We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere”
Review of Silverwater Cafe

Silverwater Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: David and Alison have owned the Silverwater Cafe since its opening in 1989. They have built the restaurant on the idea that bringing people together to enjoy good food, good wine and great friends is one of the most important things in life; and the desire to be a thriving addition to this lovely community of Port Townsend that we call home.We believe in quality and strive to continually perfect our craft. We at the Silverwater Cafe invite you in for a moment of casual elegance where you can feel at home with your kids, family and friends.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I took my friend here for a birthday dinner. We love the interior, the atmosphere - it's cozy. The menu is interestingly varied, and they have specials. Unfortunately, what he wanted most, they ran out of, which they told us after he ordered. So he was a bit bummed.

It took a little extra time being served, but I will not mark the gal down for that, because it became clear she was tending bar AND trying to wait tables at the same time, and she was very polite for all her having to run around.

Food was nicely presented, tasty, and they stuck a candle in the (NUMMY) peach pie my friend got for dessert. Not too sweet, fresh, and not mushy. Would return, for sure.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    176
    53
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“THE BEST PEPPERED NEW YORK STEAK IN THE WORLD”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Great restaurant with a wonderful menu!! We tried the peppered steak and was so taken by it, we ordered the same thing the next night ( to go, this time, to take back to the Ravenscroft Inn)! The mushroom pepper sauce was to die for! Large 12 oz. steak, cooked PERFECTLY, with the best garlic mashed potatoes and fresh string beans!! We have had other peppered steaks in our life, and mostly were disappointed, and with apprehension ( because of other bad experiences ) we ordered...and we were rewarded with the most amazing steak in this world! We look forward to trying other things on the menu because the whole menu looked amazing. Thank you for the best steak in town!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Domonique D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
217 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Well Prepared Food, Great Service, Antique Atmosphere”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We came here at an off hour on a Sunday and got a great meal when other cafes were closed. The dining area is perhaps more suited for a fine lunch rather than dinner, but it is comfortable enough and interesting.
I got a crab melt and salad and was very please with what I got. She got fish and chips and they came out very well too. There were some other interesting menu offerings I had a hard time choosing between.
Because it was the middle of the afternoon, there were several servers waiting to attend to us at all times.
Balcony seating area would be a great place for a special event gathering.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulParks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Another good meal in PT”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

After picking friends up at the afternoon ferry in Port Angeles, we went on to Port Townsend for the evening. Dinner at the Silverwater Café was as good as ever and our friends raved about it! I had the l=Lemon Asparagus Risotto, two had the Dungeness Crab ravioli, and one had the New York Pepper Steak. They were all scrumptious. We were there mid-week, so had no trouble with reservations, and service was excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Candace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paso robles,ca
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was a fun surprise! It was so comfy inside.. loved the brick wall! We sat upstairs over looking the main dining room below.. It has a wonderful homey atmosphere! The staff is excellent! Very friendly and happy! Our meals were so yummy!! and the peach pie after dinner was the best!!!
Thank you!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovelovemydogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silverwater Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Silverwater Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing