We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time period feel but clean, modern Ammenities.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Time period feel but clean, modern Ammenities.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2010

$85 for a nice, clean, no frills but simple, elegant room with wifi, tv, fridge, microwave & coffee pot.  

We only stayed 1 night but will happily come back again.

Our only complaint is we were chilled but never called for more blankets.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bendbits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDobie, General Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2010
Thank you for the review you contributed to Trip Advisor about our Swan Hotel. All reviews are welcomed by us because it is timely guest feedback that helps us get better.

For instance, recent reviews prompted us to increase the number of electrical outlets in our cottages and to order ceramic cups for guest use with the in-room coffee and tea service rather than paper cups.

I am curious about your comment regarding being chilled and that you did not inquire about another blanket. All the beds are made with one blanket and the room is supplied with a second blanket.

Did you use the second blanket? If not, did you look for one and could not find it?

Your answer to these two questions would help us determine what action we can take to resolve an issue like yours in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    91
    22
    7
    5
See reviews for
29
139
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

We were looking for a reasonably priced place to spend the night as a jumping off spot for our Peninsula tour. The Swan fit the bill perfectly. The check in people were wonderful, even though there was a mix up with a crib in our room. They quickly removed it. Charming room, perfect location and so clean! We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mtngirlnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDobie, General Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2010
The hospitality team at The Swan Hotel appreciates your review and hope the crib in the room did not cause you too much alarm. We are not perfect and are grateful whenever a guest, such as you, gives us the opportunity to quickly correct a mistake when it first noted. Thank you and hope you choose to stay with us again during your next trip to the historic seaport of Port Townsend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2010

It is the end of October, tourist season is over and the rate on a tiny, queen bed cottage was $160.00 plus tax. Whew? Paper cups, minimum towels, an advertised jacuzzi with tired jets and cold bathroom floors. I had to unplug the coffee maker to get a plug for my computer. Who could ask for anything more??!! Had the price been under $100.00 and included two water bottles, it would have been fair. This hotel stay had no value added. Plus the fact, the registration office is a mobile home kiosk and you drop your key in the slot on your way out of town. Bon voyage!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank plan2explore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2010

I've traveled to Port Townsend for business quite a bit recently & stayed at many of the local hotels (the Palace, Harborside, Manressa Castle) - the Swan is the best of the lot. That said..it is a quirky place & not for everyone and it is a bit expensive for what you get. The rooms are quaint & clean (I've had no problem with cleaning service the times that I've stayed there). The only rooms with much of a view are on the 3rd floor. The little cabins are cute (no view) & cozy. The location is great, lots of things are within walking distance. The managment is friendly and helpful, but often absent (no one around at night, but they do tell you who to call in an emergency...but it does feel a little strange). All & all, I'll stay here again next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleCrazyhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

I stayed there for three nights. You are rationed two coffee cups (paper) and two bathroom cups (plastic). Never replaced. Went to go to the office at 7a to get coffee cups and guess what, no one is in the office until 2p Only an emergency number on the door. Somehow lacking cups are not an emergency to me. I was however aggravated by this. Next up (same day) cleaning was nonexistant. Towels left and garbage emptied period. Bathroom was dirty, bed barely made. Coffee maker dirty. Frankly they brought in more dirt than they took out. I'm sorry but I am not cleaning the room, it is after all my vacation. All this service for about $200.00 a night. To add insult to injury the view has been taken away by the recent construction of two large buildings. Completely out of their control, but none the less. I have stayed there on previous occasions. The service was always a bit of an issue but this time it was deplorable. There are plenty of nice places to stay in Port Townsend and I for one will be frequenting them.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GarrettsGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2010

The Swan Hotel’s location provided easy walking access to the eateries and shops on Water St. The room and its full bathroom in the main building were clean and well equipped. We enjoyed the views from the second floor balcony which included the bay and mountains. The morning sunrise was beautiful. I would stay again at the Swan.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rc33556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

There was very little evidence of or involvement with hotel staff while we were there. A self-described handyman gave us the key to our cottage/cabin initially and thereafter we saw someone who we think was probably the manager (anyway, she was in the office cabin) when we enquired why Internet access was not possible and asked if the pilot light on the fake fireplace could be turned off since it was making our cabin room incredibly hot. When we tried to check out, one staff member (or anyway, someone inside the office cabin) wouldn't even open the office door but yelled at us to just deposit the key in the door slit. A bit Twilight Zone-ish since no other staff or guests were ever seen, although the parking slots were usually full.

The skylight in the roof of the cottage and the time of year meant that light flooded in from about 4:00 AM, making sleep after that impossible. But it was nice and bright in the daytime. The TV was mounted right up at the top of the 12-foot ceiling, giving a very weirdly distorted angle when we tried to view it sitting down.

Still, despite the high price and almost complete lack of amenities, we sort of liked The Swan. It was right by the water, was very quiet, and Port Townsend being what it is we could walk to every restaurant, shop, gallery, etc. in town. We would actually stay there again as long as we had sleep masks. It brought back memories of backpacking in Southeast Asia in the late 1970s, in a good way. Good water pressure in the shower, no ice facilities though.

Would recommend to a friend with full explanations and only to certain types of friend.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LivingInTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Townsend
0.2 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
1.2 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
The Resort at Port Ludlow
The Resort at Port Ludlow
#1 of 1 in Port Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aladdin Motor Inn
Aladdin Motor Inn
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Property: Swan Hotel
Address: 222 Monroe St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5709
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan Hotel, located adjacent to Hudson Point Marina and the Northwest Maritime Center, is in the heart of the vibrant, maritime downtown district. The Swan Hotel features 9 comfortable hotel type rooms, 4 cozy cottages and a top floor Wheelhouse Suite. The Wheelhouse features two decks with magnificent views of the marina and Admiralty Inlet, plus a full kitchen, two full bathrooms, a dining room that seats 14 and sleeping accommodations for up to 8 guests. Each room and cottage has its own private bath, wireless and DSL connectivity, high definition TVs and DVD players, min-fridge, microwave and coffee and tea service. Some guestrooms have Harbor views while others favor City and Bay views. The cozy cottages also provide jetted tubs, propane fireplaces and outdoor patios with seating.The Swan welcomes canine friends in the Mainsail, the Lanyard, the Starboard, and the Portside guestrooms as well as the Dockside Cottage. Mid-week, commercial and government rates are available. Two-Diamond AAA rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing