We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay 'away from it all'”
Review of Amber Lights B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amber Lights B & B
Ranked #5 of 16 Port Townsend B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Great place to stay 'away from it all'”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My wife and I had a lovely three-night stay at Amber Lights. Nancy and Bob were charming hosts, and made sure we had everything that we needed for a relaxing getaway. Breakfast was absolutely delicious each morning, beautifully served, and Nancy cheerfully insisted that we let her take care of clearing the dishes away. We enjoyed sitting on the back deck to read in the sunshine one afternoon, and the comfortable bedroom and spotless bathroom were better than a hotel. Nancy and Bob were eager to give us tips about town, and were happy to learn from us about the Marine Science Center, which we loved visiting. Definitely a great place to stay, just a short drive outside Port Townsend.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Gold Room, which was just off the living/dining room, and had windows facing the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraS055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
56
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We needed a 1 night stay over on our way back to Vancouver,BC and Bob and Nancy were one of the only hosts in Port Townsend who welcomed us. Most were only interested in minimum 2 night stays. That was the beginning of a very enjoyable stay at their home where every thing you could think of to accommodate your guests has been provided. Comfortable king size beds are a must so 5 stars for that. Clean, beautifully furnished and quiet for a perfect nights sleep plus a breakfast that was delicious made this a 5 star stay for us! Bob and Nancy were the perfect hosts. Chatted and visited but also gave you privacy. We would not hesitate to go back when we are in the area again.

Room Tip: All the rooms were excellent, each with their own bathroom. One was as nice as the other. We picked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was our first time staying at a B&B so we had no idea what to expect. Amber Lights is located less than 10 minutes outside of Port Townsend which I appreciated not being right in the middle of the town. The modern style building had a nice feel to it and sits back away from the highway in a clearing surrounded by tall trees. The sound of the occasional passing vehicle could be heard but it did not bother us at all. Inside the home had a nice up to date feel and is decorated with a flourish of nice touches. The living areas had lots of character form the Civil War themed chess set to the exquisite collection of eggs. The decent sized reading library would be great for anyone who wanted to just relax in one of the comfortable chairs, or to relax on the wood deck surrounded by trees and the sounds of birds.

We stayed in the Green room which is also ADA (Americans with Disabilities Act) approved. The room was comfortably furnished with an extremely comfortable bed and a small but efficiently designed bathroom. We slept with the windows open and enjoy listening to the sound of wind through the trees and even the occasional owl hooting.

The breakfasts were delicious and the added convenience of a Keurig coffee maker with an ample selection of coffee brews made for a delightful morning. Breakfasts are normally server at 8:30, but the proprietors made an exception for us as we were going whale watching and needed to eat a little earlier. Nancy and Bob were super friendly and accommodating, often engaging with us and making us feel like we were visiting a relative rather than staying in a B&B.

For our first B&B, amber Lights set an extremely high bar and it will be difficult to stay at another &B without comparing it to this little gem outside of Port Townsend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tratliff73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Incredible B&B. This is totally what you would expect for a family style stay. The owners loving care for every and latest detail. It is extremely clean and the decoration is warming that make you feel at home. The breakfast was excellent, prepared with care and fresh farmer market products. We had a home- made casserole, roasted potatoes, croissant and a cup of local fresh berries. In addition, they have plenty of information regarding the local entertainments, restaurants, maps, etc. that they shared with us. We strongly recommend this place.
7/26/2013 Laura & Alberto

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alferbla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here while visiting Port Townsend, Sequim, and Port Angeles and will definitely stay again. The bedrooms were very comfortable and clean, the breakfast was delicious, and the hosts were gracious and helpful. A real plus is how quiet and peaceful it is. We enjoyed our first morning cup of coffee observing a nice wooded area and meadow from the backyard deck. We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else when we visit the area again, and will recommend it highly to our friends!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
155 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We returned for 2 nights at this lovely B & B. When we first stayed there last year, it had just opened and was already very comfortable and ready for guests. Now it feels even more homey. Bob and Nancy have attended to every detail and the breakfasts are fabulous! Any time we come back to the Port Townsend area, this is where we will stay.

Room Tip: There are 3 equally lovely rooms. One is specially outfitted for persons with disabilities. All ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria_BCTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Amber Lights is located about 10 minutes outside of Port Townsend, nestled in a thick forest and surrounded during the day with hummingbirds and other local avian creatures. If you like to be away from the thick of things, this is a good option. Also, if I were the nice and accommodating proprietors, Nancy and Bob, I'd be touting their B&B anywhere I might catch the attention of anyone looking for accessibility. While most B&Bs I've stayed in have been older, multi-story structures, Amber Lights is a brand-new, one-story building with one ADA-compliant room. There is no strain to move about the rooms, living areas and adjoining outdoor areas.

My wife and I stayed two nights and breakfast both mornings was tasty and plentiful. Nancy and Bob seem careful to allow their guests their space, but are fun to talk to when engaged.

I've knocked some points off for a couple reasons: If you are a stickler for quiet and privacy or, let's say, a honeymooning couple, this may be a bit of a gamble for you. The one thing a multi-story B&B offers is pretty good isolation from other guests. At Amber Lights, the bedrooms are somewhat close together and directly adjoin a common living area that is outfitted with a huge flat-screen TV and Blu-Ray system. If you were staying with socially indifferent people (we were alone one night and were with great people the next), it could make for an uncomfortable situation. This, coupled with the fact that Nancy and Bob live on the other side of the house, gives the vibe of being someone's house guests, which of course is not an entirely negative thing. Just something to consider. I've stayed in single-story B&Bs in which the rooms were separated by hallways or intervening rooms (eg., kitchen, dining), or had their own "living areas."

Also, on the rare occasion that one might try sleeping in and skipping breakfast, it might be difficult here because kitchen sounds are fairly prominent in the morning.

The other quibble was that a water pump sat right outside our room, the Blue Room. So when a decent volume of water was being used by anyone on site (for, say, a shower), the pump kicks into service. Bob pointed this out when we checked in, but I for one didn't imagine it would be as disruptive as it was. Even my wife, who is a more sound sleeper than I, was jarred awake when the pump kicked on.

Hopefully, the last couple paragraphs don't come off as "deal-breaking" warnings. Trip Advisor only is as helpful as its users are honest and thorough (and not agenda-advancing). Overall, I had a positive stay at Amber Lights -- Nancy and Bob were great hosts; it just wasn't perfect.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, or adverse to noise, ask for a room away from the water pump.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Townsend
3.2 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#8 of 11 in Port Townsend
299 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
339 reviews
24.9 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
40 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ravenscroft Inn
Ravenscroft Inn
#1 of 16 in Port Townsend
365 reviews
4.4 mi away
Blue Gull Inn Bed & Breakfast
Blue Gull Inn Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 16 in Port Townsend
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Lights B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Lights B & B

Property: Amber Lights B & B
Address: 4042 Hastings Ave W, Port Townsend, WA 98368-9294
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amber Lights B & B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Amber Lights B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing