We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They have lowered their standards to attract the movie goers.”
Review of Silverwater Cafe

Silverwater Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: David and Alison have owned the Silverwater Cafe since its opening in 1989. They have built the restaurant on the idea that bringing people together to enjoy good food, good wine and great friends is one of the most important things in life; and the desire to be a thriving addition to this lovely community of Port Townsend that we call home.We believe in quality and strive to continually perfect our craft. We at the Silverwater Cafe invite you in for a moment of casual elegance where you can feel at home with your kids, family and friends.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“They have lowered their standards to attract the movie goers.”
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

We would come to Port Towsend just to have an excellent dinner at the Silverwater Cafe but not any more. They have the same staff and facility but they have lowered their standards to attract movie goers with two for one prices.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steven O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    177
    54
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sequim, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Still a gem”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We returned a year later and everything is still great. Super service and tasty food. Next time we won't wait so long.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Delicious!”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The food was fabulous. Good selections and dessert was fantastic. Be sure to make reservations or you risk sitting at the table under the stairs...

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Service can vary. Food wonderful.”
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Have been here several times and the service is uneven...even by the same person. Last time we weren't given water refills. Food has always been very good. Appetizers especially fine.The atmosphere is quite nice with real plants surrounding. Recently they have joined with the Rose theater to serve appetizers on the third floor during special film showings. The truffle oil french fries are excellent there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tenayaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pretentious and lacking”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I arrived at the cafe at almost 8:00 pm on a saturday night and were told to wait for the host by two of the servers, after about a 5 minute wait an arrogant fellow came over and said it would be about a 15 minute wait for a table and we should stay close. There was only a single chair in the crowded entry but we waited there and counted 6 vacant 4 seat tables set and ready to go. Finally after about 10 mins a 2 seat table was made up and we were seated there. We ordered dinner and drinks and were asked if we'd like bread and said yes, we would. Meanwhile a well dressed couple came in, were immediately seated at a 4 seat table and were served wine before even our drinks were served. I then received an old dried up piece of lime with no juice with my drink, and had to ask another waitress for a lime with some juice for my corona. I then noticed our waitress had already served the well dressed couple a basket of bread, we still had none. She ignored us while topping up their wine. I finally signalled the other waitress and asked for bread and she brought some right over, unfortunately it was immediately followed by our meals, it had taken so long. All in all, not impressed. It seemed like a down to earth place from the decor but the arrogant host and the neglectful server only seemed to cater to the obvious big spenders. Give this place a pass.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rockfamily68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silverwater Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Silverwater Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing