We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience all around”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Commander's Beach House
Ranked #2 of 16 Port Townsend B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2012

When you stay at the Commander's Beach House you'll be treated like admiralty! It's a very laid back location and informal atmosphere. As the name suggests, you sit right on the beach watching a variety of ships pass by-- from Naval cruisers to sailboats. Plenty of shore birds and other wildlife to enjoy too. The B&B is conveniently located to many local sites as well. Jim and Gail were excellent hosts, and as they often do during the summer, they invited us to join them in a fresh crab dinner. We'll definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 338 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

Five women went to the beach and were met by Jim and Captain Cutter. It was a cloudy day (even though it was July) and the house was filled with the scent of cooking chili. Our hosts were there to help but never in our way. We laughed and laughed. We laughed in the cozy living room in front of the fire. We laughed on the beach chairs looking at the sail boats and ferries. We laughed at the table eating the wonderful breakfasts. And we laughed in our lovely bedrooms. We had a wonderful time thanks to our hosts Jim and Gail and of course Captain Cutter.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Becky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

A beautifully decorated, immaculately maintained B&B right on the beach. The view is spectacular and so is the hospitality of the hosts, Jim and Gail. This was my second visit and I plan on returning.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We loved our stay at the Commander's Beach House. We felt so welcomed and right at home from the moment we entered the B & B; Jim and Gail are very gracious hosts. The gourmet breakfasts were delicious! We had a special treat one night of a fresh crab leg dinner prepared by Gail and served on the lawn facing the water - it was definitely a highlight of our visit. The location so close to the water is so soothing and relaxing. We will definitely return to The Commander's Beach House.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

If you are looking for a B&B on the beach...with east coast charm and a west coast layed back attitude, this is it.

The Cape Cod home is comfortable, well taken care of, and in a great location, right on the water in Port Townsend, Wa.

We stayed in the Lighthouse Suite which, as the name suggests, has a view of the Point Wilson lighthouse..and the water with ships of all sizes going by day and night.

The outside porch and lawn are perfect for sitting and passing the time. The breakfasts are very good. And your hosts, Jim and Gail make you feel at home...

If you want glitz, this is NOT for you. If you are looking for a laidback place to relax, it's perfect.

We'll definatly be coming back.

Bill & Elaine

Room Tip: Our room, the Lighthouse suite had a wonderful View..and windows that open so you can listen to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Just steps from the water, the soothing sound of waves lapping the shore, fresh sea air and the most sincerely congenial hosts, Gail and Jim. We've stayed in many different bed and breakfasts and for us, it always comes down to the hosts. This was our second visit and the ambiance is one of "welcome to our home we're so glad you're here". Relaxed and unpretentious. From the bedrooms, living and dining room, back porch and lawn an ever changing view of sail boats, cruise ships, coast guard and military vessels parade by. The breakfasts are artfully presented using what's in season. Fresh crab or salmon in a frittata, zucchini hot cakes, fresh fruit artfully arranged, homemade muffin, scone or bread and some of the tastiest breakfast meats with a dollop of chutney or marmalade. Also fresh, hot coffee and lots of it...with real cream. If you are there when the crab is in season, Jim goes out in his boat, checks the crab traps, brings it home, steams it and for a reasonable price we sat on the back porch and had all the fresh crab we could eat for dinner. The best venue in town! We didn't need our car during our stay. Charming downtown Port Townsend and all it has to offer is a couple blocks away. The beach is walkable to Fort Ward and the lighthouse to the North and beachfront restaurants to the South. We look forward to returning in the winter months and enjoying the fireplace while watching storms roll by.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Jim and Gayle are endearing hosts as they truly enjoy what they are doing to please the public. They are both congenial and sincere. The location again is interesting in that you have this glorious view of the water and water traffic but the RV Park next to it seems out of place as well as the adjacent lot which houses a port o' potty and tables and people in trailers. The house is quaint with it's own history and charm. I love a home which welcomes you with fresh scents, such as clean air and cookies baking in the kitchen. Sadly this was not what we got when we walked in the front door. The home has huge overtones of potpouri and wick sticks everywhere, making the old home smell not better but offensive. I know the house is clean on a regular basis but getting rid of the wreaths, dry bouquets and much of the unorganized clutter would make it so much more comfortable. It could just be a personal preference but would help perk up it's age. The breakfast was satisfactory but other comments sounded like we would be eating gourmet foods. We had a very small portion of 1 sliced strawberry and 3 small slices of watermelon for starters with yogurt. Our main meal was 6 slices of turkey sausage, a 3" ramekin of egg soufle' with a costco bought sauce and a cherry scone. Coffee and end of meal. There were very nice patrons to visit with and a long chat with Jim, who made the time to make us feel like we were not paying guests but friends in his home. Thanks Jim and Gayle we unwound just like we needed. BTY Cutter is truly a well behaved member of the family.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Travelers43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
0.3 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
366 reviews
2 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ravenscroft Inn
Ravenscroft Inn
#1 of 16 in Port Townsend
414 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Gull Inn Bed & Breakfast
Blue Gull Inn Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 16 in Port Townsend
249 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#6 of 11 in Port Townsend
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commander's Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commander's Beach House

Address: 400 Hudson St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5632
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Port Townsend
Price Range: $135 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Commander's Beach House is the only bed and breakfast that is located right on the water in downtown Port Townsend. You can walk on the beach to Fort Worden or easily stroll three blocks along the water front to all of the downtown shops and restaurants. Three of our rooms face the water and have private baths. Our fourth room faces the garden and has a shared bath located inside of the room. You can enjoy views of Admiralty Inlet, Mt. Baker, Whidbey Island, all of the boats and ships that go into Seattle, as well as vintage wooden schooners and yawls. Eagles, herons, otters and seals are frequently seen by our guests. A full sit down gourmet breakfast is served at individual tables or on our veranda, weather permitting. Come fall asleep lulled by the sounds of the sea and "relax and solve nothing"! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing