We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint. Inexpensive. Run down.”
Review of Manresa Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Manresa Castle
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Kansas City Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Quaint. Inexpensive. Run down.”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Like older places with character but more run down and maintenance needed than two years ago visit. drawer pulls to paint. Continental breakfast was Motel6 grade and both mornings they were out of coffee early. Housekeeping thin. Vacuuming would be nice. No bar.... restaurant.... lounge or snacks on our stat mon through wed. closed.

Helpful?
3 Thank TravelinGal16
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    88
    54
    36
    35
See reviews for
53
143
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here 4 times and it continues to go down a bit more each time. Housekeeping is lacking in the carpeted area (apparently no vacuuming is done) in the room. The breakfast is the same every morning. Cereal, cookies, bread, hard boiled eggs and tangerines were on the menu all three days. Had to fetch or ask for coffee from the kitchen every morning of our stay. If you're looking for a cheap place to stay in a convenient location, it is adequate. Room 109 was very spacious but a bit noisy. If you're looking for ambience, maybe this isn't the place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TrvlTheWorld2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My family visited Port Townsend last weekend and we stayed for a night here. Her daughter was very curious about the story of the old castle.So before we went all to bed, she read to us the history of the place. She let me read the last paragraph so as not to scare the kids lol. I got some chills when I found out that we were near room 306! Anyway,the hotel has really exquisite designs that has been preserved from longtime ago. The hallways really have some strange feelings as you walk by. The room that we got has a detached bathroom that made it a lil inconvenient to go to especially at night. And It was warm in the room but they have electric fan available when you need it. Despite the inconvenience, i had quite a good sleep overnight and the next day we were able to have pictures taken in their beautiful garden outside the castle.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jhvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My mother and I stayed in the famous room 306, on August 7, 2013; which supposedly was the room whereby a young woman committed suicide by jumping out the window to her death because her lover had died at sea. We did not know this until after we had checked in. The room was spacious and beautifully decorated, but I would have gladly traded the furnishings for an air conditioner. It was about 85 degrees that day. No refrigerator either. Ice machine and pop machine are down below the first floor, so it's quite a trip up and down the stairs. If you want to use the elevator, you must have an employee operate it for you. Also, no black-out curtains so in the morning the bright light came in around the roman shades. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant that evening. I had the Seafood BLT, and mom had the Salmon. The appetizer was free, thank goodness because we ordered the Baked Brie and were not impressed. I'd say dinner was a solid 6 on a 1-10 scale. Drinks were mighty strong, however.
The following morning, we heard some more ghost stories at the continental breakfast, which I would give a solid 4 on the 1-10 scale. As we were ascending the stairs from the 3rd to 2nd floor, someone or something grabbed my elbow for a couple of seconds and then let go. I felt a shiver go through my whole body and it was the strangest sensation!
In summary, if you are looking for a paranormal experience, and a historical setting, this would be a cool place to stay. I just prefer all the amenities when I stay somewhere.

Room Tip: 306 may have a ghost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Based on previous reviews, we expected Manresa Castle to be outdated. We still went expecting vintage charm and/or retro tacky. However, our stay was far worse than we were expecting. Sure there were fun quirks like the hot water being cold and the cold water being hot. But there was also no A/C in our room, and in the summer the provided fan and one opening window left the room very warm. There was no wireless/internet access, and even the advertised HBO was down. When we went to ask about these things (8:30 pm) the front desk was closed for the night. The door with its window and large cracks between it and the jam are charming, until you want any privacy. And the sheet/cover, which we still hope were clean, had several noticeable stains. All and all, we spent as little time there as possible.

Room Tip: We stayed in 319, the "new" side of the building. Per the brochure, the original wing has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Townsend hotels

Vancouver BC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel deserves 2.5 stars but because the bed was good and the bathroom was re-decorated, I felt compelled to give it 3 instead of 2. The reviews of this place were quite good so we booked a room. It was like walking into a David Lynch movie which isn't necessarily a bad thing - the novelty factor of staying in a place that is supposedly haunted (at least hinted at by the brochure provided by the hotel in our room), is compelling, but for the money we paid, I would have expected the grounds and entranceway to be somewhat welcoming. Instead, the stairs were crumbling, the grounds looked untended and there was an old clay pot full of cigarette butts at the entrance. Our room was tiny and had the smell of an old institution, which it was at one time, meaning that a full renovation was never done. But, if you like kitsch and old, you won't mind it and it was very quiet so with the comfy bed, it worked for us. Still, it's a hotel for crying out loud - so it would be nice if they took some pride in the place, and if the price matched the shabbiness of it. It's also not close to restaurants or the uptown or downtown areas which have nice shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canadanvandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our family had a great time here. We enjoyed the decor and the fact that each room was different. The grounds were lovely. My husband enjoyed the bar and the live music on Saturday night. The Sunday brunch was great, and it's nice that breakfast is included. The service was great and they helped us with the elevator on check-in and check-out. And the view from our room was spectacular! The kids loved it.
On the downside, it had no air conditioning so the room was hot. Some of the windows were so old & dirty we could barely see out them. Overall, great place to stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crazy4azmegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Townsend
1.8 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
346 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
41 reviews
1.9 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
293 reviews
13.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
0.9 mi away
Aladdin Motor Inn
Aladdin Motor Inn
#9 of 11 in Port Townsend
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manresa Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manresa Castle

Property: Manresa Castle
Address: 651 Cleveland St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-2940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Manresa Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Manresa Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manresa Castle Port Townsend
Manresa Castle Hotel Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing