We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chevy Chase Beach Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
201 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed two nights in the Meadow cabin and wished we had booked a third. The cabin was comfortable and immaculate and came with everything we needed and a few things more, such as binoculars to look at the ducks on the pond. (We saw 8 species). It's a great getaway, very quiet, a wonderful place to read, paint, write, and enjoy the simplicity of not having to do anything other than relax.

We're looking forward to returning.

And it's pet friendly! Our small doing appreciated the bag of biscuits made in Port Townsend.

Room Tip: We stayed in the meadow Cabin . It's the only one not on the bay side, b ut we liked it very mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bap2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChevyChaseBeachCabin, Manager at Chevy Chase Beach Cabins, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post a reveiw about the Meadow House! It is indeed a bird lover's paradise - we have had some serious bird watchers count species around the pond there and we were blown away! We are lucky to host a handful of Trumpeter Swans in the late-Winter every year which is SUCH a treat. Happy that you had the peace and quiet you needed to recharge your batteries, and love to hear that your little poodle enjoyed the locally made dog treats. We hope to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
53
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This was our second time staying in Cabin 10 at Chevy Chase Beach Cabins and it did not disappoint. The cabin is a perfect weekend getaway from the busy pace of Seattle. The video library is rich with movies to while a way a rainy afternoon. When the sun comes out the view is incredible. The location is great for visiting Port Townsend and a good launching pad to the Peninsula.
Chevy Chase Beach Cabins are very dog friendly. The first time we visited we brought our Golden and he had a blast running on the beach.
We will definitely come back

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kland33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChevyChaseBeachCabin, Manager at Chevy Chase Beach Cabins, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
We are so happy to hear that Cabin #10 was the perfect spot for your birthday getaway! Glad you were able to take advantage of the DVD library (though it sounds like that means it rained on you...). We'd love to have you back the next time you need a break from city life - a few deep breaths on our beach and some view-gazing truly helps to hit that reset button. Thanks for taking the time to post a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
122 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Tranquil, private retreat. We stayed in Homestead this visit with kids. We all enjoyed having our own space. The kitchen was perfect for cooking meals on a rainy holiday weekend. We especially love how clean and comfortable the cabins are.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Seattle_Wine_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChevyChaseBeachCabin, Manager at Chevy Chase Beach Cabins, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
We hope it is the beginning of a family tradition as well! We are happy to hear that the Homestead House gave you the space you needed to enjoy some rest and relaxation during that WET holiday weekend. The only bonus of the torrential downpours is that you don't really have to DO anything aside from enjoying the warm respite of a cozy cabin. See you in June! Fingers crossed for sunshine...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Port Townsend has been my favorite getaway for a decade; relaxing with good restaurants and miles of hiking and places to explore. My wife is constantly looking for better ways to include Archie, our Australian Cattle Dog in everything, so when she found Chevy Chase, with it's own private beach and property you don't even have to leash your (well-behaved) dog on, at great rates for your own little house, our eyes popped.

We booked three nights in cabin 4, one of the two smallest cabins. The staff set us up with sheets to cover the bed and chair, since Archie is used to getting up on everything. As a lesbian couple, we felt extra welcome when we noticed the number of LGBT movies in the ample selection of DVDs available to borrow out of the main office. If it's too cold to leave your cabin to grab a new title, never fear, every cabin is equipped with wi-fi. Did I mention how cute our cabin was? Looking at the pictures on the website I was concerned it might feel cramped, but the use of space was thoughtful, and everything felt comfortable and well-proportioned.

Next time we stay we'll probably bump up to the next size, while we made great use of the microwave, coffee maker and hot pot, we would have enjoyed having access to a full kitchen. Plus, even though we took our shoes off at the door and wiped Arch's paws every time we came in, the November mud followed. The cabin came equipped with broom and dustpan, which I /almost/ used.

Scout, the resident dog is getting a little grouchy in her older years, but only seems to roam the property between the hours of 10-5-ish. If you bring your pooch, I'd suggest keeping him/her leashed during these hours until you can watch an interaction with Scout, and make sure things go smoothly. We wouldn't let Archie off leash around Scout, but he's young, rambunctious and rude, and calmer or smaller dogs may be just fine with her.

My wife just called earlier today, suggesting we go back for Spring Break. Hope we can make it.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong. I'd keep my eyes open for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChevyChaseBeachCabin, Manager at Chevy Chase Beach Cabins, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
We are honored to be considered your new Port Townsend "home away from home!" We love hearing that Cabin #7 was a good fit for your little family - though they are small, the studio cottages #7 and #10 are pretty well equipped even though they are the only cabins that lack kitchens. Cabin #4 is pretty spectacular though, so my guess is that if you upgrade next time there will be no going back!...(The King bed! The bluff views! The full kitchen! The deck!)
Sorry to hear that you were concerned about Scout. She is often out and about on the property when Jeff is working outside, and might give a cranky bark to announce that she is in charge, but she mostly keeps to herself. We'd love to help facilitate an introduction with Archie next time to make you more comfortable.
Hope to see you this Spring! Thanks again for your thoughtful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duvall, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I LOVE Chevy Chase! Visit about 3-4/year or whenever we can swing it. My dog, Charlie, starts whimpering right when we get off the ferry because he knows where we are heading :-) (A BIG plus is that Chevy is super dog friendly!!) So close to Seattle area but yet so far away in most other respects. This is the most relaxing, peaceful and restful destination ever! Not that we just lounge around.. (but we do our fair share!).. because you can do as much.. or as little.. as you want! Hard to lounge too much as Charlie races to greet Scout (the resident dog), and they run into circles playing and catching up.Then its down to the beach.. via the cute little bridge and trail, just a stones throw away. What a beach! We walk for miles! The pristine view, the eagles, the sunset. All the stresses of life evaporate. Then its back to the Clubhouse (where we usually stay) with its amazing amenities- everything you could want! The quaint, immaculate interiors with fireplace, comfy beds and sofas (with special sheet for the dog so he can relax next to me while I read a book), wifi (if you feel the need to get connected), fully equiped kitchen and outside deck/BBQ.. Did I mention the view? Spectacular!
Pt. Townsend with its cute little shops and eateries is 10 min away. But why eat out when you can grill up some steaks and have a bottle of wine on the deck overlooking the gorgeous Discovery Bay?
Of course the people who run the place bend over backwards to make your stay all that it can be... and more! Chevy Chase is a rare find and books up fast in the summer (esp with the heated pool, tetherball, and charming old tennis courts). Lots of hiking nearby on the Larry Scott trail that can take you all the way in to Pt. Townsend.
OK.. I think I need to go book another stay now. (Easy to do on line as well.. )
Enjoy this amazing get-away. Once you go there, I promise you will return!

Room Tip: All cabins are different. Check out the amenities of each on the web page. Cabin 4 is pretty spectac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChevyChaseBeachCabin, Manager at Chevy Chase Beach Cabins, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for all of the incredible feedback. A big part of why we love doing what we do is because of YOU - our loyal returning guests. We know that there are so many wonderful places to get away from it all, and we are continually grateful that so many people choose to return here season after season, year after year. Scout always looks forward to Charlie's visits, and we so look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed in the Club House and really loved it. Enjoyed cooking our meals on the grill and in the well stocked kitchen. Reading and hanging out in front of the fireplace, at the big table or out on the deck enjoying the great view. On the sunny days, we enjoyed the warm pool and the grounds. So much room to run around and play. It is great to find a clean and beautiful place to stay that welcomes dogs. Also, they were the most gracious hosts. The resident dog Scout was a favorite as well. Had a relaxing and fun 4 nights and look forward to coming back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the club house which was perfect for us and our kid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin_olson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevyporttownsend, Manager at Chevy Chase Beach Cabins, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Yay! We are thrilled to hear that the Clubhouse was the perfect fit for your little family. Thanks for playing with Scout on the beach (what a great pic!) - she loves to adopt families with little kids. We hope to have you back in the future and are so thankful that you took the time to write such a lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at the Homestead House for five nights. It was perfect. The master bedroom and one bath is located downstairs, and two additional bedrooms and one bath are located upstairs. There is a fully stocked kitchen, so much so, that we did some of our own cooking. The interior is completely modern, comfortable, and spotless! It does not overlook the beach but has a beautiful yard with lots of flower gardens surrounded by a white picket fence. There are chairs and tables outside where it's great to sit and read a book, have a glass of wine, have a picnic, and just relax. A view of the beach is just steps away, and there is a short walk down to the beach, which is private and nice. We found many, many sand dollars!

This is a great place to stay. It's immaculate inside, there is plenty of room to spread out, and the owners are friendly and accessible. I do wish it had TV, though. We had brought DVDs from home, but our DVDs are for a wide-screen TV and didn't look too great on the small, older type of TV. We were told that the office had quite a selection of DVDs, but we didn't try any of them. Instead, we read and enjoyed the quiet of the cottage!

This is a great find! The reviews on TripAdvisor are accurate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkgates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevyporttownsend, Manager at Chevy Chase Beach Cabins, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind review and all the great pictures! We are so happy to hear that the Homestead House was a good fit for your family - it's great that you were able to relax and enjoy the property here in the midst of all of your adventuring! Hope you had a wonderful time in the San Jauns, and that your luggage made it home with less excitement than on your way here!
We so appreciate your sharing your Chevy Chase experience with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Townsend
4.4 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#8 of 11 in Port Townsend
299 reviews
6.1 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
260 reviews
6.0 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Resort at Port Ludlow
The Resort at Port Ludlow
#1 of 1 in Port Ludlow
536 reviews
6.7 mi away
Fort Worden
Fort Worden
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
107 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ravenscroft Inn
Ravenscroft Inn
#1 of 16 in Port Townsend
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chevy Chase Beach Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chevy Chase Beach Cabins

Property: Chevy Chase Beach Cabins
Address: 3710 S Discovery Rd, Port Townsend, WA 98368-9014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chevy Chase Beach Cabins is a historic and charming getaway on the bluffs of Discovery Bay. Just 10 minutes from downtown Port Townsend, WA the seven well-appointed vacation cottages are available for rent year round. Six of the cottages are clustered together on the main property with sweeping views of Discovery Bay and the Olympic Mountains. The seventh cabin sits across the street providing exclusive privacy, excellent for bird watching, facing an idyllic pond and pasture. The property is beautifully landscaped, the cabins are tastefully decorated and our beds are super comfy. Four of the cabins have cozy fireplaces. There is private beach access perfect for long walks, picnics, clamming and bonfires. There is a heated pool (seasonal), rustic tennis court, swings, basketball hoop and assorted games (croquet, bocce ball, shuffleboard, tetherball, horseshoes, etc.) along with a huge DVD library and wireless internet. The property also sits across the street from Discovery Bay Golf Course, the oldest public golf course in Washington State. It is the perfect spot for couples, families, or large gatherings of friends. The rich history, warm hospitality and relaxed atmosphere at Chevy Chase Beach Cabins keep guests coming back year after year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chevy Chase Beach Cabins Hotel Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing