We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Clean, Convenient”
Review of Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I love the Swan. The beds are large and cushy, the location is convenient to everything but still quiet, and the staff are wonderfully helpful and friendly. I like smaller hotels that feel personal and the Swan fits this to a tee. If you happen to find yourself in Port Townsend on a rainy winter night, as I did, the front office has a huge selection of movies to borrow when the shops/bars close down.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharondipitous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 274 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a nice place if you like the bed and breakfast feel. Very clean and handy to get to historic downtown. Bit of a small bathroom but overall nothing wrong with it. Could use a few benches outside because the evenings in Port Townsend are pretty. The desk staff was very helpful.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank MellieNem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Port Townsend was beautiful in May. But The Swan Hotel was very difficult for my husband who is in a wheelchair. We got up the spacious ramp --- it was wonderful --- but from there on is was very cramped and difficult to move around in. From the open door way we had 1 inch to spare on the sides (that is 1/2 inch per side) so we had to go forward into the bathroom in order to close the door behind us. The bathroom was adequate but was not designed for wheelchairs. The bathroom door was in the way no matter which way he turned. Moving in the room was much more difficult although it could it cold be done. It was much to cramped to be comfortable. The manager was very nice and helpful and explained the hotel was not ADA compliant and she was right! Most people might find The Swan Hotel meets their needs, people with a wheelchair will definitely be challenged!

Room Tip: The only service, other than the manager at check in, was room cleaning. The noise from the room ups...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for staying with us at the Swan Hotel and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here in Port Townsend.

It is regretful that the room did not fully meet your needs. We have modified that room A-2 to help accommodate our guests who have mobility and access issues. Unfortunately the space restrictions present in our boutique studios make it impossible to fully implement an ADA certified room configuration. We are careful not to represent it in that manner and to try to make it clear to all guests making reservations with those needs. I apologize if we failed to properly communicate that to you when booking the reservation. We have addressed this with our staff and will strive to improve our communication of the amenities.

Thank you for your input towards improving our facility and customer service.

Cordially,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

When we got on the ferry in Seattle we did not know where we would be staying that evening. As I browsed through my AAA book and some maps of the Olympic peninsula I decided Port Townsend might be an option for a couple of days. What a great decision. I called The Swan from the ferry and after exploring options of rooms and their other property, The Bishop, with Dan we decided on a 2nd floor at The Swan. I asked for 2 cereal bowls and when we arrived there was a basket awaiting with wine glasses, plates, utensils - what a pleasant surprise. We are light eaters & do cereal and coffee in our room when possible. There is a frig and microwave in the room. Linda was on duty and was a wonderful resource to laundry facilites (Carol's heading out of town), sights and restaurants. Our room was on the 2nd floor (A5) and was initially a tad small (after a suite in Seattle), but soon became "cozy". We sat on the shared balcony and enjoyed hanging out on a late sunny afternoon. The office has a PC for guest use which is convenient to check emails, TripAdvisor reviews, and weather. Across the street towards the water is the Velocity coffee shop which opens at 6:30 a.m. for coffee. Great place to "wake up", read the paper and enjoy the local buzz. You can walk to most restaurants and bars and shops. Could have stayed longer in Port Townsend if there was not so much to see around the state. Good jumping off point for the National Park & Hurricane Ridge.

Room Tip: 2nd floor, A5 and A6 is less expensive than the rooms with "full water views" - totally fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FancyNancyBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

In Port Townsend, it is tricky to get good lodging at a decent price. This hotel fits the bill. We stayed in the main building on the first floor. The room was pleasant, with very nice bedding and finishing. The bathroom was spotless and included some quality lotions, shampoo, etc.
The only negatives: no laundry facilities on site, and no breakfast. Other than that, it was just fine.
The hotel staff was pleasant and efficient. I left my Mac charger and the hotel immediately wrote my email, and I was able to pick it up on the way back to Victoria! Thanks Swans Hotel!!!

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage, check that you aren't going to be on the second floor of the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giscome56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I recently was meeting friends that would be on a boat at Port Hudson marina. I choose the Swan Hotel for it's location, despite the terrible reviews I had read prior to my visit. I found these reviews to be false. the check in manager was so helpful and pleasant. The room was perfect. I would recommend it to my friends,

Room Tip: I slept with the window open and loved hearing the birds in the morning and also to smell the salt a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SissyDoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed in one of their cabins and had a great experience. The location is great, directly across the street from a marina and maritime center. Beautiful views of the North Cascades across the Sound when it is clear. The heart of historic downtown Port Townsend is two blocks away so you do not need to get in the car for restaurants. We had our dog with us and this place is extremely dog friendly. The room included a dog bed complete with dog toys. The cabin room is small but adequate. It had a refrigerator and comfortable bed. The cabins are located in the parking lot and back right onto the street. While it was quiet when we were there, I am guessing that they could be a little noisy on a busy summer night.

The cabins are nicely appointed and fairly new. The only odd thing about the cabins is that the bathroom does not have a ceiling. The ceiling is vaulted and the bathroom walls go up about 8 feet and then open on top with no bathroom ceiling. This leaves litte for bathroom privacy. May not be a problem for all but may be for some. It would not stop me from staying here again.

Room Tip: Cabins 2 and 3 will not be as noisy as 1 and 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDobie, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review and comments. We're go glad you and your doggie enjoyed our quaint Victorian Seaport Town. We are at the marina end of Water Street and our guests seem to love the convenience of this location. Any traffic noise from the block long one lane-one way road in front of the cottages is usually low like you experienced.

Our Cottages are very cozy and charming but somewhat quirky due to the bathroom wall height constrained by the location of the roof beam. We will review that situation during our 2014
planning cycle this coming fall.

The Swan Main Building also offers some lovely pet friendly rooms that have fully enclosed bathrooms that you may prefer. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to Port Townsend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Townsend
0.2 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
371 reviews
1.9 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
55 reviews
15.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
7.5 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Address: 222 Monroe St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5709
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range: $126 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan Hotel, located adjacent to Hudson Point Marina and the Northwest Maritime Center, is in the heart of the vibrant, maritime downtown district. The Swan Hotel features 9 comfortable hotel type rooms, 4 cozy cottages and a top floor Wheelhouse Suite. The Wheelhouse features two decks with magnificent views of the marina and Admiralty Inlet, plus a full kitchen, two full bathrooms, a dining room that seats 14 and sleeping accommodations for up to 8 guests. Each room and cottage has its own private bath, wireless and DSL connectivity, high definition TVs and DVD players, min-fridge, microwave and coffee and tea service. Some guestrooms have Harbor views while others favor City and Bay views. The cozy cottages also provide jetted tubs, propane fireplaces and outdoor patios with seating.The Swan welcomes canine friends in the Mainsail, the Lanyard, the Starboard, and the Portside guestrooms as well as the Dockside Cottage. Mid-week, commercial and government rates are available. Two-Diamond AAA rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing