We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice product but spendy”

Sluys Poulsbo Bakery
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Poulsbo
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
506 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Nice product but spendy”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The pastries are nice. They also make a great line of bread without pricetags on the bag or shelf. We bought a loaf here once before and were a little surprised at the price so we abstained this time. Great product, but available at a lot of other places for less.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sungron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    76
    30
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Best bakery ever!!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We actually make the hour long trip to Poulsbo just for the donuts and bread from Sluys Bakery. This time we came in on our boat and after docking headed straight to the bakery to get their cinnamon bread for breakfast. We stayed in Poulsbo 2 nights and visited the bakery 4 time. Their donuts are always fresh and when we left we bought 4 loaves of bread for friends! Make the trip it's worth it!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Love2traveltacoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Truly hard to resist....”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I tried really hard to resist going in this landmark bakery in Poulsbo but the heavenly smells wafting out the open door lured us in. Once inside, we were just overwhelmed by the array of baked goodies. While we did resist buying one of everything, we chose our favorite---bear claws. They were worth every calorie!! This is a must stop for anyone visiting Poulsbo!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kowalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympic National Park, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A MUST STOP IN POULSBO”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

A terrific bakery, the smell from the sidewalk will peak you interest to view the breads, pastries, donuts, cakes, pies and much more. You'll feel like "a kid in the candy store" as you look through the glass showcase at all the tasty goodies. Some items seem a little costly but after a taste you'll know you have to pay for perfection. This is where the great Poulsbo bread is baked. The staff is great, very helpful and friendly, yet extremely professional and proficient.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, Calif
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yummy in my tummy!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a great bakery! Viking cups should be against the law! Cherry and apple Strudel are flaky, great. All pastries are top quality ingredients and great recipes. During the holiday season they make fruitcake that actually tastes wonderful! The town of Poulsbo is famous for its bakery! And for good reason. Try their cookies, too. Better than Mama used to make! If you are a senior, ask for your discount!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AllisonB_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sluys Poulsbo Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Sluys Poulsbo Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing