We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice victorian”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2012

The Bishop Victorian is great! It's not plush and extravagant, but is quiet, nicely appointed, comfortable and has an excellent location. We parked our car and walked for two days. Kitchenette was handy, but for the refrigerator freezing all of our fresh veggies! There is no elevator, but there are rooms on the first floor. Bedroom was a little small for getting around the bed, but we made do. Sitting room and dining area were perfect size for a couple. Continental breakfast is delivered to your door each morning. Coffee shops abound, but do not open early. Actually, nothing in PT opens "early." Only coffee shop that did was awful, but that's another review. We will stay here again! Lauralee was awesome!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fstfingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 365 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2012

Hotel is funky, staff are friendly, location is perfect for walking to all the shops and restaurants in the downtown core. I would recommend this hotel as long as you can do stairs

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stev53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This hotel has been renovated in Victorian style. Very different feel than West Coast modern.
However, the suites have fireplaces, kitchenettes, and bedrooms. We had a great sleep after a long drive from Cannon Beach.
The front desk was very helpful suggesting walking tours and restaurants. They also have an extensive library of good DVD's for your room.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is the 3rd time I have stayed in this hotel - and in the same specific suite! Check it out on their web site. The hotel is cozy and welcoming, the staff is very accommodating and happy in their jobs, and there is a lovely garden behind the hotel. A long, steep staircase is the only possible drawback. Everything downtown is conveniently close. Summer 2012 there is road construction nearby, but not prohibitive.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BFW2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Not sure where we were going to land this night, we are finally back in Washington State from our tour of Sea to Sky. We were originally going to stay in Anacortes, but it was a beautiful day, so decided to get on the ferry and head to Port Townsend. We got off the ferry and headed into town, now I had been on the internet checking places out in Port Townsend and all sounded good, others better. We got to the end of the main street and found the Swab, stopped in there, Ken was a hoot, did not have any rooms but check the sister property The Bishop and told us there were rooms there, even came out and showed us how to get there. Arrived at the Bishop, it is about a block off the main street. Parked right out front again nice for us, since traveling on a Harley. Walked in and waited a few minutes. Loralee is a hoot, she is funny, and informative. She gave us 3 keys to check out which room we wanted. 1 was on the 2nd floor, and 2 were on the 3rd floor, we opted for the 2nd floor. King bed, very comfortable, seperate living room with pull out, mini kitchen with a small frig, apartment size stove and oven and microwave. You get a continental breakfast set outside your room and 7am or 9am. It can include either cereal, scone (which I recommend), yogurt, milk or juice, coffee is already in the room. Flat screen TV and you can check out DVD's in the lobby. Rooms are furnished with antiques and the halls have antiques too. This is place is great is all I can say,

Room Tip: I would probably say all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deeharleygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

This is a beautiful little hotel with all the character and charm of a bed & breakfast, without actually being a B&B. Each room is a suite, with a kitchenette and table, and a private bath. (The water pressure in the shower was not great - that would be our only criticism.) Our room had a fireplace also. A small complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your door each morning, if requested. The staff is very friendly, and the decor is gorgeous. The rooms are clean, and the bed was comfortable. We'll definitely stay here if we're ever in Port Townsend again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura and Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

When staying at a genuine Victorian hotel the criteria are different than for the Sheraton or local motel. It is no longer about how new the fixtures are or when the last remodel was done, but how well the classic features of the room have been preserved and the decor. I am not an expert on Victorian architecture or style, but the decor seemed good to me... Furniture and Wall hangings seemed appropriate and tasteful. Decorative embellishments like crown molding seemed to fit the decor (I have no idea if they were original). The room even used a regular key (not a key card). The bathroom was a mixed bag with what appeared to be a period-style pedestal sink and wall paper, but a modern bath and bath-surround. I don't mind as I would rather have a well functioning shower than a claw-foot tub.
As for how well preserved/maintained, here is where I might have some nits to pick. On first glance the room seems fine, but after some time chipped paint and stained wallpaper become apparent. The room was clean and comfortable, but the challenge of maintaining such an old facility was obvious.
The hotel overall has many positives that would bring me and my family back. As I said it was clean. The location cannot be beat, right in downtown, and also near the stairs/path to uptown. The staff were friendly and efficient. We had one issue where the room obviously needed to be vacuumed (after a toddler repasted on the fine breakfast they provide of croissants and scones), but housekeeping did not see fit to vacuum until we requested it. But I think this was an anomaly and generally housekeeping did a good job and the front desk staff was excellent.
The room layout worked out well for our family - parents and two kids. We had our own bedroom, while the kids slept respectively on the sleeper-sofa and pack-n-play in the main room. Space was a little tight, but fine. Next time we might opt for a 2 bedroom suite.

Room Tip: Room 24 was a good pick for a 1BR. Quiet and overlooking the garden. Up 2 flights of stairs though
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SethE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Townsend
0.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
271 reviews
1.8 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
55 reviews
7.5 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
277 reviews
15 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop Victorian Hotel

Address: 714 Washington St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5718
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range: $148 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The top rated TripAdvisor hotel in Port Townsend is the Bishop Victorian, located in the heart of the Historic District with easy access to shops, restaurants and activities. The Bishop Victorian offers 16 suites, including ground level and two bedroom accommodations. Suites feature Victorian ambiance, private baths, fireplaces, convertible sofas and a continental breakfast delivered daily to your door. Each suite is outfitted with a mini or full kitchenette, including microwave, fridge and coffee service, and all guests have access to wireless or DSL connectivity from the comfort of their suite. High definition TVs, DVD players and a DVD library add to your enjoyment. The Bishop Victorian also offers meeting facilities for groups up to 35 people, and the outdoor tented garden venue provides a spring and summer location for weddings and other celebratory events for up to 200 guests. Preparing for an important event is effortless, with Touch of Health Massage Therapy and Izadora’s Tanning, Day Spa and Salon, both of which offer a variety of relaxing and rejuvenating services, conveniently located right next door. Children welcome and dogs are permitted in some designated suites and in accordance with our dog policies. Mid-week, commercial and government rates are available. Three-Diamond AAA rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bishop Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop Victorian Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing