We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with style, atmosphere, history and personality”
Review of Manresa Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Manresa Castle
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Reviewed January 30, 2011

Stayed for the weekend, as part of a group of writers holding a retreat at the hotel. Staff was helpful, friendly and highly accommodating. The room was lovely - comfortable, clean and charming, with a view of the water. Food was wonderful and the bar has great drinks - including a very tasty "Creamsicle" with the juice of fresh squeezed oranges. If you're looking for a relaxing getaway in a place that's cozy, upscale unusual and historic all at once - this is it!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DawnG57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 324 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2011

What a totally fun experience...such a beautiful place to go! My husband and I chose to spend New Years Eve somewhere conveniently away and different. Had heard so many great things about the Manresa Castle so we had to check it out! From the first phone call to make the reservations with Cari to checking in when we arrived..to when we left ...Nothing but A1 accomodations and treatment from the staff...Cari, Ashley and Shannon.!! Hi guys..Love ya!!
We actually left the next day to go shopping in our favorite getaway town..Port Townsend (with another couple whom stayed at the castle with us) when by afternoon my husband and I decided to NOT leave and go home but rather we drove back to the castle and said, "We're BACK!!". We had so much with the friendliest down to earth staff to hearing the different haunting stories, actually getting a tour of the "creepy attic", to looking at all the cool pictures down all the hallways of a very very earlier time in Port Townsend history, to just having a quiet time in the beautiful dining areas experiencing some very delicious food and service!
We have told all of our friends and family about our amazing time...Now they all wanna go back with us! I am sure it will be very soon as we are already looking forward to it and planning on which room we wanna stay in next time and when! Cannot wait to see our new friends we made from our awesome stay there!! haha..see ya soon!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JodyG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2010

The pictures on their website was nothing like what the hotel looks like in person. The people at the front desk were rather rude and wouldn't help us with our luggage up to the 3rd floor with the use of their one elevator that they said over the phone that they would help. The lady behind the front desk was a very unpleasant person. I believe her name was carrie. The room we stayed in was not very clean, the mirror in our bathroom wasn't wiped down and there was toothpaste in the sink, hair on the floor and around the toilet. There was little black hairs on the sheets.It was very cold when we entered the room, the wall heater took a good 30 minutes to heat up. We went to the lounge and had a very nice time. The bartender Jimmy was a lot of fun with some great stories but I will never stay there again. It is a very old place and nice to visit but don't waste your money. Oh and in the little breakfast room for the continental breakfast was a joke. There was no fresh coffee, the milk and juice containers were almost empty and it wasn't very clean, with dirty dishes from other guests on the tables ect..... When I went up to the front desk to tell them there was no coffee the girl Ashley I think was her name didn't look too happy about having to leave the front desk to refill everything. The town itself is a very cute victorian port and would visit again but will not stay at the Manresa Castle again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosebret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2010

I would say if you are looking for a unique spot to travel with all the quaintness of a small town feel, this is it! You will feel as if you stepped back in time! The meals were very good, the service helpful and the scenery is amazing! We really loved our stay!
We plan to visit again!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aweeks81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

My wife and I have never stayed here before and was quite surprised and pleased with our stay. We reserve the oceanview with dinner, wine,2 cocktails, and breakfast as a package ($260).The value for the meals were worth it just alone. The food was excellent and the atmosphere was perfect. All employees were dressed up in costumes and more the accomidating to satisfy our needs. Would recommend this treasure to anyone.The walls are thin and the building is old so if you are a light sleeper it can appear to be a little loud.But well worth the experience.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longs25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2010

Trip with sisters and mom.... lovely room, the view was amazing!!! Lots of history in this building. Wonderful breakfast in the mornings...... loved our visit to your beautiful town. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmsessions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

The room was small and lacked character... a good concept but lacks detail to make it a pleasant experience. The closet reaked (very musty) so we did not use it.

The view is advertised as breathtaking. We paid extra for the ocean view and were disappointed to see a parking lot, overgrown grass and a lackluster view.

Some staff were knowledgeable. One staff in the lounge was particularly helpful and friendly. Others were quite unhelpful. Management is unresponsive.

There was a power outage in the morning so we awoke to no coffee or tea. We were told that there would be no breakfast and no arrangements for alternatives. There were no apologies made. We left early (and were offered packaged cereal, milk and a piece of fruit as we were leaving). Instead we drove into town for breakfast. We contacted the management about our experience but did not receive a reply.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonS181725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Townsend
1.8 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
365 reviews
1.9 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
271 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
301 reviews
13.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
8.7 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manresa Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manresa Castle

Address: 651 Cleveland St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-2940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range: $88 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manresa Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Manresa Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manresa Castle Port Townsend
Manresa Castle Hotel Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing