We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loaded with Victorian Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful stay at the Bishop for our Anniversary. We couldn't have asked for much more. We really loved all of the victorian charm everywhere that you looked. The private garden was beautiful even being January. The room was very bright, cozy and comfortable. We loved our fireplace, and we used it everyday. The breakfast has many options which we enjoyed daily. The location is within walking distance to restaurants, shopping and the beautiful Puget Sound scenery. We love Port Townsend, and will most definitely stay at the Bishop Hotel again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank joeyo888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. Sounds like you had a swell time while visiting our Historic Victorian Seaport. We're happy that you enjoyed the Hotel with it's Victorian charm and coziness. Please come and visit us again when you can.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
There are newer reviews for Bishop Victorian Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 358 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

This hotel was amazing starting with the warm, informative, friendly receptionists. The suite was amazing (Room 24) with a living area (one brick wall) that included a table and chairs by a window overlooking the gazeboed garden, sofa, flat screen TV, a gas fireplace with great heat, and kitchenette. The bedroom with queen-sized bed even had a distant water view. It's two flights up but worth the small climb. A breakfast basket (with ample choices) is delivered outside your door at one of two times of your choice. The suite was immaculate. You can choose housekeeping or not. It's conveniently located one block from downtown. I shall definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pazzarella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for such a lovely review. We love the fact that so many of our guest's really do appreciate the Victorian Charm of the Hotel. It takes people back to another era when things were not so hectic. We welcome you to come and relax again with us.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I enjoyed every minute of my stay at the Bishop. My suite was so adorable in Victorian decor, exposed brick and a cute gas fireplace stove that kept the place toasty warm. It was very clean, which is very high on my priority list for a place to stay. I think it is managed very well. Bring ear plugs if a light sleeper since old buildings do not have insulation. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your high praise of the Bishop Victorian Hotel. We will pass along your appreciative comments to our Housekeeping Staff as room quality is high on our list also. The charm of this Heritage building is part of the overall Victorian feeling that this town is known for.

Bet Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This was an excellent experience from start to finish. Located within walking distance of all the interesting restaurants, shops and waterfront scenery in town, location is super convenient. There is off street parking and the staff are exceptional people. The wi-fi went down and one of the front office staff conscientiously tracked down the problem without delay. She also gave us some excellent dining tips! Squeaky clean, not overdone, Eco conscious...we did not take advantage of the complimentary breakfasts though had we stayed longer than three days, would have. The rates were off season and a great value. My only regret is not taking advantage of the deep tub....next time.

Room Tip: The bedroom in our suite ?224 was cramped but very quiet. The living space was ample otherwise. Woul...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CFS195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments about our Hotel. These reviews like yours are so beneficial to future guests who are interested in coming to Port Townsend. There is no better review than a satisfied customer.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I have never been disappointed during a stay at the bishop Hotel. This time we were in suite 18 and it was large with high ceilings and very quiet and clean , They also gave us a complimentary bottle of Wine for being returning guests. A continental breakfast was delivered on time outside our room.. The bed was very comfortable and there is nothing that was left to be desired!
The staff was friendly and there was ample parking...

Room Tip: If you enjoy exercise we recommend the top floor!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are so fortunate for the many returning guests that we welcome to the Hotel. We're very pleased that you chose the Bishop Victorian Hotel again.

We look forward to another visit from a "loyal" guest.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My family recently stayed for the second time at the Bishop Victorian. The location is perfect for a visit to Port Townsend- although not on the main street, it is only one block away, so easy walking distance to everything! On this visit, we stayed in suite on the ground floor with two queen beds, a day bed, and a trundle. Last visit we had a room on the second floor with one queen and a sofa bed, and we actually preferred that room as it was more comfortable for eating and sitting. The breakfast was delivered to our door and was delicious. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and your second visit. Our location is nice as it's not on the main street and therefore our location is more quiet. We will convey your comments to our staff as they appreciate being recognized for doing a job well done.

Please return to our Victorian Charm again next time you're visiting Port Townsend.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I made my reservation here for a romantic getaway, but not without some reservations. It IS the most romantic hotel in Port Townsend, but that isn't saying much. What is true of Port Townsend in general is true of Bishop Victorian in particular: old is what makes it a romantic and interesting place to be, but that historic status also makes it very tricky to renovate.

The Bishop Victorian is nicely adorned and has great service, but there are a few work-arounds you have to be prepared to live with. There is some wear around the edges. There is no air conditioning and no elevator. Our room looked nice. All the furnishings were in good taste. But I just never was able to get comfortable in the space. The bathroom felt cramped, the sofa was too austere, the living room/ kitchen area was an odd shape. It felt to me they were trying to make one size fit all and ended up with nothing perfectly fitting.

Next time I think I would consider B&B's and Port Gamble.

Reservations and the front desk were absolutely impeccable. Very helpful. Gave me all the attention I desired.

The location can't be beat. It is set into the hill just one block off Water Street (the long main street where all the shops are) so it is walking distance to everything downtown. But Port Townsend is a little spread out: there is another center of activity with a couple places to eat and shops uptown, centered at Blaine & Tyler. You also need transportation to get to the beaches at Fort Worden & Fort Flagler.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulParks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. While our hotel does have a Historic status and Victorian Charm it is somewhat challenging and we are limited in our ability to make certain changes. We are glad that you enjoyed our "absolutely impeccable" Inn keeping Staff. We hope you will return to Port Townsend again as there are many opportunities for places to stay that could accommodate your needs.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
0.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
268 reviews
1.8 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
53 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fort Worden
Fort Worden
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
128 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#5 of 11 in Port Townsend
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop Victorian Hotel

Address: 714 Washington St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5718
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range: $149 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The top rated TripAdvisor hotel in Port Townsend is the Bishop Victorian, located in the heart of the Historic District with easy access to shops, restaurants and activities. The Bishop Victorian offers 16 suites, including ground level and two bedroom accommodations. Suites feature Victorian ambiance, private baths, fireplaces, convertible sofas and a continental breakfast delivered daily to your door. Each suite is outfitted with a mini or full kitchenette, including microwave, fridge and coffee service, and all guests have access to wireless or DSL connectivity from the comfort of their suite. High definition TVs, DVD players and a DVD library add to your enjoyment. The Bishop Victorian also offers meeting facilities for groups up to 35 people, and the outdoor tented garden venue provides a spring and summer location for weddings and other celebratory events for up to 200 guests. Preparing for an important event is effortless, with Touch of Health Massage Therapy and Izadora’s Tanning, Day Spa and Salon, both of which offer a variety of relaxing and rejuvenating services, conveniently located right next door. Children welcome and dogs are permitted in some designated suites and in accordance with our dog policies. Mid-week, commercial and government rates are available. Three-Diamond AAA rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bishop Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop Victorian Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing