We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chevy Chase Beach Cabins
Nearby Hotels
Aladdin Motor Inn(Port Townsend)
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tides Inn(Port Townsend)
$157
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manresa Castle(Port Townsend)
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Harborside Inn(Port Townsend)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
$145
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fort Worden(Port Townsend)
$170
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bishop Victorian Hotel(Port Townsend)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swan Hotel(Port Townsend)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveler rating
124
5
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
124
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdiscovery bayprivate beachmeadow housethese cabinsdog towelscomfortable cabinbigger cabindogs loveoutdoor poolshort drive into towncooking facilitiesolympic mountainslittle slice of heavenfamily gatheringtwo twin bedsfull kitchenbottle of champagne
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 130 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Just returned from six nights in this special spot (Cabin 7). It's our third visit in 25 years... and hopefully we'll have many more. Can't think of a better place to escape the summer Palm Springs heat. Kudos to Barbara (and Joanna and crew) for creating a truly magical environment of pristine gardens and peaceful, rustic luxury. Every need was anticipated as evidenced by the well-stocked cabin (even coffee, filters and cream on hand!). Our dog loved the open lawn and long unspoiled beach... which we had entirely to ourselves most times. It's amazing that this property has been owned and maintained by only two families since the late 1800's... check out the turn-of-the century guestbook in the lobby!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeithChris906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevyporttownsend, Manager at Chevy Chase Beach Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

And we love it that you made it back after so many years! A lot has changed in 25 years (obviously) but so much of that same casual, rustic charm still permeates the property. Thank for sharing your experience and memories...we look forward to many more years of visits!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The entire experience of the cabins started great right away. I called to make reservations and the girl was so helpful to assist us in choosing the right cabin for our family of 5. I really appreciated that. When we arrived for a two night stay, there was only one other cabin booked, so we had the entire place to ourselves it seemed like! Our cabin was gorgeous, had a great view, was super comfy to relax in, and had such great little touches like flavored teas, i-pod docking station/radio, books, even two eggs in the fridge! Our family of 5 slept great, beds were comfortable and clean. Easy and pretty walk down to the private beach where we enjoyed the company of the resident, Scout, when she was available. Our girls just adored her!!! They also enjoyed the tree swing in the main yard!
The main town of Port Townsend is a very short drive away, where we purchased some great food at the local Co-Op to prepare a little dinner.
We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maui28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevyporttownsend, Manager at Chevy Chase Beach Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Thanks so much for your great review! Scout is definitely a highlight for many families...if she gets the vibe that you want to play, she will be at your doorstep ready for beach trips and ball tosses! I'm so glad that the Clubhouse was the right fit for your family for your daughter's birthday weekend- we look forward to having you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Our family of 2 grandparents, 4 adult children, 5 grandchildren and 4 dogs stayed here for 2 nights and rented 4 cabins. It is on a high bank next to Discovery Bay with a trail to a mostly sandy saltwater lovely beach. One tennis court and a swimming pool is included. The main building/ office is a very large elegant old mansion type building. The grounds are full of flowers, plants and and a golf course type huge lawn. All the grounds and cabins (inside and out) are immaculately maintained and in excellent condition. It is not a "fancy, high end" resort but beautiful, peaceful and in totally pristine condition. The large club cabin has 2 Br, a huge dining and LR space, full kitchen and gas FP. We had an absolutely wonderful time in this beautiful resort.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curtis c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevyporttownsend, Manager at Chevy Chase Beach Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

We are so happy that our property met your needs for a family gathering! The nature of the clustered cabins makes the cabins pretty ideal for groups. The Clubhouse is indeed the best spot to use as a home-base for cooking, cocktailing and dining. Hope the dogs had a blast on the beach! Thanks for taking the time to share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Cabins were charming. Easy walk to the coastline which we had to ourselves.

Resort grounds featured spectacular landscaping and views. Cabins were spotless, and well equipped. We will be back!

Much more peace and privacy than a hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AB166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevyporttownsend, Manager at Chevy Chase Beach Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Thanks so much! Glad you were able to find everything you needed in your cottage, and appreciative that you noticed all the hard work Barbara puts in to the beautiful landscaping. Hope we have a chance to host you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We had an unexpected quick trip up to Port Townsend so after reviewing a variety of lodging options I opted for the Chevy Chase Beach Cabins and reserved Cabin #10. The directions they gave me were spot on and I was absolutely delighted when I pulled up and saw the place :) The main house is an absolutely beautiful tribute to homes built by wealthy homesteaders in the late 1800's. We were greeted by Scout, the very friendly resident dog (and I was sure I saw his teeth when he smiled). Our cabin was perfect, spotless, designed for comfort and relaxation. The windows were open letting in the light and through the windows it was just a beautiful setting. It is a 10 second walk to the water's view and what a spectacular sight it is....I walked back to the cabin, wrapped up in the blanket and set out on our deck in the adirondack chair with a good book I found in the cabin. There is plenty of hot water to fill up the old clawfoot tub and plenty of tea choices to enjoy when you unwind.

Based on the information on their website I would say they definitely underplay just what a special place this is. We have another trip coming up in a few weeks and I don't plan on staying anywhere else....in fact, I will choose my trip dates around their availability. It is a short drive into Port Townsend, but it is just far enough out of town that you can truly enjoy the beauty of the area uninterrupted.

Room Tip: Any cabin or house on this property is a perfect 10!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Demogirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevyporttownsend, Manager at Chevy Chase Beach Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Thanks so much for the glowing review! It is definitely hard to capture the magic of this property through pictures on the website...and we LOVE it when guests have their expectations exceeded! There is nothing worse than seeing beautiful photos of a getaway spot, only to arrive and find that the pictures were dated and the space had gone downhill (we've all had that happen before!). We look forward to having you back next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews