We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best moo shoo”

Shanghai Restaurant Port Townsend
Ranked #43 of 97 Restaurants in Port Townsend
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“best moo shoo”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

My mother and I loved the whole experience! From coming in the "wrong" door (if you come in the back door you end up walking through the family's dining room, no problem!) to the historic building, super friendly family service and then, oh! The moo shoo! The crepes and stir fry were brought to the table and assembled in from on us. Fresh and delicious.
Can't wait to visit again

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paula j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    15
    4
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rutland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ocean Front Asian Dining”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Don't be fooled by the understated exterior, the food, service and ambiance makes this a great place to visit. Family operated with lots of little extras that make the dining experience special. Love the hot wet towels at the end of the meal. Pricing is about as good as it gets in PT. Highly recommend!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RutlandTreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sisters, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We have our coach parked at Port Hudson and decided to cross the street and have lunch at the Shanghai. What a great decision that was. A very extensive menu plus specials. Hard to decide everything sounded so good. My husband had Sweet and Sour Ling Cod a lunch special which he raved about. Served with wonton soup, egg roll and fried wonton. I ordered the Shanghai Special Egg Foo Young, chicken, pork and shrimp. It was not on the lunch special but they were more then happy to serve it accompanied with the same side dishes as my husbands. I would order it again in a heart beat. Prices are extremely reasonable, servings large and service excellent. Very clean, nice decor and of course a fabulous view. We will defiantly eat there again before our trip is over.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Shanghai what a surprise”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Went with my girlfriend and a friend by pure chance and turnd out to be a pleasant surprise. Food was excellent presentation was out of this wourld price was more then fair. I always say is it a place you would take your mom or grandmother and this is without a doubt a yes.

Helpful?
Thank thoro68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
80 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fresh ingredients, nicely prepared”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were very satisfied with our moo shu pork and special sizzling salmon dishes. The vegetables seemed fresh and weren't overcooked. Flavors were on the mild side, but that allowed the taste of the vegetables and fresh fish to be in the foreground. Service was leisurely (par for Port Townsend) but efficient. Nice menu, augmented by about a dozen specials. Most dishes were in the $8-$10 range, with some (like our salmon dish) went for $14. These are the dinner prices. Many taking advantage of fresh local seafood. We found the atmosphere pleasant and peaceful. We'll definitely return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Art S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai Restaurant Port Townsend also viewed

 

Been to Shanghai Restaurant Port Townsend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing