We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed one night (September 19) in king Suite 13 on the first floor, after a week at Olympic National Park. What a beautiful place! They provide everything and more that you need, including a lovely packed picnic basket for breakfast, good HD tv, and wifi that is free and fast and it allowed me to even download movies for our flight home. Bed was very comfortable and climate control was perfect. Location was good for short walk to stores, restaurants and to our whale watch trip. Parking too was free and close (a necessity in this town). Yes a steep set of stairs to the room, but we prepared for it by bringing a light duffle to carry only what was needed for that night, instead of hauling suitcases up the stairs. This hotel was perfect for our needs and the price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on trip advisor. We appreciate your review which provided so many details and insights about our Inn and Town.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 364 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have been to Pt. Townsend several times and stayed at different hotels each time, but the Bishop Hotel is my favorite. The rooms are pretty big. We stayed on the 3rd floor and there aren't great views of the ocean from this hotel. If you don't like climbing steps to get to your room, then you probably shouldn't be staying in Pt. Townsend, but ask for a lower room if you don't want to lug your suitcases up 46 steps to the 3rd floor. The rooms were very comfortable and had GREAT digital TV. Lots of channels and nice TV sets.

Rooms were very quiet. I couldn't hear anything from other rooms. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. Very, very nice people. The room had everything you could need - fridge, coffee maker, plates, glasses. I really enjoyed this place. It's in a great location as well - very close to the middle of downtown and all restaurants/bars. The parking situation is great since they have their own lot. No hassles at all parking on the street.

If you are planning a stay in Pt. Townsend you could do a lot worse than the Bishop Hotel. It's not on Water St. so you don't have to deal with any traffic/noise, but you are very close to all of the action. Much better than other hotels I have stayed at in Pt. Townsend.

Also - the hotel has continental breakfast included...delivered to your room, which is very nice. They also have fresh coffee in the lobby/hallway outside your room every morning which is really nice since you don't even have to walk downstairs to get it. You can also buy soda and stuff in the lobby whenever you want, or get DVDs to watch.

Can't say enough about the Bishop. If you find yourself in Pt. Townsend I would definitely stay here and avoid staying on Water St. I can't see any reason to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Get a lower room if you don't want to walk all the way up steps to the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mellowtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much on behalf of The Bishop Victorian Hotel for staying with us during your visit to Port Townsend and for sharing with your experience here with us.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Bishop Victorian is the perfect place to rest after a day of adventuring on the peninsula. Their excellent accomodations, friendly staff, and convenient location near downtown made them the perfect jumping off point for dinner and drinks, and a cozy place to repose after a long day. My only thought for improvement would be their breakfast. On the one hand they drop if off in a cute basket right infront of your room. On the other hand it's all "continental style" munchies like bagels and cereal. But then, some breakfast is better than none.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thebearup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

The staff and I thank you for your kind words.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here last week. It's in a very convenient location in the historical part of town and near the waterfront. The outside of the building seems very old and plain. However, the inside in quite nice! WE had a queen suite on the second floor. A word of warning-- you must climb a steep set of stairs to get to the second floor. Two sets of stairs if you are on the 3rd floor.

Our suite was very comfortable and included a kitchenette. The complimentary breakfast was nice. It is delivered to your room.

The only downside is the squealing of the seagulls. You may want to bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper.

If you can climb steep stairs, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yes2tennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are in the heart of local attractions and we are pleased that you both enjoyed your visit with us.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I loved the Bishop Hotel. Our room was great-very comfortable. It brought back wonderful memories of staying at grandma's house. Everything was immaculate and the check-in lady was very welcoming. It is also in a perfect location to walk downtown. We couldn't have been more pleased. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again when your travels bring you to Port Townsend.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

A very nice room with a kitchen, fireplace ... on the second floor in a great location. Our continental breakfast was delivered to our room the next morning so we could relax in our room till checkout. I really loved the décor of this hotel. We'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Baboone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Isn't breakfast in bed great! Thanks for choosing to stay with us.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Bishop Victorian Hotel is filled with charm and is perfectly situated for exploring Port Townsend. This is not your typical modern hotel, yet it has all the creature comforts you could want: tv, video (movie library), seating areas, fireplaces, small fridge, microwave, dishes and coffee machine. In addition, a continental breakfast is delivered to your door each morning. We didn't check out each of the rooms, but our room on the bottom floor, had 2 queen beds plus a separate room with a day bed in it - more than enough room for a family of 4! We stayed two nights and loved the ease with which we could walk to galleries and good restaurants. Oh, if you don't want to skip your fitness, or if you want to try an outstanding gym, then be sure to take advantage of the gym privileges offered you. Service was friendly, helpful, and knowledgable! Very close to the ferry if this is important to you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worldexplorer88_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

We love to hear that our guests enjoyed our Historic Hotel and the Vintage Victorian decor. Thank you for your visit!!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
0.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
270 reviews
1.8 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
55 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fort Worden
Fort Worden
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
153 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#6 of 11 in Port Townsend
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop Victorian Hotel

Address: 714 Washington St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5718
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range: $148 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The top rated TripAdvisor hotel in Port Townsend is the Bishop Victorian, located in the heart of the Historic District with easy access to shops, restaurants and activities. The Bishop Victorian offers 16 suites, including ground level and two bedroom accommodations. Suites feature Victorian ambiance, private baths, fireplaces, convertible sofas and a continental breakfast delivered daily to your door. Each suite is outfitted with a mini or full kitchenette, including microwave, fridge and coffee service, and all guests have access to wireless or DSL connectivity from the comfort of their suite. High definition TVs, DVD players and a DVD library add to your enjoyment. The Bishop Victorian also offers meeting facilities for groups up to 35 people, and the outdoor tented garden venue provides a spring and summer location for weddings and other celebratory events for up to 200 guests. Preparing for an important event is effortless, with Touch of Health Massage Therapy and Izadora’s Tanning, Day Spa and Salon, both of which offer a variety of relaxing and rejuvenating services, conveniently located right next door. Children welcome and dogs are permitted in some designated suites and in accordance with our dog policies. Mid-week, commercial and government rates are available. Three-Diamond AAA rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bishop Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop Victorian Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing