We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too good to miss!”

Better Living Through Coffee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $8
Restaurant details
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Too good to miss!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stopped in on a whim to kill time before the next ferry. A 5-minute walk from the ferry terminal, this place is too good to miss! The atmosphere gives off a very local, shabby-chic vibe, but the tables and food service areas were nice and clean, as was the restroom. Definitely a "local" hangout, as the baristas and patrons seemed very familiar with eachother, but everyone was relaxed and friendly. The outdoor seating area appeared pet-friendly as well.

Ordered a vanilla latte and a cafe mocha, our regular beverages, and were blown away by the flavor and quality. Order your drinks "for here" and enjoy the great view of the harbor and ferry terminal as you wait. One of the best lattes I have ever had. Did not try the food, but the normal coffee-shop fare was available.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    68
    13
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A drabby little place”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Overlooking the bay, it has an unclean feel. The lattes were expensive for the quantity, the service poor, the ambience 'shabby hippy'. We weren't comfortable there and won't be back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank billybobgomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacey, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delightfully Quirky”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is the perfect drop-in on a drizzly day. Beautiful views and excellent coffee is really all one needs to pass an afternoon and this place provides both. Multiple options of coffee are brewed to order, multiple options of milk additives (2%, Almond, Rice, etc.) left everyone in our party quite happy. The staff are friendly and helpful, the clientele even more so. Very much enjoyed spending an hour here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharondipitous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best coffee in town”
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Hands down the Best coffee in town. They take a lot of time and consideration while making your drink of choice. Milk offerings are a wide selection. Each cup of black coffee is made singlely. We enjoyed our perfect coffees outside, on the beach directly infront of the shop, while our dog played on the beach.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrButton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Healthy treats and great portions in a cozy space”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The moment I walked in I felt relaxed, comfortable and pampered. Relaxed with the easygoing atmosphere, comfortable with my great view of the ocean and pampered with so many healthy options. They get so many of their ingredients from local farms and hold high standards for the food they serve. I ordered a salad with salmon and was blown away with how large the portion size turned out to be - it filled me up and was delicious, affordable and organic! You really can't ask for more when it comes down to eating out and knowing what your meal is made of. If you want gluten-free desserts - there is a whole plethora of cookie options that are gluten free and guilt free. No processed sugars or high fructose corn syrup in this joint. If you don't have a problem with gluten then definitely try the apple pie. It is one of the best apple pies I have ever had and once again - the portion size is huge so I suggest sharing with a friend. My sister and I split a piece and we always feel so good afterwards because while its an indulgence it leaves you feeling satisfied and not stuffed. The staff are willing to help and are ready to accommodate your diet with their menu options.
They truly believe that "Health is Wealth" and I think we all need to adopt the same mentality.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Better Living Through Coffee also viewed

 

Been to Better Living Through Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing