We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not going to stay another night.”
Review of Port Townsend Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Port Townsend Inn
Ranked #15 of 16 Port Townsend B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not going to stay another night.”
Reviewed November 24, 2011

I have family in Port Townsend, and the room was booked for us by them. We specifically asked for a non-smoking room and got one that smelled like the bottom of a bar ash tray.

The room is very small, grungy, and in need of updates.

However, the clincher for me was when we discovered that the floor between the bed & the bathroom wall was soaking wet. I don't know how long it's been like this, but I am floored that no one has noticed it until now. It's so wet, it actually squishes.

Would not recommend and am going to be looking for a new place to stay

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Goddessmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    35
    23
    35
See reviews for
38
41
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We decided just to getaway for the weekend and what a great little town we found! We stayed at this hotel, and were very pleased with it. The staff was very friendly, the room was nice. It had a nice pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, WA
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Dirty bed linenes, no hot water, questionable "service"........when I wrote them a letter to ask for our money back, I never received a response. STAY AWAY!!!!!!

Room Tip: avoid this place at all costs!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeanneB885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Townsend hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Salem, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

The staff was friendly. We paid as much as a new hotel elsewhere. The room was old, mattresses were sagging and the bathroom needs ripped out and replaced. The continental breakfast was just adequate.The coffee was not made. Menu was toast, muffins, packaged danish, cereal, and jam from a squeeze bottle. There are signs of upgrading but only on the outside of the buildings. Did not use the pool so I don't know the condition. Wish we had gone on to Port Angeles or Squim to better accomodations for the price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinggrandma_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed here with a group of friends and really enjoyed ourselves. It's a quaint little Inn very close to all the things you might want to do. Cheerfully Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Trisha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2011

I have to say that this was a huge disappointment. We spent a little over $300.00 for a two night stay. I feel ripped off. They did charge me the entire amount upon check in (which is not typical of other hotels). I feel ripped off. The bathroom was awful. The shower surround was moldy and broken at the bottom. The vanity in the bathroom was just a rusty shelf with a mirror above. I truly didn't expect this when I was quoted the price. The staff were very nice and friendly - however after the maids cleaned, they didn't leave a roll extra toilet paper. This whole operation is tinged with cheap . . cheap . . . cheap. The mattresses reminded me of my stay in Eastern Europe . . springs with a little cotton on top. I was told that the owners bought the hotel 4 years ago - but I can't see where there is any meaningful maintenance. I won't be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colemanboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

I've stayed in lots of places, but this one takes the prize for nastiest motel ever. Bathroom completely covered in mold, dirty toilet - with poop residue under toilet seat, hair in drain NASTY. Ended up sleeping on top of bedding using our sleeping bags, had booked a 2-night stay but bailed after first night, we just could not bear the thought of staying another night there. The mattress was awful, the carpet dirty, towels stained. On top of all that, the staff was RUDE. AND... the room was $175.00 for a single night! Don't ever stay here, you'll hate it. The Bishop or the Swan are much better choices when staying in Port Townsend.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else, if you value your health!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NickScrenName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
0.3 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
49 reviews
1.0 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
313 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aladdin Motor Inn
Aladdin Motor Inn
#8 of 11 in Port Townsend
243 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fort Worden
Fort Worden
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#6 of 11 in Port Townsend
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Townsend Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Townsend Inn

Property: Port Townsend Inn
Address: 2020 Washington St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-6907
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Port Townsend Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Townsend Inn offers an indoor swimming pool and hot tub (the only one in Port Townsend!), free Wi-Fi, free Continental Breakfast, free parking, and wonderful views of the Olympic Mountains and Puget Sound. All rooms come fully equipped with a refrigerator, microwave oven, cable TV and telephone (free local calls!) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Port Townsend Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Townsend Hotel Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing