We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yumminess in a small waterfront town.”

Sluys Poulsbo Bakery
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Poulsbo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Norwegian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Yumminess in a small waterfront town.”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Selection, selection, selection. My husband goes for the Viking cups-sticky sweetness with a nut crunch on yummy dough. I love the coconut stick. My kids love the yellow smiley cookies or the blue sad face cookies depending on the day. They also love the doughnuts the size of your head, the bear claws, and the jelly doughnuts. We haven't tried everything yet, but so far, we haven't had anything we haven't thought was pure yumminess! (And when my son dropped his cookie on the floor-they were nice enough to give him a new one! Thanks!)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank lcamacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    73
    29
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Accurate Pastry”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Sluys Bakery has figured out pastry and bread to a science. The dala horse cookies, almond rounds, and the viking cup were excellent. Plus, they ship to grandchildren who are out of state.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
177 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“Best independent bakery in the Puget Sound region!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

By car, and many times by boat, my wife and I have made the pilgrimmage these past 40 years to the delightful, Norwegian-themed waterfront small town of Poulsbo, surely one of the three or four prettiest and unique little towns found throughout Puget Sound. (Others include Coupeville on Whidbey Island and LaConner, in the Skagit Valley.) But I digress. Every trip to Poulsbo has included a trip to Sluy's Bakery, to first just inhale all the delicious aromas, then to agonize over what to buy from the mouth-watering assortment of breads, cookies, pies and pastries.

For those of you who may have heard of or seen "Poulsbo Bread" on your chain supermarket shelves, it came from this small town bakery. And that's just what it is, a locally-owned bakery that still operates in the same lcoation and the same way they did 30 and 40 years ago. It's a delicious time warp into a kinder and gentler past, when many city neighborhoods each had their own independent bakery. Those are largely gone now, replaced by the giant chain bakeries supplying product to stores such as QFC, Albertson's, Safeway, Fred Meyer, etc.

Are you old eough to remember warm butterhorns? We don't know of any bakery around the Puget Sound that still makes these, but Sluy's does, and they sell them by the dozens each day. Everytime we visit, we pick up between one and two dozen to take home and freeze for future use, spread butter on each 'horn, microwave for 25 to 35 seconds or so, then savor the soft pastry almost literally melting in our mouths. Butterhorns, maple bars and caramel pullaparts are among their best sellers, and they go through a lot, for this bakery is very popular with tourists and locals alike.

But no matter which pastry you like, you'll most likely find it made fresh at Sluy's, and despite the continual foot traffic in the store, served to you with a smile.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ThorneBirdGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
108 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Sweets Abounding!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

After a nice lunch rather late in the afternoon, we stopped by and bought an apple strudel and small Viking to go. Later we opened a bottle of cabernet at our B&B and enjoyed a most pleasant evening "snack".

The bakery offers pies as well as pastry of multiple variety. The staff is most efficient and approachable with advise and explanations.

If downtown in this locale again, we will return!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank idemandthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can I sample everything?! :)”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Fantastic and fresh baked goods..wish they provided a buffet style tasting for a fixed price cause I wanted a bite of everything! I would of paid $20 for a sampler platter if they offered it! :) You can't go wrong with this bakery!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ksmekate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sluys Poulsbo Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Sluys Poulsbo Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing