We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best over all cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fountain Cafe

The Fountain Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $17
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best over all cuisine”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

whether you come for lunch or dinner or just plain dessert you will have the best of the very best
all fresh and organic ingredients with excellent choices of wine nothing but the best wines

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    122
    40
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Top notch”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The food was top notch. The service was excellent. It's a small restaurant with great atmosphere. The fountain came highly recommended by all the locals we talked to. We will definitely be returning to this restaurant when we come back to Port Townsend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ted508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Two words: almond chicken!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Ivebeen coming to the fountain off and on for years, it is one of my favorite places! Recently we were there in a very busy lunch and the place was really hopping, we got great service, fast and swift considering how busy they were. Iordered the warm salad as i always do and my husband ordered the almond chicken and I have to say it was truly one of the best things I've ever tasted! Whenever in Port Townsend do yourself a favor and go! The review nasty review I read was very mean and untrue in my opinion!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikoptgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gdod food, but a bit priicey”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Typical of most restaurants in Port Townsend, The Fountain Café is small. We went for a late lunch during the week and were the only ones in the restaurant. The service was good and the menu had a unique “New American” characteristic that most would find either pleasant or a bit strange. I had a salmon cake special on top of risotto which was a bit lacking in flavor but thankfully not over slated like so many places like to do. The clam chowder was good but not the best I’ve had, but the choice of several Port Townsend Brewing Company beers was a nice addition. In my opinion the prices were a bit much for the quality of food, but I would go back again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tratliff73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cute and Friendly”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The fountain cafe is tucked away on a back street just off of the main drag. What looks to be a whole in the wall was actually a cute high end cafe. The steak special was over the top and the gorgonzola pasta with walnuts and slow roasted tomatoes was excellent. The staff helped my husband and I both pair the wines well with our entrees. The only reason I decided on 4 stars instead on 5 was that it took quite awhile for the food to arrive.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stacey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fountain Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Fountain Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing