We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Uncommonly brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Cypress

Black Cypress
Ranked #3 of 81 Restaurants in Pullman
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
533 reviews
365 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 443 helpful votes
“Uncommonly brilliant!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

It is a rare, rare thing when a tough grader like me dines out and has a perfect cocktail, four perfect dishes (shared) a great bottle of wine from a very well designed list, and truly outstanding service. But that's what happened last night at our first meal at The Black Cypress. And I had it in Pullman?

Lucky lucky Pullman. The locals obviously have it figured out because the place was packed to the gills--every table occupied and parties waiting for the next available--on a dreary Monday night of all things. The decor is a deliberately and stylishly rustic in an old-european way with dark woods and oldfashioned bare light bulbs. The food is very Mediterranean in temperament but so comforting and open-mindedly modern that it escapes being categorized as ethnic.

So what did we have? Sazeracs, possibly the best ever, which we were delighted to find on the smart little cocktail menu that is an aggregation of popular cocktails someone collected from all over the globe. For dinner, a great and authentic Caesar salad with an added touch of smokey lardons (bacon), a Greek pasta dish called Zima, a roast chicken with bread salad, and for dessert a sage-toffee muffin with vanilla ice cream on a warm caramel sauce. Every dish was flawless.

If you only have one meal to eat in Pullman, you won't be sorry for choosing The Black Cypress.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank UnrepentantFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    32
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unique Greek”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stumbled across this cozy little place for dinner and had a great meal. A small bistro atmosphere overlooking main street in sleepy downtown Pullman. It feels like you could be in Greece with the decore and smells from the kitchen.Many changing specials listed on the chalk board. They have a changing bread appetizer. We ordered bread with a roasted butternut squash and goat cheese spread that went well with a glass of wine. My wife had a seafood chowder that was full of tasty scollops. I had the lamb chops which were cooked perfectly. Service was very good. Dessert was ice cream from the WSU dairy on campus. I would add that you do not have to like Greek food to enjoy this place, but if you do like Greek food, then you have made the right choice!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Angeldawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
152 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Some Competition for Swilly's”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Also a very good restaurant. It is more a bar scene than Swilley's and there is some very good food made there. It seems to be more expensive than Swilly's too. I would still give the edge to Swilly's but this place is definitielly trying hard.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank james K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
105 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great happy hour on Mondays!”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Pullman has a second good restaurant (Swilley's being the first).

Although I'm not sure I'd eat in either one if they were in Seattle, they are as good as it gets in little towns!

Good drinks and half off appetizers Monday happy hour.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank astrolake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Creative cocktails, fun chic atmosphere and excellent food. I've eaten at Black Cypress so many times that I have had everything on the menu at least once. My favorite dishes are the chicken, tofu and scallops. The scallops aren't on the regular menu but a daily special and oh so yummy. All the sides are seasonal and when kale is on the menu I'm a happy girl. Monday's from 5 - 7 appetizers are half price. The pork skewers are terrific! Since I live in Pullman, this is a place I frequent often. Definitely a thumbs up kind of place!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Squirble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Cypress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing