We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Gull Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 16 Port Townsend B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sierra Vista, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

It hit all marks for us while on vacation. The location is suitable for walking. The Inn is just gorgeous as well as the garden. Our room was awesome on all points. Slept great, super clean and so many delightful touches throughout this historic home. John and Renee are wonderful hosts and our breakfast each day was great! We can't wait to return, even if just for a weekend We really found our home away form home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sissy002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    62
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
149
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This was our third visit to the Blue Gull Inn, and like the previous two, we found ourselves completely charmed by the experience. John and Pamela were the perfect hosts providing us with wonderful breakfasts, great conversation and excellent recommendations for dinner. With each visit it feels more and more like our 'home away from home' in Port Townsend. And each time we visit Port Townsend we discover more to see and do in this fascinating community. Thanks again for the restful ambience you've created for us and the other travelers who come your way.
We'll be back!

Room Tip: Very comfortable suites with the soaking tubs that face east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NandRKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Well placed in the upper part of Port Townsend, easily walkable to wherever you want to go. Cute room, very Victorian decor, and yummy breakfast served family style. Nice to chat with other guests. We enjoyed Renee's dinner recommendation of Lanza's.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BARBARA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - a very comfortable room, just the right distance to walk to downtown restaurants and attractions, and the friendly, helpful advice of our innkeepers. The communal breakfast table was another plus, giving us an opportunity to share stories and get advice from other guests.

Room Tip: We had a lot of bags, so we decided on a ground floor room - which was quiet...no street noise .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BalletBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle/Tacoma
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

I didn´t realize until I was inside the Blue Gull Inn that I had stayed here before with my middle sister! My ¨baby¨sister and I had a lovely stay this time around. John was a pleasant host and Renee´s scones lived up to my memory of them. Not only that but she shared the recipe! I can´t wait to try making them myself. The location is great. Walking distance to the waterfront, cafes, some excellent drinking establishments. The Blue Gull was clean and cluttered in that Victorian sort of way. Not my taste for a lifestyle but just perfect for a Victorian B n B. I recommend the Blue Gull Inn for a night or two in a lovely port town. The Rose View Room was the perfect choice to avoid the long, steep stairs to the 2nd floor.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dianclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Check-in was easy and John was on-hand to answer questions. My husband and I checked into #6 whiich had a small garden room leading off the bathroom that gave us a great view of the deer and the flowers.
Once we got over the shock of having no TV in any room we sat outside on the porch, relaxed in the rocking chairs and chatted with other guests staying at the inn. John really enjoys giving his guests a history of Port Townsend.

The room was quite small but the bed was very comfortable and the bed linens were immaculate.

Breakfsst is served at a community table which gave the guests lots of time to chat and exchange trip ideas. The clawtub bath is hard to get in and out of but the floor was made of tile so there was no concerrn about water damage to the floor. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirleyboni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My partner and I booked a last minute reservation on-line. We started from the top of the Tripadvisor list of B&B's until we found availability.

Pros:
Price/Value
Check-in easy.
Spacious, clean, very well appointed room.
Queen sized bed is comfortable.
Breakfast was delicious.
Coffee, tea, water, and cookies available at all times.
"Common space" is also very well appointed.
Sitting out on the veranda drinking wine/tea was nice.
Good location... within walking distance to town.

Cons:
Fireplace is noisy.
Bathroom is small and the door is a bi-fold (closet door) so not very private.
The outside light is on a censor which turned on and off all night because of the slight wind... even with the blinds, the flickering light bleeds through the sides of the windows.
Sound travels between the Roseview room and the adjoining room..

Neutral:
Although the Roseview room is on the ground floor near the front door and flanked on one side by the veranda, we didn't have any issues with noise in the middle of the night or early in the morning.

Would recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Almondize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
0.4 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
346 reviews
1.4 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ravenscroft Inn
Ravenscroft Inn
#1 of 16 in Port Townsend
371 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aladdin Motor Inn
Aladdin Motor Inn
#9 of 11 in Port Townsend
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Gull Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Gull Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Blue Gull Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1310 Clay St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-6604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Gull Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a great breakfast in a quiet setting at our Bed & Breakfast! Port Townsend’s Blue Gull Inn, on the Olympic Peninsula, built in 1868, has some great added features like our huge front porch and lovely gardens. Our Bed and Breakfast in Port Townsend, WA. is located in the Historic Uptown District, and are conveniently located to shops, dining and waterfront—perfect for a getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Blue Gull Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing