We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and cleanliness”
Review of Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Washington State
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent service and cleanliness”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

After waiting in the ferry line for 3 hours, we didn't make it on a boat before they stopped running for the night. With our 4 kids and big dog, we started calling around for a hotel. The Swan had their Wheelhouse Suite available. While we weren't thrilled to pay $400+ for the night, we realized our options were limited with our big family. The room itself sleeps 8, with 3 queen beds, a king bed, two bathrooms, full kitchen, dining table and loft. Our kids said, "This is nicer than our house!" It was very clean and had great amenities. The staff was very courteous and accommodating. The view of the marina was very nice. The building itself is old, but in a historical way rather than a dilapidated way. The only problem with that is that we were told the floor of our suite had no soundproofing, so we needed to be very quiet so as not to disturb the guests below us. The woman at the desk said they are trying to figure out how to remedy this. This seems like an important thing, as the room is designed perfectly for a big family, but we had to constantly remind our kids to tip-toe and whisper. That was a bit frustrating as they had already been stuck in the car for 9 hours that day. That aside, if we were traveling as a couple, this is a very nice little place, and of course Port Townsend is the perfectly quaint coastal town.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wife&Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    95
    23
    7
    6
See reviews for
32
149
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Swan Hotel is in an ideal location. Everything was within walking distance. We originally booked a less expensive room but when we saw the adirondack chairs on the second floor facing the water we upgraded and enjoyed the view, The room was very comfortable. There is a ceiling fan as well as an extra fan but we did not find them necessary. The room has wonderful glass doors so that you can always see the water. The staff was great. Paula gave us a list of restaurants and places to go. Fins was wonderful and will write about that place in another review. We walked up and down water street visiting local galleries. We also were provided with a map to tour the historic homes and buildings in the area. There is a Whale watching company right down the street.This is the perfect location for a day and night stay.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the water are amazing. They also have a few single cabins. They honor AAA.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bisgo
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Swan Hotel is located in an attractive and well-maintained section of the marina and is walking distance to all sorts of great restaurants, attractions, and shops. The room was clean, comfortable, well maintained, and full of all the amenities we needed (wireless internet, refrigerator, microwave, adirondack chairs on the patio, etc.). In addition, the front desk staff went above and beyond to make sure that the room had everything that we needed and we had all the information we needed to tour the area. I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bisgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Swan was a lovely place to stay. I managed to snag a last minute room there on a busy weekend! The room was comfortable, the staff were friendly and helpful and location was fantastic. Wonderful views and a lot to do and see within walking distance. I'll definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I enjoyed my room on the first floor. It was cool and comfortable even without Air Conditioning in m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharyl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the cottages which although not huge are very comfortable. The location is great at the waterfront and an easy walk to all the sops and restaurants. Port Townsend is a lovely town and we could easily have lingered on there.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank forgerons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I enjoyed the Swan in spite of my concern it might be noisy being so close to busy area. It was quiet, room was very comfortable and front desk staff person was really friendly and helpful including giving me an ice pack each night for my ankle which I broke just before my trip. I would definitely stay there again!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmatime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna BC Canada
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a historic inn next to the marina in downtown Port Townsend. Well decorated rooms, clean, good beds. I made a mistake in my reservation and they were very gracious about it and worked hard to accomodate me. All for the best price in town. We will return. I think in summer you have to book well in advance. The ferry from widbey island requires reservations at peak times.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillyDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Townsend
1.9 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
296 reviews
1.2 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
The Resort at Port Ludlow
The Resort at Port Ludlow
#1 of 1 in Port Ludlow
542 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fort Worden
Fort Worden
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#6 of 11 in Port Townsend
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Property: Swan Hotel
Address: 222 Monroe St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5709
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan Hotel, located adjacent to Hudson Point Marina and the Northwest Maritime Center, is in the heart of the vibrant, maritime downtown district. The Swan Hotel features 9 comfortable hotel type rooms, 4 cozy cottages and a top floor Wheelhouse Suite. The Wheelhouse features two decks with magnificent views of the marina and Admiralty Inlet, plus a full kitchen, two full bathrooms, a dining room that seats 14 and sleeping accommodations for up to 8 guests. Each room and cottage has its own private bath, wireless and DSL connectivity, high definition TVs and DVD players, min-fridge, microwave and coffee and tea service. Some guestrooms have Harbor views while others favor City and Bay views. The cozy cottages also provide jetted tubs, propane fireplaces and outdoor patios with seating.The Swan welcomes canine friends in the Mainsail, the Lanyard, the Starboard, and the Portside guestrooms as well as the Dockside Cottage. Mid-week, commercial and government rates are available. Two-Diamond AAA rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing