We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Swan Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Waterstreet Hotel(Port Townsend)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Bishop Victorian Hotel(Port Townsend)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Belmont Inn(Port Townsend)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tides Inn(Port Townsend)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aladdin Motor Inn(Port Townsend)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harborside Inn(Port Townsend)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fort Worden(Port Townsend)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manresa Castle(Port Townsend)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
The Tyee(Coupeville)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveler rating
142
97
23
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
142
97
23
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe penthousethe cottagesmain buildinggreat locationmaritime centersecond flooradirondack chairsmain officefrench doorswithin walking distanceopen windowscoffee makerhotel staffin townbottom floorbathroom doorboutique hotel
Filter
Updating list...
234 - 239 of 276 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2011

This hotel has a great location in downtown PT. You are 1/2 a block from the water. Nice to have a small mini fridge in the room. Was very handy. Room and bathroom were very clean. Our only complaint was that our room was on the first floor and the only windows overlooked the outdoor porch/hallway. This was okay until it got stuffy and we wanted to open the window for a breeze and we found out our window didn't have a screen. Didn't really feel comfortable with the shade open and the window open and no screen.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kay s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDobie, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2011

We’re glad to hear that you’ve enjoyed the location and amenities that our Swan Hotel has to offer. However, we’re sorry to hear that you had trouble with the screen in your room. All of our rooms on the first floor at the Swan have two windows: one which cranks outward and is without a screen and another that has a removable screen. The screen is often times stored in the closet or behind the armoire. At any time during your stay, always feel free to call the front desk, who are more than happy to provide you with any assistance that you may need.

Thank you for your review and please come visit us again!

Sincerely,
Swan Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

The service was good. The room was clean, although very cramped and not much air flow. The big problem was noise. We heard EVERYTHING from upstairs as if it was in the same room! We heard people chatting, walking of the floor, water running in sinks, toilet flushing, and even people sitting on the toilet dong their business! The people upstairs were not exceptionally loud, it's just that the walls (floors, ceilings) transmit sound Big time.
If you want to stay there, I would advise good ear plugs or rent a room at the top. The only problem with that is you have 3 flights of outdoor stairs to climb with all your luggage.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank linxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDobie, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2011

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay here at the Swan. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed the service you received at our hotel. We apologize that you had trouble with hearing the guests in other rooms. That occasionally can happen in some of the older architectural buildings found here in Port Townsend. If it’s quiet and convenience that you’re looking for, perhaps you can come back and stay in one of our cottages. They are ground-level, stand alone cabins which provide easy access and also share no walls with other guests, Several of our cottages even include jetted tubs, robes and fireplaces, which can make for a lovely stay.

Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience and we hope to see you here again.

Sincerely,
The Swan Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

This was our second stay at the Swan Hotel, in one of the small cottages. The rooms are small but quite well equipped, complete with fridge, microwave, and utensils. We also had a fireplace and jetted tub. Our only complaint was the skylight, which was lovely in the daytime as it let in a lot of light, but woke us up too early in the mornings!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank levershart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Though the rooms are small they are cozy and have a wonderful homey feeling to them. The swan hotel was a wonderful place for my husband and I to stay. We were in room 8 that had an amazing view of the water and lovely boats, there was also a wonderful seating area outside of our room for us to enjoy a glass of wine together. The staff was very helpful an welcoming to us during our stay. Anything we asked for they were more than willing to accommodate, from the woman at the front desk to the cheerful and bright housekeepers who kindly offered to help us with our bags on the morning of our departure. We had an oppertunity to look at other rooms at other hotels and the swan is by far the cleanest hotel we looked at, and the cost of the rooms is well worth it. And my husband and I will be back in this area soon, and the Swan hotel is where we will be staying! It was a great stay for us!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amazinggrace000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDobie, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2011

It sounds like you had a lovely time at our Swan hotel! We take our commitment to providing excellent accommodations and outstanding service very seriously, so that each guest such as yourself can enjoy affordable, clean rooms and warm, friendly hospitality during each visit. We greatly appreciate your business and look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised when we saw our room at the Swan for our last minute getaway. We booked the last room available online earlier in the week on the ground floor. It was a smaller room but perfectly fine for the two of us. We heard a little noise from the above room but that's to be expected. The weather was gorgeous and the fan in the room worked fine for the temperature outside - not sure how it would be on a warmer day but it worked well for us. The location is walking distance to the town, shops and restaurants. We would definitely stay here again but maybe try the 2nd floor room to get a view. Although we didn't have a view from our room the hotel location more than made up for it and parking was directly in front of our room.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holoholokai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews