We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can Coffee Get Any More Love Than This”

Better Living Through Coffee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $8
Restaurant details
Mercer Island, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Can Coffee Get Any More Love Than This”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

In keeping with Townsend's attention to artistic detail, (tourist kitsch aside), this coffee house lives coffee culture. Set in a cozy, bohemian waterfront location, the organic, hand crafted, individually prepared drip coffee is so good it makes one forget all about espresso. Our party had a little spinach quiche which was very good but it is the coffee love that defines why this shop deserves an excellent rating..

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Delmerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    70
    13
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent coffee!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I popped into this coffee shop after enjoying a slice of pizza from waterfront pizza which is on the same block. My coffee was FANTASTIC. I also got a ginger cake which I enjoyed very much, but my wife found it to be much too spicy for her taste. She did also remark on the high quality of her espresso drink. This place may not be a convenient drive-thru chain, but it is worth the effort to find parking and stop in for a great cup of coffee.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tubasteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Everything a coffee shop should be”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We have been to this coffee shop on the water many times through the years and have found it consistently the best. The best locally roasted fair trade coffee, the best homemade pastries, soups and quiche. This trip I had their hot chocolate and fig/walnut pie. Heavenly! If you love organic, local, homemade, or just the best, this is the place for you. There are plenty of couches, tables and comfortable chairs to relax in while you enjoy the view while sipping the best coffee around.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelbumette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great coffee and great view”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Have been to this place several times in the past when living in P.T. The coffee is still excellent and prepared individually. Place is somewhat dingy, needs a thorough cleaning. But the view is fabulous and the barista is pleasant

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“The coffee was great and the view of the water even better”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Order a regular coffee, not a latte, au lait, etc., for the best flavor
Try the gingerbread
Go early
The view is over the top

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelersanonOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Better Living Through Coffee also viewed

 
Port Townsend, WA
 

Been to Better Living Through Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing