We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, comfortable and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Gull Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 16 Port Townsend B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Okanagan, British Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Peaceful, comfortable and good value”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed one night in September. Great, quiet location. Comfortable room. We received a warm welcome from Pamela, who filled us in on everything we needed to know, including recommending a great restaurant a short walk away (Lanza's). The bed was comfortable and smelled clean and fresh. Bathroom and amenities were nice, including cozy robes. Breakfast was delicious and the breakfast room atmosphere was casual and easy. All in all a great stay! Just what we needed!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sawmill9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    61
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
149
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at the Blue Gull Inn Sept 2012.
A great character B&B (built in 1868) which never disappoints.
We prefer B&B's because of the ambience and the chance to talk to travelers from around the world at the breakfast table.
Very quiet part of town, watch out for deer wandering down the road.
Some of our favourite places to visit in P.T. include: the Rose Theatre, Khu Larb Thai, Antique Mall, old bookstore, Uptown restaurants and market.
Great place to get away from the rat race.

Room Tip: Typically $110-$150 per night per room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GCCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at Blue Gull for two nights. Rene welcomed us and we met John at breakfast. The home is delightful and well located to walk to some excellent restaraunts - in particular an Italian one called Lanzas, very reasonable and great food. We stayed in the Roseview Room except the roses had been eaten by deer so it now looks over nasturtiums! Breakfasts were heaven and rene seems to produce a different menu every day, however long you stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maragani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish, SD
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed with John and Renee for 5 days. We used rooms 2&3&6. John and Renee are very accommodating. The Breakfast was excellent. I don't know how it could be made better.
My wife and I had room 6, the garden room. We shared the garden with the deer, flowers and birds. Would we come back? Without a doubt!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thaddeus10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I traveled to Port Townsend from Seattle by bicycle and stayed at the Blue Gull. The Garden Room was perfect! It had a private bathroom and enclosed porch in which I stored my bike and my bike jersey. When I arrived, I was greeted by delicious sugar cookies and refreshments in the dining room. The grounds were beautiful (I even saw a deer in the garden!) and the room comfortable. The next morning's breakfast was big enough to fuel my return trip. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripALH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

don't be afraid of the claw foot bathtub, it's fine. i was, initially but then we took the plunge and we were very happy. there is a lovely little porch that leads out back to the garden.
breakfast was awesome!!!!!!! especially the french toast.
i have a special connection to the 40's and there is an entire hallway wall filled with photos from that era. the room itself feels as if you are staying in a b&b from that time as well.

Room Tip: #6 is on of two rooms on the main floor. both are larger, i think, than the rooms upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harvey d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
115 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We were only in Port Townsend for one night, but we wish we'd stayed longer at this B&B. John and Renee were very accommodating and friendly. Our room (the roseview room) was cozy, clean and cute! We loved it! The location is perfect and the house was quiet (you don't hear your neighbour every time they need to get up in the middle of the night!!). The breakfast in the morning was amazing! Sausages, potatoes, fruit and quiche! Yummmmmm. The price was very reasonable as well, especially considering we were visiting at the height of summer! Highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
1.4 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#8 of 11 in Port Townsend
299 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
339 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
40 reviews
0.5 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ravenscroft Inn
Ravenscroft Inn
#1 of 16 in Port Townsend
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Gull Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Gull Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Blue Gull Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1310 Clay St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-6604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Gull Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a great breakfast in a quiet setting at our Bed & Breakfast! Port Townsend’s Blue Gull Inn, on the Olympic Peninsula, built in 1868, has some great added features like our huge front porch and lovely gardens. Our Bed and Breakfast in Port Townsend, WA. is located in the Historic Uptown District, and are conveniently located to shops, dining and waterfront—perfect for a getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Blue Gull Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing