We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monthly Wine Tasting Service Is Slow” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burrata Bistro

Burrata Bistro
Ranked #3 of 89 Restaurants in Poulsbo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bremerton, WA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Monthly Wine Tasting Service Is Slow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have previously reviewed the Paella Bar side of this restaurant very favorably here on TA. But recently we went to our third monthly wine tasting. They do this the first Monday of every month. Cost is $25.00 per person and you get around 6-7 one ouce wine pours, tapas plates to accompany the wines (though they never actually tell you if certain foods are intentionally paired with certain wines), a small plate dessert and an etched glass to take home. If you bring your glass back to each tasting you get 10% off your bill. This is a fun event with a great opportunity to taste a number of wines and some great, unique tapas.

What could improve? The service last night, at times was painfully slow for both food and wine. We didn't get our first tapas plate until we had sat at our table with our first wine for 30 minutes! If the food and wine were supposed to be a match, we'd never know. The wine was gone by the time the food came. The servers are very friendly and fun, but the timing of service needs improvement. Could use just a little bit more food and the wine pours need work: one time we're getting barely an ouce and the next time closer to two ounces or more. Wine pouring for tastings is an art. I know because I poured for professional wine conferences (hundreds of people) for many years. These Monthly wine tastings (I believe they call them Wine Socials) are a blast, but there's definitely room for improvement. You can also buy all the poured wines by the bottle before you leave at "supposedly" wholesale pricing. We'll return and hope for the best.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lim48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    37
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gem of Poulsbo - world class cooking and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Burrata Bistro and its adjacent sister restaurant Paella Bar is at the top of the great reasons to visit north Kitsap Washington State and the village of Poulsbo. The cooking, decor, service, and ambiance is first class. Kim Tomlinson has created - two! - havens for people who love good cooking. Whether you dine at Paella Bar with it's creative and scrumptious list of Tapas dishes, or next door at Burrata Bistro with its terrific menu of Northern Italian cooking - you can't go wrong.
We've eaten there often - our gastronomic home away from home!
Kimberly and Ken, Poulsbo WA

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulsbo, Washington
Level Contributor
118 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Date Night Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Finally had the chance to come here!!! And, I am so happy I did. We arrived on a Sunday around 5:30 pm, and were seated immediately. They have a very nice wine list, the Riesling was very good. The decor and atmosphere is very nice...low key and intimate.

We ordered the foccacia bread with olive oil and balsamic....so good. I ordered a Caesar salad and my husband ordered their gorgonzola salad...both were excellent. Great dressings on both...the gorgonzola came with two pieces of candied bacon that were excellent.

We both ordered the four cheese pasta, the food came out fairly fast. It was plated in a large bowl, with a big spoon. It was excellent, if not a little small portion wise. Definitely look forward to returning here to try other menu items!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gustasra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“First class Italian dining in Poulsbo! Who knew!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I lived near New York City for a few years. We love Italian food, and we visited many, many Italian restaurants. That being said, we loved Burrata Bistro. I ate the pork piccata, which was very nice. My wife had the four cheese pasta. The dishes were creative yet traditional. The menu has a Northwestern feel to it, while honoring Italian classics. The owner, Kim, was super kind to us and our family. We sat at the bar, since we came during a very busy time. Our waitress was very busy but helpful, dynamic, and intimately familiar with the menu. Every aspect of our visit was enjoyable! Oh, the wine list is quite nice as well! Lovely place!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank andrewwymer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Delightful dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Wonderful extras like the brandied cherries on the chocolate whiskey ice cream. Seafood was cooked the perfect length of time. Excellent putenesca sauce.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rossmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burrata Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Burrata Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing