks Stadium, and the Sprinker Recreation Center. There are also plenty of shops and restaurants nearby at either South Hill Mall or the downtown historic districts of Puyallup and Sumner. Joint Base Lewis McCord is just a short 15 minutes away. If you are looking to explore the outdoors, this hotel offers a convenient location for a day trip to Mount Rainier or to Crystal Mountain, one of Washington s best ski resorts. Whether here on business or pleasure we have everything you will need for a relaxing stay. Make yourself at home with our Simply Smart Bedding Collection, in-room DVD players and free movie lending library. Our fully equipped business center is conveniently open 24-hours. The delicious complimentary Express Start breakfast, complimentary wireless Internet, indoor pool and spa are all reasons to Stay Smart with us in Puyallup! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Puyallup (Tacoma Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Puyallup (Tacoma Area) Hotel Puyallup
Holiday Inn Puyallup
Puyallup Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing