We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average”

Ferdinand's Ice Cream Shoppe
Ranked #1 of 4 Dessert in Pullman
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ferdinand's on the WSU campus sells quality cheese and ice cream. Made at the Washington State University by WSU students.
Seabeck
Level Contributor
275 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Just average”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

After reading all the reviews I wanted to try this place. Of course with that name you expect ice cream but the first thing you see is cheese. When I visited them, they had half the store closed due to construction. They had a cheese selection, ice cream selection and drinks to order (Coffee, Tea etc.)
We purchased some cheese and a scoop of chocolate ice cream. The ice cream was best at average. The cheese tasted really good. Maybe rename it to cheese shoppe.

We saw two people working there with a less than average attitude.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wala69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    20
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great ice cream, and of course, Cougar Gold cheese”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

A wide range of delicious flavors, and inexpensive! You can also pick up WSU cheese, the best known being Cougar Gold, which is one very good thing coming out of Washington State University.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank tigressj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mead, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Always delicious!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have been eating Ferdinand's ice cream and cheese for over 50 years. It's the best ice cream in the world. The scoops are big and the prices are good. We always pick up some cheese while we're there and enjoy watching the cheese making if our timing is right.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If you visit Pullman you have to visit Ferdinand's”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The ice cream is made there and it is so good with its own unique creaminess. But you also need to go there for the cheese. It has the best prices of cougar gold and viking cheeses, cheese curds, also made right there. It is the only place you can purchase end cuts, the odd slices at the end of the cheese wheel that is packed in tins. Cheaper and often preferred because it is sliced instead of a huge block. Makes me crave their dairy products just writing about it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kkpge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
151 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream I have ever had.”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I have been going there since 1964. It is always the best. If you are reall hungry try to get a malted there and take home a can or two of the iconic Cougar Gold cheese. If you know what it is you are at the source worship. If not you will soon experience a cheese sensation. Also try the french vanilla, the tin lizzy,the pistachio, and the mint chocolate chip ice creams.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank james K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ferdinand's Ice Cream Shoppe also viewed

 

Been to Ferdinand's Ice Cream Shoppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing