We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bishop was Pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed two nights at The Bishop and everything was very good. We were close to everything and the hotel was clean and quaint. Another couple was travelling with us and they said everything in their room was great too. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lambo98a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 371 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

This quaint hotel is old Victorian style and located in the heart of Port Townsend. Just a block off the main street there is lots of shops, coffee shops, galleries, and more. Also a very short walk to the marina if you love boats.

The room was quite small and old-fashioned but this is the Victorian way. There was a nice little sitting area in our room and a little kitchenette. There was a very simple continental basket style breakfast but a proper breakfast would be more appreciated and more fitting for this style hotel.
The staff were friendly and accommodating. I would stay here again and I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The front desk staff were amazingly helpful.
The location couldn't have been more central for restaurants, shopping, galleries, theatre, etc.
Membership privileges at the Port Townsend Athletic Club, a 2-minute walk away, meant that I got access to the best fitness equipment I've ever had while travelling.
The room we stayed in (#18) was large, quiet and well-appointed (it's great having modern plumbing in an historic building!).
The period furniture and decor was well-chosen and functional.
The only caveat I'll add was that access would be an issue for those who can't handle stairs.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WandererOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

From the very first time I walked into the lobby and was greeted by name, this place impressed me. Not only are the staff absolutely amazing, but they remember you by name and treat you like a good friend. The room was completely perfect - I felt right at home, comfortable and safe. I had a living area, dining area, separate bedroom and spacious bath with a whirlpool. I really cannot say enough good things about this hotel. To start, they deliver continental breakfast to your room - to order - every morning - and this is included in the price of your room. There was a DVD player in my room with an enormous selection of movies to choose from. The hotel is close to several restaurants and bars and within easy walking distance to shopping, food and the shore. I would, without reservation, recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Port Townsend. You will be impressed!

Room Tip: I only saw my room - Room 26 but I am sure that the other rooms would be just as impressive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ERIC6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Bishop is a 19th century building that has been renovated. The renovation was done with quality fixtures with attention to detail. Everything you will need is provided. The staff is very friendly and helpful. If you are stuck on the Hyatt or equivalent you probably won't like the Bishop but if you are up for something different give it a whirl.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My mom and I stayed at the Bishop for three nights. It was our first trip to Port Townsend and we found the Bishop to be the perfect spot for us. It was clean, cosy and comfortable and the staff were helpful and friendly. We appreciated the puzzles provided in the main lobby and and had fun spending our evenings there, puzzling and chatting with the staff.

We originally had only planned to stay for two nights but we were enjoying our stay so much that we stayed an extra night. The hotel was able to accomodate us and although the last night was spent on a sofa bed, I have to say it was the most comfortable sofa bed I have ever slept on. I actually slept which has never been the case on any other sofa bed I have slept on.
We hope to return to Port Townsend one day and we will most certainly stay at the Bishop when we do.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank debsterwebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

No other hotel in Port Townsend captures the feel of the city like the Bishop Victorian. Not only is it friendly, cozy and comfortable (and immaculately clean!), it's got the look and vibe of the old Northwest. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Townsend
0.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
274 reviews
1.8 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
55 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Resort at Port Ludlow
The Resort at Port Ludlow
#1 of 1 in Port Ludlow
565 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fort Worden
Fort Worden
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop Victorian Hotel

Address: 714 Washington St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5718
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range: $148 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The top rated TripAdvisor hotel in Port Townsend is the Bishop Victorian, located in the heart of the Historic District with easy access to shops, restaurants and activities. The Bishop Victorian offers 16 suites, including ground level and two bedroom accommodations. Suites feature Victorian ambiance, private baths, fireplaces, convertible sofas and a continental breakfast delivered daily to your door. Each suite is outfitted with a mini or full kitchenette, including microwave, fridge and coffee service, and all guests have access to wireless or DSL connectivity from the comfort of their suite. High definition TVs, DVD players and a DVD library add to your enjoyment. The Bishop Victorian also offers meeting facilities for groups up to 35 people, and the outdoor tented garden venue provides a spring and summer location for weddings and other celebratory events for up to 200 guests. Preparing for an important event is effortless, with Touch of Health Massage Therapy and Izadora’s Tanning, Day Spa and Salon, both of which offer a variety of relaxing and rejuvenating services, conveniently located right next door. Children welcome and dogs are permitted in some designated suites and in accordance with our dog policies. Mid-week, commercial and government rates are available. Three-Diamond AAA rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bishop Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop Victorian Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing