We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice views, but scary!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Waterstreet Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Reviewed April 29, 2007

My boyfriend and I booked the third floor room with a view of the water. The view was amazing- we had a ‘private’ balcony that ran the width of the building and large windows on two sides of the large room. The highlight was sitting on the balcony in the swing and watching the boats, birds and ferry. The room also has a gas stove for heat which was also a big plus.

The furnishings were sadly on the shabbier side of shabby chic- it looks like garage sale leftovers supplied most of the pieces.

The noise complaints are valid and fall into two categories- Harley bikes revving their engines in the street by the inn and the patrons from the restaurant below.

The alarming thing that happened on our stay is that at about 2:00 in the morning, as we were sitting up in bed looking out onto our private balcony at enjoying the view of the water under moonlight (door was open since it was our ‘private’ balcony) a man crept by outside our door! He then came back into view of the door and actually stuck his head into the room, apparently not realizing that we were awake. My boyfriend yelled at him (while I was screaming in fear) to leave and that he shouldn’t be out there. The guy took off, but it really startled us and made us realize that he had likely been planning on robbing a couple of tourists. The balcony is posted ‘private’, but from what we could tell he managed to get up the fire escape or enter from the floor below us- really creepy.

Don’t stay here. The staff are very nice (we really liked the front desk lady), but you would be better off spending more money for something more upscale and safe.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank JessicaInSeattleWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 129 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2006

My Husband and I stayed in one of the large suites on the 3rd floor of this Wonderful, old, hotel. We found the climb up 3 flights of stairs a bit daunting, but, worth it once we arrived in our VERY spacious room with a nice kitchen and the most extraordinary view!!

The king-sized bed we used (there were two extra beds) was very comfortable, the room was quiet, lots of sunshine and windows! Our private deck was HUGE! (Room 15) There was a porch swing where we had our morning coffee and could enjoy panoramic views of the harbor and all it's activities. Bring field glasses! One morning we saw a Mama Racoon with her babies feasting on Octopus!
The drawbacks, besides the stairs were the lack of parking and the small sink in the bathroom. Overall, the view and the charm of this lovely room more than made up for them. Everyone was friendly and helpful and we will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Liallia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2006

We stayed in the two room suite of this old hotel on January 30th, 2006. It did not bother us to walk three long flights of stairs to the generous sized rooms, but the rooms were unheated. You could fit a paperback in the gap between the window and the wall and the wind blew threw it all night. When we tried to locate someone to explane where the heat was going to come from, no one was available. We spent the night under every blanket we could find, with the burners on the stove going full blast. The next day the daughter in law of the owner, who was out of town, told us the thermostat in our room operated the heat in the adjoining room. She said she would bring in heaters for us that day. When we returned we found two heaters the size of small toasters. It was not the AAA aproved hotel we expected.

16  Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2005

Yes, we agree - the Waterstreet is noisy! The music from the downstairs bar shook our room till 2 AM. Not surprisingly, we were exhausted all of the following day. We won't stay again. And no, we are not old!

  • Stayed: September 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SharonSilverdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
27
Reviewed August 18, 2004

Wife & I love the Waterstreet Hotel, we've stayed in several rooms by ourselves (the back waterview rooms are awesome!) and have shared the large multiple bed room with our kids when we go there to kayak. The staff are great, very friendly, and there is enough original "funk" to make it charming. As for the downstairs pub, we've frequented it and had great times there as well...noisy? Your too old!

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
oregon
13
Reviewed August 8, 2004

I was rather surprised that for $238.00 (two nights) I had a room with a mish-mosh of old furniture and terrible tacky almost second hand fill ins. Not to mention that our curtains were ripped and dirty. Also, beware that there is a brew pub right below the hotel and it is NOISY. I will say that the staff was very kind though. We don't plan on staying here next time around.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Port Orchard, WA
13
Reviewed December 27, 2003

we have been staying aat the waterstreet hotel for many years, but will not be going back anytime soon, there is construction, and renovation of a old waterfront building right below the hotel, which starts their aircompressors promply at 7. a.m. T.v was not working correctly, and room was extrememly noisy, as the top floor suite has no carpet, which kept us awake half the night with the people above us walking around, the windows are drafty, and you no longer recieve a continental bfst voucher at the rose cafe across the street, the lady who does reservations is a lovely person, and very gracious, and has been there a number of years, she lives on the premises, maybe she can talk the owners into alittle sound proofing,

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
1.8 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
274 reviews
1.1 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
55 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#6 of 11 in Port Townsend
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterstreet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterstreet Hotel

Address: 635 Water St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5726
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing