We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food & great location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Sarape Mexican Restaurant

El Sarape Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 96 Restaurants in Port Townsend
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lakebay, Washington
Level Contributor
242 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good food & great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

The food was reasonably priced with large portions! Try the nachos! It's enough to feed 4 people! The side order of burrito is enough for 2 or one hungry man! The chips are warm and the salsa is good.
The service was a little slow and the restaurant was a little cold.

We would definately go back again! Check out restaurant.com for a coupon or the local paper for a coupon!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MAUREEN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    39
    14
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marrowstone Island, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Two times a try...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

What can I say... You want to love it as great location but from the canned salsa to ok food, I would rather go down the street to get real Mexican food...

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank gemokeeffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“New to port Townsend”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

I had El Sarape one afternoon for lunch with my niece. I am new to Port Townsend, and am really disappointed with the lack of good food in town, you have to drive pretty far for just about anything. This restaurant, however, was pretty good mexican food. We had eaten at a different one before this that was fair, but this was good food. I hear there is a better restaurant in port Hadlock, but this one will do for closeness. I doubt anything in this state is going to compare to what we have in California, though.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HeatherBryantGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better than the place on water street”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

The food is hot and service isnt too bad. It is sort of like they know what you were going to have to eat and bring it out right away. When they tell you the plate is hot, it is. I have never seen this place packed and I have been there lots of times on different days...it is a good place if you are downtown and want to eat mexican food...the corona's are cold though so that is a good thing

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank CECECAT2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ok if you don't know what Mexican food is”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

I went there after reading great reviews of the resturant. The food was ok the service was good but who the hell charges for soda refills. The food was ok not very authentic kinda like fast Mexican food. I did not care for port Townsend so I will not be going back to this resturant

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Saradeebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sarape Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 
Port Townsend, WA
Port Townsend, WA
 
Port Townsend, WA
 

Been to El Sarape Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing