We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you read almost every other review, both the good and bad ones, then you get a true picture of the Port Townsend Inn.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Port Townsend Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Port Townsend Inn
Ranked #15 of 16 Port Townsend B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“If you read almost every other review, both the good and bad ones, then you get a true picture of the Port Townsend Inn.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Executive Summary:
- Only hotel with a pool in Port Townsend
- Good Location
- Needs better cleaning and updated furnishing
- Beds and pillow not comfortable.

Details:
If you read almost every other review, both the good and bad ones, then you get a true picture of the Port Townsend Inn.

Let's start with the good:
- Location: convenient to downtown (although NOT walking distance). Second floor rooms have views of the ocean and mountains. Easy to get to right off the main drag. Some restaurants nearby (I would recommend Dos Okies BBQ as a tasty hole-in-wall BBQ joint).
- Pool and hot tub. The pool house itself seems reasonably well maintained - and actually in better condition than the motel itself (more on that later). The pools seemed clean.... nobody got sick after swimming :-) The pool is large and seemed maintained a reasonable temperature (a little cool so as to be refreshing, but not cold). The pool house was kept at 80F. The hot-tub was hot and the agitators worked well.
- Staff: staff was friendly; although the true test is when there is an issue that needs to be resolved and thankfully we had none of those. I asked for extra towels at the front desk and received them promptly.
- Breakfast: Seriously NOTHING fancy.... pre-packaged Danishes, hot coffee, milk, juice, cereal, toasted breads and bagels. But.... it was enough and nice to have.

Now the areas for improvement:
- It's not clean. I've seen worse, and other than wear the bathroom was thankfully seemed clean-enough. But there is just a general look/feel of dusty/stained/oldness. Under the bed (we looked there for a lost item) was pretty scary, but then again have you looked under your own bed lately :-) Basically, it was clean enough for our weekend stay, but not clean enough for us to come back.
- It's old. I am sure updates are expensive and a place like this may be struggling to get by, but it was just a bit too old and worn for my preferences. Bathroom especially could use some updates.
- Soap was insufficient. The bars were not only tiny, but they simply did not lather. Must be the absolutely cheapest they can buy. Bring your own.
- Price. It was not cheap. Our 2-night weekend stay in June clocked in at $260.
- One particular staff interaction. Here's the story. We arrive to check in and I am greeted with a smile by the young girl working the desk. She then asks for my credit card which I expect is used to "hold" the room, but instead she proceeds to charge it the full amount of our stay... at check-in. I tell her I have stayed at many hotels and this seems unusual. She replies she does not know.. she is new there. I ask her if she has ever stayed at a hotel , and if so did they charge her up-front for the entire stay? She replies she has and they did, obviously just trying to get me to shut-up or leave. In summary, it worked out OK (I got charged, we stayed, we checked out), but I would like the staff to be able to offer a better explanation of this odd policy to guests who inquire.

In conclusion:
- We really liked the location and the pool, and for these reasons might consider staying her again, but probably not as we just require a bit more cleanliness for our family.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SethE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    31
    22
    32
See reviews for
34
41
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

What a dumpy place! The pillows were tiny and they smelled of head-sweat, YUK!
There were several stains around the bedspread and carpet...as well as having some areas of the bathroom dirty.

The staff were very incompetant...informing us of a upgrade then giving us a room in a crappy location, with the door even open before we went inside...in the dark!!

DO NOT waste your money here...go somewhere else!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shellgirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Townsend hotels

Silverdale, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

I stayed at this hotel a couple years ago and things have greatly improved since then. They have different furniture and I was told mattresses have been replaced also. In general the place is older, but clean. Price was really good compared to others in town.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank littleblackcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2011

The view from the second floor is a very nice to look out and see the water. It was a nice quite stay for me and my teenagers who had a great time in the pool. It was nice to have the continental breakfast in the morning my kids enjoyed having cereal and muffins.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank dolphingirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

Dirty carpet, skimpy towels, funny odors, tiny soap, minimal breakfast, hot tub out of order. Otherwise, just another downmarket motel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwojor67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

I was in Port Townsend on business last weekend. I checked into this motel and was very disenchanted. The hotel is sad and ran down. The rooms are dated in the 80's and equipped with a sliver of soap to shower with. The showers come equipped with "wall mounted" shower gel dispenser and that was empty. The sink vanity was rusted and the floors were dirty. The shower curtain was ripped and water got on the floor. The beds are squeaky as well as old and out dated. The walls are paper thin and there IS NO AIR CONDITIONING. We were there on an unusually hot weekend and there wern't even any fans available. The guests are less than ideal as well. It's more like a party spot for weekend travelers that stay up smoking all night. The smoke travels into the room and your up all night listening to the partiers drinking and smoking. They sit right outside their rooms by your window. The rooms were grossly overpriced as well at a rate of $169.00 per night. I would have been better off staying in a cardboard box under an airconditioner unit outside. I wouldn't have paid $40.00 to stay here.

This motel would be very quaint if the owners would spend a little money on remodeling. Great location though.

The positives are: close to the water, downtown and shops.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank photofunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

Despite the poor reviews, my family decided to stay at Port Townsend Inn mainly because they have a swimming pool (we have two little kids). The pool is a decent size and seems to be well kept. I would come back just because of the swimming pool as my kids could spend hours there. I heard from the front desk that the motel is undergoing major changes and it did seem apparent as our mattress and furniture were in great shape. I'm not sure about other rooms, but the room we stayed in were clean and well maintained. Continental breakfast included all the basics -- bagels, muffins, coffee, and even yogurt. Not a warm breakfast, but for a motel it was pretty good. At least my family was well fed.

The price may be a little high for a night at an Inn, but it seems to be the cheapest in the neighborhood. Considering the quality and price, I think the place is a good deal for a motel, especially if you would like a swimming pool for the kids.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Julie007610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
1.0 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#8 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.9 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aladdin Motor Inn
Aladdin Motor Inn
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Townsend Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Townsend Inn

Property: Port Townsend Inn
Address: 2020 Washington St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-6907
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Port Townsend Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Townsend Inn offers an indoor swimming pool and hot tub (the only one in Port Townsend!), free Wi-Fi, free Continental Breakfast, free parking, and wonderful views of the Olympic Mountains and Puget Sound. All rooms come fully equipped with a refrigerator, microwave oven, cable TV and telephone (free local calls!) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Port Townsend Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Townsend Hotel Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing