We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable Accommodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bishop Victorian Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable Accommodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here last week. It's in a very convenient location in the historical part of town and near the waterfront. The outside of the building seems very old and plain. However, the inside in quite nice! WE had a queen suite on the second floor. A word of warning-- you must climb a steep set of stairs to get to the second floor. Two sets of stairs if you are on the 3rd floor.

Our suite was very comfortable and included a kitchenette. The complimentary breakfast was nice. It is delivered to your room.

The only downside is the squealing of the seagulls. You may want to bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper.

If you can climb steep stairs, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yes2tennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are in the heart of local attractions and we are pleased that you both enjoyed your visit with us.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    93
    26
    6
    2
See reviews for
72
160
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Big Timber, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I loved the Bishop Hotel. Our room was great-very comfortable. It brought back wonderful memories of staying at grandma's house. Everything was immaculate and the check-in lady was very welcoming. It is also in a perfect location to walk downtown. We couldn't have been more pleased. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again when your travels bring you to Port Townsend.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

A very nice room with a kitchen, fireplace ... on the second floor in a great location. Our continental breakfast was delivered to our room the next morning so we could relax in our room till checkout. I really loved the décor of this hotel. We'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Baboone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Isn't breakfast in bed great! Thanks for choosing to stay with us.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
169 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Bishop Victorian Hotel is filled with charm and is perfectly situated for exploring Port Townsend. This is not your typical modern hotel, yet it has all the creature comforts you could want: tv, video (movie library), seating areas, fireplaces, small fridge, microwave, dishes and coffee machine. In addition, a continental breakfast is delivered to your door each morning. We didn't check out each of the rooms, but our room on the bottom floor, had 2 queen beds plus a separate room with a day bed in it - more than enough room for a family of 4! We stayed two nights and loved the ease with which we could walk to galleries and good restaurants. Oh, if you don't want to skip your fitness, or if you want to try an outstanding gym, then be sure to take advantage of the gym privileges offered you. Service was friendly, helpful, and knowledgable! Very close to the ferry if this is important to you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldexplorer88_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We love to hear that our guests enjoyed our Historic Hotel and the Vintage Victorian decor. Thank you for your visit!!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you like squeaky clean rooms with quasi-vintage decor this is the place for you. Not your typical bland Motel 6. On the other hand, it manages modern appointments like Wi-Fi, LED TV and basic kitchen appliances, so not a rustic Victorian hole in the wall. We had a mini suite--bedroom separate from the living room/kitchen--so plenty of room and privacy if needed.

I found the king sized bed comfy, the curtains thick enough to sleep in and the bathroom modern and ultra clean. So a very comfortable room to sleep and hang out in. We had a corner unit with a view of the street and parking lot. Not very inspiring and the room was stuffy when the sunny, requiring opening of all the windows.

I've stayed at Port Townsend many times these past 25 years and while the Bishop is among the nicest hotels, I prefer a room on the waterfront with a view of Port Townsend Bay. My first pick is the Belmont Inn. I don't care if it's rustic and not as clean. Being a few feet from the lapping waves, breathing fresh air and hearing gulls cry over Union Wharf keeps me at my open window for hours. So while the Bishop is great I only stay there when the Belmont is full.

Incidentally, the Bishop is lacks an elevator and should be avoided if you can't handle two or three flights of stairs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your note and sharing your thoughts about our squeaky clean rooms. We will be certain to share your thoughts with our housekeeping staff.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverdale, Washington
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

First off....If you really like a typical modern hotel room, then this hotel is not for you. I, personally, loved this hotel! Lovely, comfortable room, decorated with numerous antiques but they manage to still put in all of the modern amenities (ie, microwave, fridge, gas fireplace) without detracting from the overall feel of the room. It is also within a short walking distance to just about anything you would want to see. For an older building, the rooms were surprisingly quiet. We heard very little noise from the other guests. The hallways are full of antiques and interesting artwork and is an attraction all by itself. I may also be biased because for me, this hotel had a sentimental element because it reminded me of my childhood and my Aunt's old farmhouse which was decorated in a similar fashion. Also included is a breakfast basket delivered to your door in the morning. It is a cute touch but in my opinion, they could do much better on the contents. We did not eat it and ended up going out for breakfast. This is the only small suggestion I have and not a very troubling one so If you are looking for something different and fitting of the location, you must try this hotel!

Room Tip: This hotel has a lot of steep stairs (no elevators in the time period this was built) so if this is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonel30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I were off on a driving adventure and needed a place to stay that was close to the Puget Sound ferry system. We arrived in the early evening, dropped off our luggage and returned to the front desk to inquire about dining. The front desk person was very helpful and knowledgeable about Port Townsend. We went with her recommendation and grabbed dinner. When we returned to the hotel, we were offered a selection of DVDs for viewing in our room. Our room was on the second floor, the decoration was beautiful and period. After a good night's sleep and waking up to the sound of seagulls crying over breakfast, I took a shower with the Speakman showerhead. Luxury. My wife's breakfast was waiting outside our door in a picnic basket. We will be back next year. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TsarChasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Townsend
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Resort at Port Ludlow
The Resort at Port Ludlow
#1 of 1 in Port Ludlow
4.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ravenscroft Inn
Ravenscroft Inn
#1 of 16 in Port Townsend
5.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aladdin Motor Inn
Aladdin Motor Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop Victorian Hotel

Property: Bishop Victorian Hotel
Address: 714 Washington St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5718
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The top rated TripAdvisor hotel in Port Townsend is the Bishop Victorian, located in the heart of the Historic District with easy access to shops, restaurants and activities. The Bishop Victorian offers 16 suites, including ground level and two bedroom accommodations. Suites feature Victorian ambiance, private baths, fireplaces, convertible sofas and a continental breakfast delivered daily to your door. Each suite is outfitted with a mini or full kitchenette, including microwave, fridge and coffee service, and all guests have access to wireless or DSL connectivity from the comfort of their suite. High definition TVs, DVD players and a DVD library add to your enjoyment. The Bishop Victorian also offers meeting facilities for groups up to 35 people, and the outdoor tented garden venue provides a spring and summer location for weddings and other celebratory events for up to 200 guests. Preparing for an important event is effortless, with Touch of Health Massage Therapy and Izadora’s Tanning, Day Spa and Salon, both of which offer a variety of relaxing and rejuvenating services, conveniently located right next door. Children welcome and dogs are permitted in some designated suites and in accordance with our dog policies. Mid-week, commercial and government rates are available. Three-Diamond AAA rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bishop Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop Victorian Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing