We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refined Dining in Downtown Port Townsend!”

Alchemy Bistro and Wine Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: French, Spanish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Refined Dining in Downtown Port Townsend!”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We live in Port Townsend and are privileged to enjoy the unusually good restaurants we have for such a small town. Alchemy is one of just a very few that fills a particular niche - fine dining in quiet elegant surroundings. Our Monday night dinner before a movie at The Rose was accompanied by an excellent classical guitar player. Of course the food was good, but worthy of special mention was the fact that the service was professional and the restaurant was quiet - none of the clatter or dishes or staff exclamations that typifies many of our otherwise good restaurants. As an extra - the 4 - 6pm "happy hour" offers a selection of good $5.00 cocktails and interesting wines.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank HenryW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    138
    49
    28
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Townsend, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Right up there!”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We had a "dinner" at Alchemy on the bar side a couple of months ago after a performance at Fort Worden. While we walked in before closing, it was obvious they weren't thrilled we were there so close to their going home. Food was only passable that night. After hearing several locals talk about how good the food was, we tried them again. This time we were seated in the dining room and had a very good service person. She made the experience quite enjoyable. Appetizer & entrees were wonderful as was the wine. Husband's dessert was also but mine wasn't quite up to speed (flourless chocolate cake). We discussed how we might have a new favorite non-Asian restaurant in town but I'd say it's still in a close race with Fountain Cafe right down the block.

Very happy to say that this is a wonderful dining experience to add to Port Townsend's stable.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ReadyToGoAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good dining experience”
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We had the duck breast and lamb shanks. Both were delicious. The lamb was done perfectly with the meat moist, yet falling easily off the bone. Nice selection of wines.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SeaCatSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Absolutely beautiful and imaginative food. The chef adapted the mushroom gnocchi dish to make it suitable for a vegetarian by replacing the sauce which was very much appreciated as it was one of the nicest dishes that I have ever tasted. For carnivores/omnivores the lamb kebab was excellent. The food did take some time to be served but it was obviously freshly prepared and cooked - good things are worth waiting for. The service was freindly and extra bread was offered. If you visit Port Townsend be sure to visit this restaurant!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank citag123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, service and ambiance - Highly recommend”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I've seen mixed reviews on the Alchemy, but our service was spectacular, the food to die for and even the iced tea was some of the best I've ever had. The mushroom appetizer was all the waitress said it would be and more. The atmosphere was charming, the tables not too crowded together and the noise level was very quiet even though nearly every table was full, including a table of 10 nearby. Next time I'm in PT, I will certainly o back.

A bonus for me - the bathroom was very clean and well stocked. If the bathroom is dirty for patrons, it's also dirty for employees!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TrvlTheWorld2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alchemy Bistro and Wine Bar also viewed

 
Port Townsend, WA
 

Been to Alchemy Bistro and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing