We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food - and a busy place ---- for a reason”

Belmont Restaurant & Saloon
Ranked #32 of 96 Restaurants in Port Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
363 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Good food - and a busy place ---- for a reason”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

My experience with The Belmont started out rocky ....... and quickly smoothed out into a fantastic dining experience. I'd called The Belmont about 2 weeks before my arrival - to make a dinner reservation. I'd planned to dine there on the Thursday before Labor Day weekend, and suspected they might get busy. True to my suspicion, when I arrive the place was very busy - and they had no record of my reservation or request for a window table. The host seemed more than a bit frazzled. I began to expect the worst ...... but after a few minutes of patience all was resolved. I wound up with an ideal window table and a fantastic meal.

I highly recommend the crab-stuffed halibut - as well as the berry cobbler for dessert. If you have room for an after dinner drink, order a Hot Rocket.

I imagine this is one of the best places to dine in Port Townsend. The place was filled with large parties of local folks - getting ready to celebrate the Labor Day weekend.

My recommendation - make a reservation in advance ...... and reconfirm it a few days before your trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GareThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    73
    28
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
131 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Crab artichoke sandwich with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had been walking around Port Townsend all morning exploring the historic downtown district. With the many restaurants along Water St to choose from, we decided to enter this very old victorian restaurant & saloon. It took a while for us to be greeted, not sure why, probably because we had just come in as the busy lunch hour had ended.
Our waitress seated us at one of the tables by the window. The dining room was clean and bright, done in handsome looking wood floors, large windows, tables covered in white oilskin tablecloths, linen napkins and blue glass goblets. We had a fantastic view of Puget Sound from our table. We were the only patrons eating at the time. On the other hand the saloon sounded like happy hour had started early. Great atmosphere for a beautiful day on the waterfront.

After looking over the mouth watering menu we decided on the Crab Artichoke Sandwich, with dungeness crab, artichoke, onions & three cheeses baked on Italian panni bread ($9.95).
It came with a salad of greens, tomato, mushrooms, carrots & cucumbers served with raspberry bacon vinaigrette.
Our server, Ruth, was attentive & courteous, we felt pampered throughout the entire meal.
Once our open faced sandwiches arrived we enjoyed every last bite, warm and cheesy with diced tomato on top. We were left wanting to have just a little more of the crab and artichoke, that was such a delicious combination. No room for their famous mixed berry cobbler this time.
We'll be sure to come back, next time for dinner!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Deepwaterblue13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yachats, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

The wooden boat show was going on and we found this historic hotel with a wonderful out door restaurant. We had the best view of the harbor. We had a relaxing lunch (one of the best lunches EVER). The salmon wrapped in parchment paper was fantastic! Veggies on the bottom with a light sauce than a LARGE piece of fresh caught salmon was placed on top of the veggies! Big wine list with reasonable prices. The local beer on tap was a nice choice. The staff were attentive but not invasive. There was seating inside but why? Wished that we lived closer so we could go more often. It was not an over priced tourist trap. The food was all fresh and wonderful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jess w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Everything was perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stumbled on to the Belmont by accident! We were tickled by our luck!! Prices are astonishingly low for the high quality. Seafood was fresh and delicious! Even the side dishes were yummy. Our server, Shawn, went above and beyond. He was funny, charming and makes the perfect Manhattan. Did I mention the view? Glorious!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JCAdventures1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Stevens, Washington
Level Contributor
132 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great spot with outdoor dining, great food and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We came last year and had lunch on the outdoor deck, so we opted to do that again this year. Service was good, but a little off this year. Our server appeared to be just a bit overwhelmed, we came during the wooden boat festival so we are guessing they probably had just an enormous volume of people coming through. Food was great like last time. The deck has several tables and this year all but one had umbrellas, we opted for the umbrella. Views of the water are wonderful, you can see boats in the bay and the ferry travelling back and forth. Prices were still reasonable, about $10 for sandwiches with fries. Salads were $5 and up. We all had the Belmont salad ... the lobster bisque was very good also. It was another great experience for lunch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aksnt11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belmont Restaurant & Saloon also viewed

 
Port Townsend, WA
 

Been to Belmont Restaurant & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing