We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I was lead to expect”
Review of Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2008

The website for this hotel gives the impression of spacious grounds right on the water with spectacular views. In actuality the bay is across the street and the view you get of the water is past the boat club and harbor (and soon to be museum). The grounds are incredibly small with parking for about 5 cars and the cottages are right on the road. The walls are really thin and you can hear conversations in the other rooms. (Not to mention that the headboards are not secured down). Currently there is also major road construction across the street that begins early in the morning and will last through out the summer. Needless to say we did not get very much sleep. The small room was however very clean and the staff very helpful and pleasant. I would not stay again and feel that the price is too much for what this hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank naturesbliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 269 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2007

The Swan is a very quaint, old facility right next to the boat docks at the edge of town. The buildings are old, but are well maintained. Our room had a slight musty smell, but I would have expected worse given it location next to the water and with high amount of precipitation in the region.

The "deluxe spa amenities" promised on the website were merely your basic bar of soap, little bottle of shampoo and moisturizer that you would find at any low to mid priced hotel. The difference? These had a "Swan hotel" label.

We paid over $250 per night for the Penthouse Suite. While the view was panoramic (there were windows facing every direction) and we could see the water, the town, watch the kids in the skateboard park, and even catch a little of the Friday night football game, the room was not ideal. It was very large, and that in itself added to the cost. The main feature of the room was a HUGE (and I mean huge) dining room table and 12 chairs. Tucked in the corner of the main room was a loveseat, chair and television that serves as the "living area". A decent kitchen, two small bedrooms with small baths and a strange little sitting room with two chairs took up the main floor. Upstairs was an open loft with two beds, and a circular staircase to a small widow's walk on top.

This room is probably rented out for board meetings and such when not rented by guests. It is furnished to accomodate meetings, perhaps with guest accomodation being an afterthought. Thus, it was not quite the ideal location for the romantic, private retreat we had envisioned.

The price seemed very high for what we got.

Had they simply taken the entensions out of the Huge table, and put a full sized sofa in the room, then added a big television, we may have felt more at home. Instead, we felt as if we were sleeping in a conference room.

The office manager did not seem to know much about the area. We asked where to find organic produce or vegetarian friendly restaurants. He directed us to Safeway for produce and said he didn't know about restaurants, even though Port Townsend offers a fabulous Food Coop for organic eats and has a wonderful selection of vegetarian-friendly dining spots.

Given the few choices of accomodations in Port Townsend, this room is probably the best in town. For that, I give an above average score. However, the facility has a long way to go before it can be considered excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank outdoorfuntime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2007

Very Clean and comfortable. Great location at the end of Water Street, you can walk to all the shopping and restaurants. There are a couple nice restaurants behind the hotel, at the docks. We stayed in A1 on the first floor, and you can hear the people walking above. If you like to sleep in I'd pay the extra $20 and get a cottage. The only negative I've heard is the three day cancellation policy, which wasn't an issue for us. The staff was very friendly, like everyone in this laid back town. Parking was no issue - even with every room booked we had no problem.

Stayed: September 2007
4  Thank Ringocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2007

We thought Port Townsend was pretty charming and definitely enjoyed our stay at the Swan for one night. The room was not that remarkable but it was clean and comfortable. We stayed in the main building on the second floor and there was no view from our room. The location was great, right at the end of the main downtown area, close to shops, restaurants, whale watching. We had no issues with parking and didn't notice any smell of cabbage.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank MrsTaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2006

Very nice place---very close to harbour and marina and right on the end of the main street - very short walk to all the quaint shops, cafes and pubs on main street and easy walk to historic buildings and architecture. The hotel itself is very clean, and well maintained in a unique building. Disagree with review about "sheds" and "cabbage". Perfectly nice place to stay a few days in great location---no breakfast included but so many places to get a breakfasty nearby!!!And definately no smell of cabbage!

Stayed: July 2006
2  Thank CalgaryScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2006

We are newlyweds and took a mini-honeymoon up in Port Townsend. We loved it. We stayed in Cottage 4 at the Swan with our Golden Retriever. It was very clean and since it was "pet-friendly" I was glad that it had hardwood floors. It is definetly older but the bed was comfortable and we didn't spend much time in the cottage. As others have stated, parking is limited and the bathroom walls do not go all of the way up to the ceiling which could be a problem for the bashful. But the location is perfect and you can walk anywhere downtown. We will stay there again when we return.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank rmroregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2005

We chose this hotel mainly because it was the least chintzy of the ones we could find in Port Townsend. The hotel is set up like a motel with rooms around the car park. The little balconies are nice but I'm glad we didn't pay extra for a view- none of the views were very spectacualr and the majority were over the car park. The rooms were clean and recently decorated. The cottages sounded nice on the website but they are really just little sheds next to the motel- they didn't look very appealing at all.

If you aren't sure if you want to stay in Port Townsend you may want to consider that the local paper mill makes the entire town stink of cabbage.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CatsWhiskars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Townsend
0.2 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
361 reviews
1.9 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
54 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Resort at Port Ludlow
The Resort at Port Ludlow
#1 of 1 in Port Ludlow
553 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fort Worden
Fort Worden
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Address: 222 Monroe St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5709
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range: $132 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan Hotel, located adjacent to Hudson Point Marina and the Northwest Maritime Center, is in the heart of the vibrant, maritime downtown district. The Swan Hotel features 9 comfortable hotel type rooms, 4 cozy cottages and a top floor Wheelhouse Suite. The Wheelhouse features two decks with magnificent views of the marina and Admiralty Inlet, plus a full kitchen, two full bathrooms, a dining room that seats 14 and sleeping accommodations for up to 8 guests. Each room and cottage has its own private bath, wireless and DSL connectivity, high definition TVs and DVD players, min-fridge, microwave and coffee and tea service. Some guestrooms have Harbor views while others favor City and Bay views. The cozy cottages also provide jetted tubs, propane fireplaces and outdoor patios with seating.The Swan welcomes canine friends in the Mainsail, the Lanyard, the Starboard, and the Portside guestrooms as well as the Dockside Cottage. Mid-week, commercial and government rates are available. Two-Diamond AAA rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing