We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great place”
Review of Black Cypress

Black Cypress
Ranked #3 of 83 Restaurants in Pullman
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Pullman, Washington
1 review
“Great food, great place”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

The best food in Pullman. We ordered Roast Chiken and Carbonara. All was divine. The wine was wonderful. The service is perfect. I strongly recommend.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carlos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    37
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, GA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really porr food”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

The Black Cypress is a white linen establishment, and for the life of me I cannot understand the outstanding reviews. Because of office functions, I have been there quite a few times, but it is always very bad. The portions are miniscule, and the non-meat food could come right off the Costco shelves. It is the place to see and be seen if that is your thing, but definitely not a place if you are a foodie that appreciates good food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Apple C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service; Worth a Drive”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Four of us came from Troy, Idaho for a special dinner and Black Cypress delivered. Very creative drinks (the Doug Club and Arab Spring in particular), and the food as delicious--roast chicken with sausage and bread salad on greens was moist and juicy; ribeye was cooked to order; pasta carbonara was creamy and delicious; huckleberry bread pudding shared as dessert was a perfect ending. Delightful meal.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner in a small campus town”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Dined with a friend and the menu looked so good, we shared so we could try more. We ordered the cheese plate, which came with a sampling of soft, semi hard and gorgonzola cheeses, candied nuts, crostini, and a raspberry puree. It was a great starter for two. We also had souvlaki skewers (apparently they have a different kind each night)--three skewers, pretty good. We each had a small beet salad, that had beautiful "watermelon" radishes in it--gorgeous and tasty. We shared an order of roasted chicken with a very flavorful stuffing. And finally, we had a creme brulee bread pudding with raspberry ice cream. A wonderful finish to a great meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coug1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

My sister and I had a wonderful dinner. I had the chicken and it was moist and flavorful. She had the lamb and it was equally good. We also had salads--one beet and one melon-- wow!! Definitely worth a stop any time you are in Pullman. The service was good too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank maryellenbradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Cypress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing