We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Bliss”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Commander's Beach House
Ranked #2 of 16 Port Townsend B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maple Ridge District Municipality, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
“Absolute Bliss”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We just spent the last two nights at this amazing B&B. Gail and Jim are not only gracious, and wonderful hosts, they open their home and their hearts to those who enter . It is apparent that his more than a job, it is a passion. Gail creates these scrumptious breakfasts, and Jim, well, what can we say, he and my husband were kindred spirits, even though Rob is a crazy "Canadian" eh Jim ? LOL. We stayed in the Island View room and were awakened both mornings with sunsets over the ocean right outside our window. Life does not get any better. We were treated to the delights of Port Townsend and everywhere we went, we were greeted with warm smiles and welcoming kindness. We were blessed to share the B&B with a delightful young woman from Seattle and we look forward to seeing her on stage accepting her academy award for costume design. All we enjoyed this weekend, made our Thanksgiving one of true gratitude and thankfulness for all we enjoyed. You will not be disappointed with your stay at The Commanders Beach House. This was our 2nd visit and we are planning our 3rd, 4th, 5th, ...you get the hint. PS thanks for the wine ,a lovely gesture from Jim and Gail as repeat customers.
Rob and Sue

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue_Rob_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    26
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
40
209
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at the Commander's Beach House in the Schooner room. Jim, Gail and Cutter (the golden lab) were very friendly, making me feel right at home and at ease though I initially felt awkward staying at a B&B by myself. Gail's breakfasts were delicious and Jim made sure there was wine in the fridge for evening relaxation. The B&B is located in a prime spot on Point Hudson with fabulous beach and Mount Baker views and is still easy walking-distance to downtown Port Townsend shops and restaurants. Certainly the best of both worlds. Both the bedroom room and the bathroom were very clean and extra towels, blankets, pillows, etc were easily accessible. I will definitely be coming back again in the future!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We like to stay in B&Bs that have some history and personality. The Commander's Beach House definitely fits. It sits at the end of the road, right on the water. So peaceful to listen to the lapping of the waves.

We stayed in the Lighthouse Suite, which had wonderful views from all the windows. Something not mentioned on the website is that there is no door between the two rooms. This wasn't a problem for us, but is something to keep in mind if using the 2nd bedroom for a third person.

Gail and Jim were friendly and very hospitable. Cutter was just the 'doggie fix' we needed while away from our home. The breakfasts were really delicious with soufflés and home baked scones as an example.

As mentioned in other reviews, there is a smell of creosote in the downstairs rooms. It smelled stronger in some areas more than others. Our upstairs room seemed relatively scent free.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goathill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Commander's Beach House! Jim, Gail and Captain Cutter (the golden lab) could not have been more gracious. We enjoyed a glass of wine by the fire after a breezy walk on the beach (just steps from the front door), then retired to our cozy, immaculately-kept room. Breakfast the next day was delicious and the company was exceptional. It was a memorable experience and we are looking forward to going back again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We cannot say enough about the hospitality of the hosts, Gail and Jim. They could not have been more accommodating and friendly. The location is perfect. We were there in October, so we can only imagine how nice it would be to have breakfast on the front porch. However, sitting in the living room in front of the fire drinking coffee and looking out at the ocean was easy to take. This is the only B&B we have been to that provided an endless source of coffee and snacks throughout the day. Our room was immaculate and comfortable and we are really hoping to get back some day.

Room Tip: We had the room on the main floor which has a private bath. It is a little small, but has two big w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This waterfront B&B is wonderfully located to walk the shore, to walk to a variety of good restaurants and to visit the Wooden Boat Foundation. Jim serves Gail's delicious breakfast with grace and humor. The room was spacious and comfortable. We were there for a wedding and they graciously allowed the bride and bridesmaids to dress at the B &B. We have friends in Port Townsend but even if we didn't we would still recommend visiting Port Townsend, staying at the Commander's Beach House with Jim and Gail and enjoying Fort Worden, the views and the food.

Room Tip: We recommend the "lighthouse suite."
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I brought my Mom here to this lovely beach-birthday getaway in September 2012 & again this year. It comes to no surprise that the Commander's Beach House was voted "Best B & B in Jefferson County 2012" The atmosphere is relaxing & friendly & I always feel accommodated with the idea of feeling safe, since we are two women traveling together. Gail & Jim are intelligent and generous with thier energy. We grew up on the water back east which atomatically sets the mood of familiar-but are always delighted with such attention to details at the Commander's Beach House. A super place to stay, we will happily return !!

Room Tip: The Commander's Beach House website says it all with pictures & info. "book ahead since...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachcomber707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
0.3 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
339 reviews
2.0 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#8 of 11 in Port Townsend
300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
40 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ravenscroft Inn
Ravenscroft Inn
#1 of 16 in Port Townsend
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commander's Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commander's Beach House

Property: The Commander's Beach House
Address: 400 Hudson St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5632
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Commander's Beach House is the only bed and breakfast that is located right on the water in downtown Port Townsend. You can walk on the beach to Fort Worden or easily stroll three blocks along the water front to all of the downtown shops and restaurants. Three of our rooms face the water and have private baths. Our fourth room faces the garden and has a shared bath located inside of the room. You can enjoy views of Admiralty Inlet, Mt. Baker, Whidbey Island, all of the boats and ships that go into Seattle, as well as vintage wooden schooners and yawls. Eagles, herons, otters and seals are frequently seen by our guests. A full sit down gourmet breakfast is served at individual tables or on our veranda, weather permitting. Come fall asleep lulled by the sounds of the sea and "relax and solve nothing"! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing