We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our search for the best B&B is over - The Commander's Beach House did it!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Commander's Beach House
Ranked #2 of 16 Port Townsend B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Our search for the best B&B is over - The Commander's Beach House did it!”
Reviewed November 9, 2009

The Commander's Beach House inn keepers Gail and Jim, owners and hosts extraordinaire, have created a B & B that provides all that we (or anyone else for that matter) could possibly wish for! From the moment we entered their charming doorway we knew that this would be a weekend of comfort and warm hospitality... and we were right! They always went above and beyond what is expected of hosts... Our room (Schooner Room) was lovely and the bed extremely comfortable. The breakfasts were spectacular with Gail, the chef, each morning outdoing herself and Jim, the waiter, adding charm, warmth and a wonderful sense of humour to our experience. We would never stay anywhere else when we go to Port Townsend!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cath_traveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    27
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
41
213
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2009

I've experienced many bed and breakfast accommodations but none can compare to the "Commander's Beach House". The lovely host and hostess, also known as the owners were outstanding in every way offering gourmet breakfasts and making recommendations to offer adventure, comfort and spice to our stay. My suite was very cozy with lovely decor and with a window facing the ocean! The shoreline was literally 50 feet away and with the window open I was lulled to sleep with the sound of waves. Port Townsend is a lovely place to visit and this B&B is an outstanding place to stay, don't miss it!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margee1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
2 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We were greeted upon arrival and welcomed to their house. After familiarizing us with the house, grounds and breakfast, we were provided with information on the area. Our room provided the best layout for 2 people traveling together, but wanting 2 beds. The room was very lovely, spotless and decorated to make you feel at home. The beds were great and the view from bed of the sun rising over the Cascade Mountains was beautiful. The house is located on the Admiralty Inlet and just a short walk to Port Townsend. We enjoyed watching many different boats(ships) make their way through the inlet. The house focuses on the water and the Cascade Mountains to the east. A welcoming living room, front porch along with comfy adirondack chairs outside makes it hard to leave. To top it off, the morning breakfasts were varied and wonderful, especially the service Jim.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GracieMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, England
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

The Commanders Beach house has the most amazing views of the Puget Sound and is situated in a quiet corner of Port Townsend, just a few yards from the Old Town. It could not be more convenient and the feeling is generally that of a pampered house guest rather than a paying visitor.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seagullsfanl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suquamish
2 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2009

My wife and I spent 2 nights for our 28th anniversary at the beach house. Gail and Jim have a fantastic place. It's the only B&B on the beach at Port Townsend, yet it's a 5 minute walk to town. The views are terrific and the rooms are first rate. Gail serves gourmet, health conscious breakfasts and Jim is a wonderful host. Both are very friendly and provide a friendly, relaxing place to unwind. They also know exactly what's happening in town and can help you plan whatever activities you decide to check out.

We went to the Farmers Market (great!) and walked out the the Fort Worden Light House. We also had dinner at T's restaurant on Friday night and at the Upstage where we caught a blues band show, on Saturday night.

Thanks to Jim and Gail for providing a big part of a great weekend.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKWhelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2009

My husband and I spend 2 nights in the 'Schooner Room,' and had a very good time. The house is close to everything, without being right in town. We very much enjoyed sitting on the porch to watch to seagulls, the sailboats, the waves, and the sky. The day would begin with an excellent breakfast served by Jim, our wonderful and good-humored 'hostess with the mostest. ' These gourmet breakfasts were prepared by his friendly and sweet wife, Gail. Once our tummies were full we were free to explore beautiful Port Townsend...we hiked around Fort Worden, and spend hours just exploring the downtown and the various neighborhoods in the area. We enjoyed the architecture of Port Townsend. Our favorite meal was at the Banana Leaf Thai Bistro just a few blocks from the Commander's. I do not, however, recommend the famous ice-cream shop Elevated Ice Cream on Water Street. I consider myself a connoisseur of ice-cream and I was very disappointed with the vanilla. Plus, it's very expensive. I do, however, give my highest recommendation to stay at the Commander's Beach House...you won't be disappointed!...it's a comfortable and fun place to spend a few days soaking up the beach and the ocean air!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BetsyinOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2009

Last weekend my wife and I spent in Port Townsend, WA at The Commander's Beach House B&B. If you're planning a visit to PT, I would highly recommend this place. Not only is the inn tastefully done, but the food is great and the owners two of the most fun innkeepers we've had the opportunity to stay with. We've stayed at dozens of inns up and down the west coast and this one rates right up there toward the top.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkfloyddude2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
2.0 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
313 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
49 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ravenscroft Inn
Ravenscroft Inn
#1 of 16 in Port Townsend
382 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fort Worden
Fort Worden
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
124 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#6 of 11 in Port Townsend
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commander's Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commander's Beach House

Property: The Commander's Beach House
Address: 400 Hudson St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5632
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Commander's Beach House is the only bed and breakfast that is located right on the water in downtown Port Townsend. You can walk on the beach to Fort Worden or easily stroll three blocks along the water front to all of the downtown shops and restaurants. Three of our rooms face the water and have private baths. Our fourth room faces the garden and has a shared bath located inside of the room. You can enjoy views of Admiralty Inlet, Mt. Baker, Whidbey Island, all of the boats and ships that go into Seattle, as well as vintage wooden schooners and yawls. Eagles, herons, otters and seals are frequently seen by our guests. A full sit down gourmet breakfast is served at individual tables or on our veranda, weather permitting. Come fall asleep lulled by the sounds of the sea and "relax and solve nothing"! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing