We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish”
Review of J J's Fishhouse

J J's Fishhouse
Ranked #14 of 90 Restaurants in Poulsbo
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Suquamish, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great fish”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is probably the best fish house in the area. They have great fish and chips, both cod and halibut. We always go here when we have guests and have never been disappointed with the food or the service. The price is slightly higher than some but,I think, worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Howard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    79
    46
    26
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
496 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Worth returning to”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This is a place that serves some of the best fish and chips I can remember on this side of the Atlantic. We also discovered that they also make a pretty spectacular burger. We just went in for a quick lunch, but plan to return for dinner. A trustworthy source told us that the linguini with clams is also excellent. The service was cheerful and impeccable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sungron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salem, oregon
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Super Yummy”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

You know when you're a tourist - you choose a restaurant based on reviews or friends'/ family recommendations .... That was the case when my husband and I went here on a Friday night. The place was busy, but not packed and loud but not too loud. We had a great server! She was awesome :) We ordered steamer clams & calamari for apps. The clams were delicious! The calamari was ok not the best - a lil lacking in flavor but not horrible. We shared a Huge Caesar salad (and it was "just" a side salad!) and the halibut fish and chips. The salad was great. The fish and chips were very good but not the best we've had - we eat at a lot of seafood restaurants along the Oregon coast. But they were good and the fish quality was excellent. Again, just a lil lacking in flavor. I think the deal is, dip the breaded items in the tarter sauce ... But we like the items to "stand on their own and don't want every bite to be dripping in gooey sauce. If that's your style, you will really like it. We liked it but we didn't fall in love. The clam chowder was good but it was served lukewarm not piping hot :( The bread was tasty. All in all a good experience for us tourists. We appreciate when restaurants treat us like "regulars" even if we won't be back. Great service! If we are back in the area, we will be back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bexnate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best Fish & Chips”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We had the 3 piece cod fish and chips and have nominated JJs as the BEST for fish and chips. The breading was very light so you could actually taste the delicious flaky cod. The three pieces filled over half of our 12" plate which was surprising. It was a little on the oily side but I really prefer baked fish. Whole meal was great and $15. was not overpriced. Waitress was very nice and not only told me where the bathroom was but walked me thru the back area and made sure I knew where it was. First bathroom by the kitchen REALLY needs an update, yuck.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Noluck7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful fresh seafood and a great value.”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Hands down the best seafood restauant we have found in our travels around the Pacific Northwest. The seafood is fresh, expertly prepared, and beats out places that charge twice as much. Don't miss it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christyne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J J's Fishhouse also viewed

 

Been to J J's Fishhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing