We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Commander's Beach House
Ranked #2 of 16 Port Townsend B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2014

My husband and I recently spent the weekend at the Commander's Beach House and had one of the most relaxing weekends ever. The house is right on the beach so I took a long beach walk the first morning. At night we opened our window (per Jim's suggestion) so that we could listen to the waves as we went to sleep. Jim and Gail are exceptionally welcoming, but not "in-your-face" innkeepers. Their historic house is comfortable and filled with art and lovely objects to look at. The breakfasts were absolutely wonderful, and the portion sizes were perfect. (Gail always asks if you had enough or would like more). I can't recommend their home enough.

Room Tip: We had the Island Room, which looks right out onto the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiggerandsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 338 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

This was our 3rd time at the Commanders Beach House and as always it was a very special weekend. We love the feel of this historic house on the ocean. The innkeepers (Jim and Gail) are super warm and welcoming. They make you feel so relaxed and comfortable from the moment you arrive. By itself this is a great place but their warmth and humour put this B and B over the top!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed at the Commander's Beach House and it was so pleasant. We had such a relaxing time. The breakfast in the morning was delightful, as well as the view. We will certainly be back soon. The dog that was there made it feel so homey.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Schooner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We had a wonderful experience at the Commanders Beach House. Gail can really cook. Breakfast was fantastic and such a warm and inviting livingroom to relax. The sound of the waves outside of our bedroom window put us right to sleep. Gail and Jim were very helpful with places to eat and visit during our stay. We would recommend Commanders Beach house if you really want to feel comfortable and at home. No worries!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank connie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

My business partner and I were in Port Townsend and stayed at the Commander's Beach House for the second time. Gail and Jim have created a comfortable atmosphere in this historic house. They are warm and engaging with many fabulous recommendations to make your visit pure pleasure. I will be back soon!
Thank you Gail and Jim!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BetsyAnnHeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We had a wonderful time at this precious bed and breakfast. Hummingbirds, rainbows, ocean, and kind company. I can't say enough. Port Townsend offers so many great shops and restaurants. Thank you to Jim and Gail! We will certainly come back soon!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Jim and Gail provided the perfect mini retreat for my wife and I last weekend. Can't say enough about the two of them, the house, the food and the great location right on the water. We will be returning for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nojbeets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
0.3 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
366 reviews
2 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ravenscroft Inn
Ravenscroft Inn
#1 of 16 in Port Townsend
413 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Gull Inn Bed & Breakfast
Blue Gull Inn Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 16 in Port Townsend
249 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#6 of 11 in Port Townsend
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commander's Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commander's Beach House

Address: 400 Hudson St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5632
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Port Townsend
Price Range: $135 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Commander's Beach House is the only bed and breakfast that is located right on the water in downtown Port Townsend. You can walk on the beach to Fort Worden or easily stroll three blocks along the water front to all of the downtown shops and restaurants. Three of our rooms face the water and have private baths. Our fourth room faces the garden and has a shared bath located inside of the room. You can enjoy views of Admiralty Inlet, Mt. Baker, Whidbey Island, all of the boats and ships that go into Seattle, as well as vintage wooden schooners and yawls. Eagles, herons, otters and seals are frequently seen by our guests. A full sit down gourmet breakfast is served at individual tables or on our veranda, weather permitting. Come fall asleep lulled by the sounds of the sea and "relax and solve nothing"! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing