We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food ...”
Review of Public House Grill & Ales - CLOSED

Public House Grill & Ales
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food ...”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

It was delicious, but I found a dead fly in my salad. They gave us our appetizer for free, but I don't think I can bring myself to order a salad again. They should wash their greens better!!!

Helpful?
Thank travelbug4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    65
    32
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wenatchee, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Chowder”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Excellent chowder and a pretty good beer selection. Prices a little high but it is after all a tourist town. :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GIG HARBOR
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Darn Good”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Everything we ate was very good. The service was excellent and the atmosphere was very nice. Was seated right away. The only thing that was lacking was the coleslaw (bland)

Helpful?
Thank Tracey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We really enjoyed dinner at this spot on the main street in Port Townsend. Our server was very friendly and the food was excellent. My husband had the seafood cioppino and I had the crab cakes. We both felt they were good value for the price and enjoyed them very much. We will eat here again when we visit Port Townsend in the future.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lucydodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
200 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“A Legend In Their Own Mind”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This restaurant has a fantastic location, on thge main street right in the heart of historic Port Townsend...but that's about that it has going for it. The fiood is mediocre yet expensive, the staff is unresponsive and indifferent, and the placeitself looks ait tired.

On a recent vist to PT, we mde reservations for a party of nine. The reservation was made THREE times on the restaurant phone system, following their prompts and leaving a cont phone # as our reservtion was mde 5 days ahead our scheduled visit. We were embarassed when our out-of-town gusets arrived only to be told we wuld have a "20 minute wait"...and that they had no such reservation. Strike 1.

The cobbled together table would have been OK for a pary of eight, but was akward and cramped for nine.....the service was slow and spotty...and the food was unremarkable. Oneofour guests ordered a French Dip medium rare and was treated to a sandwiched version of burnt shoe leather for about $15. SubWay could do better.

These people really don't seem to know or care about the guest experience. We've been a custo,er for years, but won' go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank QuirkyNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Public House Grill & Ales also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing