We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2008

Stayed here for two nights in July 2008. The owners were friendly, personable. The showers were nice and high, didn't have to duck. The rooms were clean, big, most come with kitchenette. All in all a great place to stay.

Stayed: July 2008
Thank travelwogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 371 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2008

This hotel is in an old, late 1800's brick buildiing, with Victorian style decor. It was not my number one choice and based on some of the other Tripadvisor reviews, I was a litlle worried about staying here but it turned out to be fine. We ended up staying in room #17. It was clean, had a little mini fridge and microwave, a spacious bathroom with a huge tub, a little eating area, a sofa sleeper and small TV, and a small, seperate bedroom. The front desk staff were nice and helpful. They offered a free continental breakfast but we passed on it, since we wanted to go out for breakfast. It was not the best hotel I ever stayed at but it was definitely not the worst. My only complaint would be that the building is not sound proofed very well and I am a very light sleeper, so every car that drove past that night woke me up. My husband and son seemed to sleep just fine, though.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Whisperingpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2008

We were forced to leave our hotel (The Swan) for one night and were booked into their sister hotel - The Bishop - due to our hesitancy in booking for multiple nights at one hotel. The Bishop is also well located downtown with excellent parking - a problem in Port Townsend. The room was on the top floor with a bit of a view and a constant sound of the wind blowing through the roof fans (metal on metal). There is no elevator so take that into consideration if you have small children or elders. The continental breakfast was delivered to our door, and coffee was provided 24 hours in the hallway. The breakfast was definitely a Holiday Express one, and the coffee lousy. The rooms were crammed with too much furniture and tiny kitchenettes. I felt as if I was renting a Victorian apartment retro fitted with electricity and plumbing. Not to my liking. I kept looking at the brick wall, waiting for it to crumble. Sound was also an issue - no insulation so you hear everything in the hallway and next door. At least we were on the top floor! The next day we booked back into the Swan. The staff was friendly and excellent. The place was fairly clean. The ambiance was horrible.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mccolleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2008

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for one night. Our reservation was for two nights. Something in our room made both of us sneeze constantly and both of our sinuses were severly congested. I don't know if it was mold, mildew, or dust, or perhaps a combination of all three, but we just could not stay in that room.

The room itself was odd. While there were attempts at creating a Victorian ambience, the 1990's oak cabinets in the kitchenette, and the 1960's Motel Six blue\green carpeting, destroyed the effect. The lack of a DVD player was also strange considering it is 2008. There also did not appear to be a fire suppression system. There were smoke/fire alarms, but no sprinklers or foam retardant system that we could see.

That said, the location is okay, it is within easy walking distance to restaurants, shops, and a theater. The street noise however, was very noticeable in our third floor room, and the "continental breakfast" was a waste of time, being more gimmicky than fulfilling.

The lady staffing the front desk staff on Saturday, 2/16/08, was superb, she was very helpful. Be forewarned, there is no elevator and no bellhop service. If you're up on the third floor, it is a long trek up the steep stairs.

I've emailed the establishment and encouraged them to inspect our room for mold/mildew, but have not received a response.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank BigIslandGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2008

Is the Bishop the hotel for you? My dear traveler, what do you desire? Do you want a clean place to sleep and to save some cash on meals with a kitchenette? Well, this is a place for you. Are you looking for a romantic weekend? My friend, may I suggest continuing your search?

What we liked: the Bishop is a beautiful old Victorian hotel on the outside and the lobby is very nice. Our room was economical ($120 something including tax during off-season), and it was quite near the heart of P.T.'s very charming and walkable downtown and midtown. The kitchenette was convenient. The wicker basket containing your continental breakfast at your front door is a nice touch, if the breakfast is a bit pedestrian.The place was clean. The front desk was nice.

What we found lacking: the interior decor and finishing gets about a C+. From the billiard green carpet, to the dated furnishings, to the claustrophobic bedroom, to the cheap linens and blankets, to the textured dry wall, to the Motel 6-quality shampoo and soap, I felt like I got what I paid for, and kicked myself for not coughing up some more dough.

This is a very nice budget hotel. But it's a budget hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank GreenTripper66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2007

Beautifully decorated victorian hotel. Nice having a place to stay that has a kitchen/kitchenette. We were on the third floor, and did get our exercise from the stairs, but well worth it! Our only complaint was that our room never got warmer than 65. They do have a gas fireplace, but with freezing temperatures we would have liked to be warmer. They were open to our suggestions, and said that they are working on making the rooms warmer. The continental breakfast was a very nice addition to our stay. Also, it was nice staying in town with a hotel that has off road parking for it's guests. The location was perfect for shopping, and restaurants. We would highly recommend this hotel, and would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank upacreek05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

Deciding at the last minute to stay in Port Townsend, a town we had never been to, in the middle of summer with no reservations and arriving at 5 pm proved one thing: You can still be amazed at what life throws at you! After checking out some really seedy rooms for $110-$120 in other motels in town, we got out the AAA book and started searching for anything 3 stars on the phone. The Bishop front staff was amazing. Not pushy at all but informative and friendly. We buzzed over to the hotel and walked inside to a fabulous lobby with replica tin ceiling, victorian furnishings and the great guy behind the counter. For $130.00 we got a queen size suite on the second floor. The furnishings are victorian era replications and while that isnt my style it was fun to live in these rooms for just the one night. The television was modern with a great selection of stations, the couch was comfortable, the armoire stretched to the ceiling. Plenty of light and while there is no air conditioner, you are right next to the dock one block away and the sea breezes kept us cool. There is a mini kitchen with refer, micro and sink, fully furnished with dishes and such anothers in case you want to eat in. We ate at the most amazing Thai restaurant across the street and then walked around the amazing downtown area one block away windowshopping. The downtown area is clean, beautiful and full of great shops, very walkable and right next to the water. We were told to choose our breakfast options and call it in downstairs. Breakfast is delivered to your room at either 7,8 or 9 am in a great basket left outside your door. Choices are limited to cereal, bagels, croissants, juices, milk, fruit. but it was all fresh and great tasting. Coffee is in the room. Bathroom was modern with great water pressure. The only problem is that our room was one floor up with no elevator. Stairs are steep but the room was worth it. If you are older and cannot do stairs or handicapped then I am sorry you will not be able to stay in such a romanticly charming place. We cannot wait to stay again. Close to everything downtown including a dozen or more restaurants, fabulous room, fabulous staff..we left with a smile on our face.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank m.glenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
0.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
274 reviews
1.8 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
55 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fort Worden
Fort Worden
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
181 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#6 of 11 in Port Townsend
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop Victorian Hotel

Address: 714 Washington St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5718
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range: $148 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The top rated TripAdvisor hotel in Port Townsend is the Bishop Victorian, located in the heart of the Historic District with easy access to shops, restaurants and activities. The Bishop Victorian offers 16 suites, including ground level and two bedroom accommodations. Suites feature Victorian ambiance, private baths, fireplaces, convertible sofas and a continental breakfast delivered daily to your door. Each suite is outfitted with a mini or full kitchenette, including microwave, fridge and coffee service, and all guests have access to wireless or DSL connectivity from the comfort of their suite. High definition TVs, DVD players and a DVD library add to your enjoyment. The Bishop Victorian also offers meeting facilities for groups up to 35 people, and the outdoor tented garden venue provides a spring and summer location for weddings and other celebratory events for up to 200 guests. Preparing for an important event is effortless, with Touch of Health Massage Therapy and Izadora’s Tanning, Day Spa and Salon, both of which offer a variety of relaxing and rejuvenating services, conveniently located right next door. Children welcome and dogs are permitted in some designated suites and in accordance with our dog policies. Mid-week, commercial and government rates are available. Three-Diamond AAA rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bishop Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop Victorian Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing