We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Room and a Few Oddities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Pullman
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pullman
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Big Room and a Few Oddities”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This is an unexpectedly nice place: clean and welcoming. We stayed in Room 307 which had a nice-enough view. It's a suite, but with a few strange design choices:

1) You enter into the living room, walk through a short 8-foot long hall past the bathroom on the right and then into the bedroom. Nothing odd about that. However, the hall has heavy doors on each end presumably so that the bedroom and living room can be separated. The problem with this is that the only ventilation and air-conditioning is in the bedroom. If the bedroom door is closed, there would be no circulation in the bathroom or living room and no natural light either since the bedrooms has the only window.

2) The combo A/C and heater unitis controlled by a thermostat on the wall that is impossible to set correctly. Set it to 67F and it blows air that is too cold. Set it to 68F and the heater comes on making it too warm. There is no setting to enable only the AC or only the heat.

Also, our housekeeper never cleaned our coffee maker or replenished the supplies despite a conversation with the front desk.

On the plus side, the living room has a large counter with storage space, a bar sink, small refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave.

There's a guest laundry room which also houses the ice machine and vending machine. So it gets pretty hot in there. And, even thought there is plenty of empty space for one, there is no shelf or counter in the room to fold clothes.

The staff is friendly and, except for our housekeeper, efficient. The hotel is quiet at night and within a few miles of some nice restaurants. You get a free and adequate breakfast including a pancake machine and a buffet with eggs and meat (in case you're into the whole carnivore thing). They keep the TV on in the breakfast room all the time, but at least it wasn't tuned to Fox "News."

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhotoCitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pullman, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear PhotoCitizen,

Thank you for writing a detailed review about your recent stay. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and friendly staff. On the other hand, it is regrettable that the room layout and air conditioning system did not meet your expectations. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience these aspects may have caused.

Your comments are very importance to us as they allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. We hope that if your travels brings you back to our area you would give us another opportunity to provide the excellent accommodations you were expecting.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    128
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
119
24
23
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Came for a 2-day stay with teenagers in tow. This was our second visit. Booked a suite large enough to fit a rollaway. 2-room suite was large, immaculate and well-appointed. Linens for the pull-out sofa bed were kept in a nice bin. Bathroom well stocked with towels and usual appointments. Room A/C system worked well. This hotel is kept with attention to detail -- such as bath tissue folded by room service. Friendly, cheerful staff, helpful front desk staff is very well-tuned to what is going on at WSU. Pool is nicely kept, nice touches like towels neatly draped over backs of poolside chairs. Warm cookies put out in the evening. Social area has a nice TV.

Only downside is breakfast is average hotel chain fare: offerings are standard pre-packaged fare -- the eggs, biscuits, breakfast meats, had that "shipped frozen" look and taste. No restaurant on site, although fast food delivery service is available in the area. Nice little gift shop on first floor. Hotel is conveniently located near cinema, small business district with places to eat, within easy walking distance.

This is an excellent value -- I've had to pay much more elsewhere for less comfort. The property is about 20 years old, but rooms and common areas newly remodeled (first floor renovations underway at time of writing). I like comfort on the road, and find it here.

Room Tip: Book as soon as you know you are visiting if you want a suite, particularly if a major WSU event is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JSWKingsfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

My husband and I just had the pleasure of staying 5 nights in Pullman while on a photography tour of the Palouse area. I honestly cannot think of one bad thing to say about our stay. The staff was very accommodating, especially Gabby. Breakfast was great with a nice selection. Love that there was a walk-in shower that had a door rather than a tub with a curtain that never stays closed. Speaking of tub, we did have a rather large whirlpool tub in the corner of our room which was odd, would MUCH rather have a larger bathroom with dual sinks. Looking forward to returning again next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flashtrnbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
203 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

I spent a week at the Pullman Holiday Inn Express during the peak period of Washington State University and University of Idaho graduations. The staff effectively handled the stress of both events, plus two major sporting competitions and the usual clientele with ease. FYI - the hotels in the area books months in advance for graduation and rooms are very hard to get. The hotel offers the standard breakfast common in US hotels today - eggs, bacon, yogurt, etc. There is no restaurant in the hotel, but there are several a short drive away. There is a 24hr gift shop and small snack bar, but the prices are a bit steep on the WSU swag. The only negative aspect of the hotel is the closet sized "fitness room" with just a couple of cardio machines.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 101jumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

After staying in a hotel from the 70's for a few days while on our vacation through small town Oregon & coming here it was like walking into luxury. It smelled good, looked clean & felt comfortable. Great amenties & friendly staff. I would stay here again. The breakfast I would say is just okay not very homemade tasting but good none the less. The best thing ever is I left a brand new shirt in my hotel room & didn't realize it until we arrived home about two days later. I was bummed thinking someone made off with a sweet new shirt. But my husband called spoke to housekeeping & my shirt arrived in just a few days at my house. I think the Thank you card enclosed was a really nice touch. So awesome knowing people care even if it is just a silly T-shirt. This place is Awesome!

Room Tip: Try to get the best price for this hotel on Price line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redredles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslyn, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I had the pleasure of visiting and photographing the Palouse area of the State of Washington this past week. The Holiday Inn Express in Pullman, was a terrific place for us to use as our base. The Holiday Inn Express is immaculate and very, very well kept. I was picked up by their shuttle bus last Thursday as it is part of the visit experience if you are flying in to the Pullman Airport. In fact they gave me a taxi voucher to leave with since I am leaving to early for the shuttle to take me back to the airport. The rooms are spacious as well as are the bathrooms. Most hotels of this type have plastic showers and bath tubs, here they have ceramic tile on the walls, very classy. The staff cleans the roos perfectly. If you have the pleasure to tour The Palouse, or visit Washington State University, this is the hotel to stay. They also offer a free breakfast, as well as chocolate chip cookies in the evening. Really a special place to stay, I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: All rooms offer a great value. I stayed on the 1st floor, for easy access in and out with my camera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corrbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

After a full week of work and traveling, we needed to drive across the pass to see our son at WSU. Not wanting to leave our beloved black lab home alone, we franctically searched for a pet-friendly hotel in Pullman. To my joy, Holiday Inn Express fit the bill. We have stayed here before but had never realized that our beloved four legged family member could as well. What a treat! The lab didn't enjoy the 5 and half drive over but he surely enjoyed our nice room, the convenient trails near by and the weather turned out quite nice. Absolutely recommend to anyone headed to Pullman with their four-legged family members.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wblessed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yellowmw, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pullman, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
We are delighted to hear you and your four legged friend had the opportunity to stay with in Pullman and had a great experience at the hotel. Your feedback is very valuable as we do get a number of guest who travel with pets and want to make sure they have a clean and comfortable place to stay with them. Hopefully you and your four legged friend will have another opportunity to return to Pullman and to stay with us again.
Warm Regards, Meghan W., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pullman
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn Pullman
Residence Inn Pullman
#1 of 6 in Pullman
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Paradise Creek
1.7 mi away
Hilltop Inn
Hilltop Inn
#3 of 6 in Pullman
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Best Western Plus University Inn
6.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Moscow Pullman
7.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Moscow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Pullman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Pullman

Property: Holiday Inn Express Pullman
Address: 1190 SE Bishop Blvd, Pullman, WA 99163-5420
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Pullman
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pullman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Pullman 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located in the heart of the Palouse Empire, just minutes to Washington State University, ten minutes to the Pullman/Moscow Regional Airport, and ten minutes to Moscow, Idaho and the University of Idaho. Whether you're traveling on business or fun the hotel features 130 deluxe guest rooms and suites to accommodate all needs. Our spacious 100% non-smoking guest rooms feature complimentary wireless Internet, flat screen televisions, refrigerators and much more. There will be no need to worry about parking while in Pullman, our complimentary shuttle will be ideal for both on and off campus events as well as airport transportation. You will feel right at home at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Pullman. Take time to enjoy the Great Room, it's more than a lobby, it's a warm cozy living room where you can enjoy a book or game in the evening by the fireplace, and our tempting breakfast buffet in the morning. We look forward to welcoming you to this wonderful Pullman hotel soon! Featuring complimentary wireless Internet throughout the hotel and 100 percent non-smoking guest rooms. Stay Smart! Attractions near hotel: Washington State University, Beasley Performing Arts Coliseum, Pullman Regional Hospital, Martin Stadium, Schweitzer Engineering, University of Idaho, Kibbie Dome, National Lentil Festival, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Pullman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Pullman Hotel Pullman
Holiday Inn Pullman
Pullman Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing